SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

On 10/9/2024 at 8:06 PM, Tkseah said:

If mobile signal is good then should be stable.  But 4g bandwidth wise probably not enough for multiple devices to be streaming concurrently.  So likely can consider for light users like singles or couples.

Used it to watch drama can? Think surf net should not have problem.

On 10/9/2024 at 9:54 PM, Dafansu said:

applicable to existing customers also, that's the good thing unlike other telco need to port out and back. 

462495382_10161329952474160_7158304512951660030_n.jpg

Wah it's definition of APAC is not what most understand! Boh Japan, Korea, Australia, China sian 99% liao. 

If mobile signal is good then should be stable.  But 4g bandwidth wise probably not enough for multiple devices to be streaming concurrently.  So likely can consider for light users like singles or couples.

Maybe can cancel my fibre broadband liao. It cost $30 monthly. 😁

Is there any device that can insert SIM and works like a broadband wireless router ?

Edited by Kb27

On 10/9/2024 at 9:50 PM, Kb27 said:

Is there any device that can insert SIM and works like a broadband wireless router ?

IMHO.
Search for LTE Router.
Do note that for the budget ones, the Wifi speed is not that fast. 

On 10/4/2024 at 4:45 PM, Tkseah said:

Something like this..

Screenshot_20241004-164404.jpg

Would such sim card router he compatible with goggle nest hub? Same process as home fiber broadband?

On 10/9/2024 at 9:55 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
Search for LTE Router.
Do note that for the budget ones, the Wifi speed is not that fast. 

I'm currently using StarHub 500Mbps fibre broadband for $30 monthly. I don't think I use a lot of data, only for occasional tv streaming and PC web browsing.

I think if I take up eight $8 or $18 plan, and threw in a 4G router, it will halve my monthly spending.

I saw tplink MR600 selling about $200.

I might go that direction and disconnect the fibre. 😁

On 10/9/2024 at 9:50 PM, Kb27 said:

On 10/9/2024 at 10:58 PM, Kb27 said:

I'm currently using StarHub 500Mbps fibre broadband for $30 monthly. I don't think I use a lot of data, only for occasional tv streaming and PC web browsing.

I think if I take up eight $8 or $18 plan, and threw in a 4G router, it will halve my monthly spending.

If it work, you can really save up a lot in your home broadband, esp if you just need for web browsing.

On 10/9/2024 at 10:58 PM, Kb27 said:

IMHO.
TPLINK MR600 has AC1200 which should be faster. 
Alternatively, you can explore to connect the above to your existing router to see if that works - save time in configuration. 
Do check which telco offer good speed at your location.
For reference,  Heya.SG using Singtel is about 123/21.  $10 for 150GB rollover up to 400GB. 

On 10/9/2024 at 11:59 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
TPLINK MR600 has AC1200 which should be faster. 
Alternatively, you can explore to connect the above to your existing router to see if that works - save time in configuration. 
Do check which telco offer good speed at your location.
For reference,  Heya.SG using Singtel is about 123/21.  $10 for 150GB rollover up to 400GB. 

I just ordered MR600 $164 after discount at Shopee. Currently, I have a $0 eight SIM card which I converted to $8 plan, online, very convenient.

Once the 4G router is delivered, plug in SIM card. Change my 2 android tv and desktop internet connection to this.  Monitor its usage for one month. If not enough, convert to $18 plan, otherwise it's golden. If no other issue, cancel the $30 fibre broadband. I think it's a good plan. 😁

On 10/9/2024 at 8:46 PM, Volvobrick said:

Wah it's definition of APAC is not what most understand! Boh Japan, Korea, Australia, China sian 99% liao. 

lol you really asking for a lot leh for $8.

if 10gb to everywhere in the world, they might as well close shop and don't even bother running the business.

that $8, i don't even know how much needs to go to SH for providing the actual network service.

On 10/9/2024 at 11:04 PM, 13177 said:

If it work, you can really save up a lot in your home broadband, esp if you just need for web browsing.

if you work from home, you probably will want fibre and 4-5G both in case 1 is down.

On 10/10/2024 at 9:08 AM, Kb27 said:

I just ordered MR600 $164 after discount at Shopee. Currently, I have a $0 eight SIM card which I converted to $8 plan, online, very convenient.

Once the 4G router is delivered, plug in SIM card. Change my 2 android tv and desktop internet connection to this.  Monitor its usage for one month. If not enough, convert to $18 plan, otherwise it's golden. If no other issue, cancel the $30 fibre broadband. I think it's a good plan. 😁

IMHO.
You can try this.  If not, use your method. 
Plug in SIM card to new 4G router.  Connect the 4G router LAN port to your existing router WAN port.   

On 10/10/2024 at 10:06 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
You can try this.  If not, use your method. 
Plug in SIM card to new 4G router.  Connect the 4G router LAN port to your existing router WAN port.   

Are you suggesting to connect back to the WAN of fibre broadband ?

My point is to disconnect it from the fibre, so that eventually I cancel that broadband and use only SIM for internet.

On 10/10/2024 at 10:51 AM, Kb27 said:

Are you suggesting to connect back to the WAN of fibre broadband ?

My point is to disconnect it from the fibre, so that eventually I cancel that broadband and use only SIM for internet.

IMHO.
Just to check, your existing setup have a separate wireless router?   i.e. fiber comes in to a box,  the box got a LAN cable connect to a wireless router.
If so,  you can disconnect the cable from the fiber box and connect to the LAN port of the 4G router. 

On 10/10/2024 at 12:39 PM, Lala81 said:

if 10gb to everywhere in the world, they might as well close shop and don't even bother running the business.

that $8, i don't even know how much needs to go to SH for providing the actual network service.

That's why I pay 12 bucks to Lion King. Making full use of the roaming this week and in 2 weeks' time. 

On 10/10/2024 at 11:00 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
Just to check, your existing setup have a separate wireless router?   i.e. fiber comes in to a box,  the box got a LAN cable connect to a wireless router.
If so,  you can disconnect the cable from the fiber box and connect to the LAN port of the 4G router. 

Existing setup have a separate wireless router.

I don't think I need that. MR600 by itself contains 4 ethernet ports and is a wireless router.

The SIM card acts similarly like the fibre WAN.

On 10/10/2024 at 9:39 AM, Lala81 said:

That's why i am having doubt if they can sustain long by giving the current deals?! Something like too good to be true. Lol.

On 10/10/2024 at 11:55 AM, 13177 said:

That's why i am having doubt if they can sustain long by giving the current deals?! Something like too good to be true. Lol.

I also agree.

But if everyone on your current provider jump ship to the new offerings, the conclusion could be your current MVNO provider becomes unprofitable.