Fcw75 Hypersonic July 1, 2024 Share July 1, 2024 Anyone ever used data roaming for South Africa? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 On 6/25/2024 at 2:06 PM, AndrewLee72 said: I'm on Simba $12 plan, if any fella users here on Simba go Kallang Mac - pls test the signal inside the Mac - I went tin 2 times , both times Signal ZERO !!! Have email to support team. No reply yet... zzzz. But if you walk abit over the Kallang Decathlon - signal inside is Good ! I was in both the places on Sunday 30th June. I'm currently on Zero1 (using Singtel network). In Kallang Mac, I got 2/3 bars and just enough to put my order in. When I walked into Decathlon, while I am in about the middle of the store, zero signal; while walking closer to the entrance, signal is back. Guess it really depends. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 3, 2024 Share July 3, 2024 On 7/3/2024 at 6:38 PM, zipping said: Not attractive compared to Lion King 12 dollar plan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged July 4, 2024 Share July 4, 2024 On 6/25/2024 at 2:06 PM, AndrewLee72 said: I'm on Simba $12 plan, if any fella users here on Simba go Kallang Mac - pls test the signal inside the Mac - I went tin 2 times , both times Signal ZERO !!! Have email to support team. No reply yet... zzzz. But if you walk abit over the Kallang Decathlon - signal inside is Good ! inside buildings, it's not really the telco's fault. The building management have to install signal beacons to boost the signal strength. if you look closely on ceilings, you can usually find 3 beacons together (ST,SH,M1). TPG is using their own network and maybe they are not as popular, sometimes building dont install those beacons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 4, 2024 Share July 4, 2024 On 7/4/2024 at 10:11 AM, Stratovarius said: inside buildings, it's not really the telco's fault. The building management have to install signal beacons to boost the signal strength. if you look closely on ceilings, you can usually find 3 beacons together (ST,SH,M1). TPG is using their own network and maybe they are not as popular, sometimes building dont install those beacons. Yes agree! But But common, kallang Mac is not even inside Building. I go walk thro the main glass door entrance - go near ordering kiosks. Signal gone for Simba. I walk back to near glass door, still no signal! Alamak cannot lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 4, 2024 Share July 4, 2024 On 7/4/2024 at 7:41 AM, Rm2s said: I was in both the places on Sunday 30th June. I'm currently on Zero1 (using Singtel network). In Kallang Mac, I got 2/3 bars and just enough to put my order in. When I walked into Decathlon, while I am in about the middle of the store, zero signal; while walking closer to the entrance, signal is back. Guess it really depends. Bro, your case - I quote my Wife de HP - M1. Also go in Decath - signal dam bad/low. Inside cannot make App payment. Must walk to near main entrance area then can. But for Simba, signal dam good! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged July 4, 2024 Share July 4, 2024 On 7/4/2024 at 1:27 PM, AndrewLee72 said: Yes agree! But But common, kallang Mac is not even inside Building. I go walk thro the main glass door entrance - go near ordering kiosks. Signal gone for Simba. I walk back to near glass door, still no signal! Alamak cannot lah. Simba relatively new telco, network not as good as the other established top 3. Sure lots of blind spot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 5/18/2024 at 12:02 PM, Dafansu said: not all phones support eSIM. Mine doesn't. Guess some also buy for their car android. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 7/4/2024 at 10:11 AM, Stratovarius said: inside buildings, it's not really the telco's fault. The building management have to install signal beacons to boost the signal strength. if you look closely on ceilings, you can usually find 3 beacons together (ST,SH,M1). TPG is using their own network and maybe they are not as popular, sometimes building dont install those beacons. For many new deployments, telcos are using shared systems liao. No need build 3 sets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 6/23/2024 at 8:53 AM, Kb27 said: When you're roaming, it depends on who they partner with. And the coverage and capabilities is with that partner, nothing to do with SIMBA or m1 capabilities locally. Having said that m1 sure pick lousy partners. When I was in Waterloo, Canada, Starhub and Singtel partners got signal, as my colleague reported. But my lousy m1 don't have signal at all, can't roam there. 😁 I prefer buy local sim when travelling now. I remember on driving holiday in aus. Both starhub and singtel roaming failed. Middle of nowhere driving around looking for signal cos lost😳 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 (edited) On 7/6/2024 at 9:51 AM, Playtime said: I prefer buy local sim when travelling now. I remember on driving holiday in aus. Both starhub and singtel roaming failed. Middle of nowhere driving around looking for signal cos lost😳 99.9% coverage in sg, but for 'big' countries, coverage % is lower esp in e middle of nowhere. In ur position b4, so nowadays i install an offline gps map in my/oc hp as backup. Edited July 6, 2024 by zipping 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 Going to move 3 lines from Starhub to Simba this week just for the 5GB roaming. Adios SH after more than 20 years since it started biz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hardcore 1st Gear July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 7/6/2024 at 11:48 AM, zipping said: 99.9% coverage in sg, but for 'big' countries, coverage % is lower esp in e middle of nowhere. In ur position b4, so nowadays i install an offline gps map in my/oc hp as backup. Yes, me too. Always download the offline goggle map back home and use it when driving overseas. Save on data roaming too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 7/6/2024 at 12:07 PM, Hardcore said: Yes, me too. Always download the offline goggle map back home and use it when driving overseas. Save on data roaming too. Errr....but free and easy how to do it? Huge areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 I dun use google offline map as a backup, i use maps.me n here wego. Kiasu & kiasi so install 2 offline gps map. Just make sure u dl e map of e country ur gg 2. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hardcore 1st Gear July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 @Playtime I uncle so always get help from youtube where they will show you how to download the area that you want then save it to your hp. You can download all the cities that you plan to drive or move about and name them accordingly for easy reference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear July 6, 2024 Share July 6, 2024 On 7/6/2024 at 11:59 AM, Volvobrick said: Going to move 3 lines from Starhub to Simba this week just for the 5GB roaming. Adios SH after more than 20 years since it started biz. Would be interested to hear your ongoing experience of using Simba. I peeked at Simba telegram chatgroup and my impression is like nothing works when using Simba (e.g. can't even make calls!!), especially roaming! Then again only people with bad experience complain out of over 2,000 members. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...