SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

On 6/22/2024 at 1:56 AM, Hardcore said:

@Vratenza I am using Simba and M1 for international roaming and so far so good, in fact quite impressive. Been to a few EU countries and OZ, no problem at all. In fact just came back from Xinjiang and Simba definitely outperformed M1 all the time. I could even have wifi in those ulu mountainous areas as far north as between Mongolia and Khazakhstan when M1 just went dead most of the time.

Thanks! Just what I need!

Circles 5G coverage is quite crappy locally, most of the time I am getting 4G to at most 4G+ (did not know there is such a category....🙄)

Even when I manage to get 5G, the connection is weak and underperform my Zero1 5G on the same phone when I switch on the fly.

Even when travelling to malayssia/HK, circles roaming, you have to actively restrict the phone to use only LTE or else you end up getting no data at all.... can be quite frustrating the first time you land in foreign airport and cannot figure out why your data roaming just do not work.

Anticipating more travelling with new job role, so more roaming coverage and monthly roaming data is good.

@Mkl22 Sorry if I sounded rubbish but just an uncle trying to help answering a query re international roaming, and sorry again, I am NOT from Simba, just enjoying a $5 Simba line with free 1Gb international roaming. Both my lines were  locked on to China Mobile when in Xinjiang but somehow, only Simba works. True experience, not trying to say who's better. No such problem with the other countries I visited earlier. Also sorry for using the wrong wifi word which obviously I meant data.

just switched from Gomo to Vivifi

$10 for 100GB (local) and 2GB (roaming in Malaysia)

Vivifi also using Singtel network

not a bad deal!

i like the stiff competition among these telecom service providers 😁

one of the rare things in recent years not affected by inflation... in fact, can save more by switching to the cheaper ones

On 6/22/2024 at 10:27 AM, Volvobrick said:

He is probably from Simba. 

Anyway just got a cheap Simba sim to try out their roaming next week. May port over my main starhub number if good. Starhub roaming charges really cmi. Simba 12 dollar plan is attractive. 

Just signed up to Simba to port over my main line from Circles (5G local network performance is disappointing, roaming 4G is finicky, need to set up your phone properly) to Simba $12 plan. Got my Zero1 to fall back on in case Simba lets me down.

On 6/22/2024 at 2:15 PM, Hardcore said:

@Mkl22 Sorry if I sounded rubbish but just an uncle trying to help answering a query re international roaming, and sorry again, I am NOT from Simba, just enjoying a $5 Simba line with free 1Gb international roaming. Both my lines were  locked on to China Mobile when in Xinjiang but somehow, only Simba works. True experience, not trying to say who's better. No such problem with the other countries I visited earlier. Also sorry for using the wrong wifi word which obviously I meant data.

Simba's list of roaming countries included in their base tier is already very impressive:

Group A
(International roaming refers to Group A Countries)

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, French West Indies, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hong Kong (SAR), Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malaysia, Malta, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Reunion, Romania, Saint Pierre & Miquelon, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vietnam

Plus the more than generous  5G of data roaming for $12/mth plan.

*I am also not from Simba 😆

@Vratenza Of course I shot past my 1Gb free international roaming data while in Xinjiang but good thing is life goes on as no disruption to roaming. Only thing I didn't like was you couldn't tell how much data you are using as Simba just deduct 40 cents per 100mb from your account wallet.

On 6/22/2024 at 10:27 AM, Volvobrick said:

He is probably from Simba. 

Anyway just got a cheap Simba sim to try out their roaming next week. May port over my main starhub number if good. Starhub roaming charges really cmi. Simba 12 dollar plan is attractive. 

I've ported over from starhub to gomo n now simba w it's $12 200gb incl 5gb roaming

No issues w coverage in sg (I dun hang out at ulu places like LCK like radx) n in some instances better than gomo & starhub. Roaming oso no issue in jeepun, taiwan, Viet, indo, bolehland. 

Good things must share so can sapot the underdog n wake up the cmi complacent incumbents 

On 6/22/2024 at 9:29 AM, jcmm said:

When in oversea, it all depends on oversea operator network infra. It has nothing to do with M1, simba.

I have a personal iPhone 15 Pro on SingTel GOMO and work phone iPhone 13 on SingTel.

when overseas (Seoul, Jeju, HCMC, Hanoi, Phuket, Sydney, Melbourne, Malaysia, Bintan), my work phone SingTel always lock on to the network faster and gets better coverage everywhere compared to my personal GOMO.

i guess there’s a diff between SA and NSA 5G networks.

Now considering to switch out to a SA MVNO like Giga but seems like Simba is good.

Will go read up more about the lion king.

On 6/22/2024 at 1:56 AM, Hardcore said:

@Vratenza I am using Simba and M1 for international roaming and so far so good, in fact quite impressive. Been to a few EU countries and OZ, no problem at all. In fact just came back from Xinjiang and Simba definitely outperformed M1 all the time. I could even have wifi in those ulu mountainous areas as far north as between Mongolia and Khazakhstan when M1 just went dead most of the time.

When you're roaming, it depends on who they partner with. And the coverage and capabilities is with that partner, nothing to do with SIMBA or m1 capabilities locally.

Having said that m1 sure pick lousy partners. When I was in Waterloo, Canada, Starhub and Singtel partners got signal, as my colleague reported.

But my lousy m1 don't have signal at all, can't roam there. 😁

On 6/21/2024 at 11:04 PM, 13177 said:

SIMBA was from TPG. So not using starhub?

old name TPG, new name SIMBA is the 4th telco with its own infrastructure and networks. They can offer full services like m1, Singtel and Starhub. SIMBA is not dependent on any of the 3 telcos.

The rest are MVNO which uses the 3 telcos networks. They buy bulk bandwidth, network connections from the 3 telcos, so they are dependent on those telcos.

On 6/22/2024 at 11:05 PM, Scion said:

just switched from Gomo to Vivifi

$10 for 100GB (local) and 2GB (roaming in Malaysia)

Vivifi also using Singtel network

not a bad deal!

I've used giga, Vivifi, zero1, SIMBA and now eight. They are all pretty good imo. No major breakdowns. Just some glitches here and there. 

On 6/23/2024 at 8:40 AM, Theoldjaffa said:

I have a personal iPhone 15 Pro on SingTel GOMO and work phone iPhone 13 on SingTel.

when overseas (Seoul, Jeju, HCMC, Hanoi, Phuket, Sydney, Melbourne, Malaysia, Bintan), my work phone SingTel always lock on to the network faster and gets better coverage everywhere compared to my personal GOMO.

i guess there’s a diff between SA and NSA 5G networks.

Now considering to switch out to a SA MVNO like Giga but seems like Simba is good.

Will go read up more about the lion king.

Singtel maciam SQ n Gomo maciam Scoot. Same parent but one is top RI boy n the other from low ses skool.....lol

On 6/23/2024 at 8:18 AM, Soya said:

I've ported over from starhub to gomo n now simba w it's $12 200gb incl 5gb roaming

No issues w coverage in sg (I dun hang out at ulu places like LCK like radx) n in some instances better than gomo & starhub. Roaming oso no issue in jeepun, taiwan, Viet, indo, bolehland. 

Good things must share so can sapot the underdog n wake up the cmi complacent incumbents 

Mine just got activated this morning... The port over damn fast... Yesterday noon signed up, 3 am this morning ready sent out email to notify ported over ready. 

But checked my simba acct in the app... They short changed me 3gb roaming data.. 

1786942457_Screenshot_20240623_124611_MySIMBA.thumb.jpg.484660e4aefb31a9582777158e1a3cbf.jpg

Is this the initial glitch? 

On 6/23/2024 at 12:52 PM, Vratenza said:

Mine just got activated this morning... The port over damn fast... Yesterday noon signed up, 3 am this morning ready sent out email to notify ported over ready. 

But checked my simba acct in the app... They short changed me 3gb roaming data.. 

1786942457_Screenshot_20240623_124611_MySIMBA.thumb.jpg.484660e4aefb31a9582777158e1a3cbf.jpg

Is this the initial glitch? 

Mine oso liddat. Apparently the roaming data comes in 2 batches: 3GB + 2GB. The app shows only the 2GB batch so once u use up more than the first 3GB batch then the app starts showing the balance of the 2GB. My last trip I used 3.5GB and now my app shows 1.5GB balance. Dun ask me why liddat..... 

Kpkb to them and was advised to SMS 1218 and type in SIMBA. From there, press 2 n u can check acct balance and it'll show the full 5GB roaming data entitlement 

Want cheap so gotta put up w some smlj cockanathan app glitch la....lol

On 6/23/2024 at 3:07 PM, Jamesc said:

Can sign up Simba for just one month for the 5GB roaming?

Then cancel after one month?

Screenshot_2024-06-23-15-56-30-000_com.brave.browser.thumb.jpg.9fd6fb5f82c4fdcb2edd3b6438c0187b.jpg

IMHO.
Can.  $0 (An activation fee of $30.00 is chargeable for porting-out within 30 days of plan activation. Early porting out charges for SIMBA Lucky Numbers may apply.)