SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

Went for a long drive today with "eight".  The simcard was already activated, maybe during collection time.

No issues at all, it's on StarHub network, wonderful coverage.

88GB at $0/month, how to complain ? 😁

88gb.JPG

  On 5/24/2024 at 2:32 PM, AndrewLee72 said:

@Dafansu Hi bro - u get NEW number or you do Port - In ? The online signup - can chose Port-In ?

Thanks.

Expand  

All MVNO can port in except coming eight which have yet to start. Just be mindful most telco eg, if under starhub network cannot port to another starhub network even if under other company, do check the details. Just read through the details online how to do the port over, more or less the same for most telco.

Edited by Dafansu

  On 5/24/2024 at 7:39 PM, Kb27 said:

Went for a long drive today with "eight".  The simcard was already activated, maybe during collection time.

No issues at all, it's on StarHub network, wonderful coverage.

88GB at $0/month, how to complain ? 😁

88gb.JPG

Expand  

$0 only for less than 3 months not shiok, unlike TPG (now simba) last time used almost 2 years free when they first launched. 

  On 5/25/2024 at 2:09 AM, Dafansu said:

$0 only for less than 3 months not shiok, unlike TPG (now simba) last time used almost 2 years free when they first launched. 

Expand  

Free cause brand new network. 8 on starhub so works well from day1. 

Expand  

eight probably wants to capture as many subscribers as possible for now. They might charge, going forward.

But for now, it's good for many people. I see quite a lot of seniors in the queue, possibly retired, or those having no active income.

I also have a SIMBA seniors plan at $5. Maybe that's where eight will head for eventually.

On 5/25/2024 at 9:19 AM, Kb27 said:

eight probably wants to capture as many subscribers as possible for now. They might charge, going forward.

But for now, it's good for many people. I see quite a lot of seniors in the queue, possibly retired, or those having no active income.

I also have a SIMBA seniors plan at $5. Maybe that's where eight will head for eventually.

Expand  

they want to flood the market as much as possible, encourage people to take up 2 lines each.  Consider successful if have 40-50% retention rate after free period. I probably cancel my zym line if the network is good in next 3 months. 

On 5/25/2024 at 9:38 AM, Jman888 said:

they want to flood the market as much as possible, encourage people to take up 2 lines each.  Consider successful if have 40-50% retention rate after free period. I probably cancel my zym line if the network is good in next 3 months. 

Expand  

If they indeed offer 8gbs roaming per month for apac I reckon more will subscribe to 8.

No telco offering 8gb roaming at that px currently. 

On 5/25/2024 at 11:53 AM, Kopites said:

If they indeed offer 8gbs roaming per month for apac I reckon more will subscribe to 8.

No telco offering 8gb roaming at that px currently. 

Expand  

Yes I may too for the roaming if it is less than 10 bucks! Maybe just for one month whenever I have a trip!

  On 5/27/2024 at 2:21 AM, zipping said:

did a speed test in skudai JB on 8 network

Screenshot_2024-05-27-10-15-17-063_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.thumb.jpg.cd8b79bf6d4258e95d093a90e871041c.jpg

Expand  

overseas depends a lot on the telco they tie up with, nothing much to do with 8 Network already. 

just tested 3 lines on my mobile phone. My main line starhub 5G of course is 5x faster [laugh]

but when switched to starhub 4G, it has the same speed as eight which is on starhub network at around 110mbps. As for ZYM it was less than half the speed of eight.

To be fair to all network, I connected to singtel network which ZYM partner with.

Screenshot_20240528_091601_Speedtest.jpg

On 5/28/2024 at 2:34 AM, AndrewLee72 said:

Pwah bro! Starhub 5G can get 572MB !!! You got this at which area? Impressive sia !!! 

Expand  

downtown around city hall, 572mb was connected to singtel which is slightly further, if choose a network closer can get around 700mbps (see my earlier post).

On 5/28/2024 at 3:15 AM, Jman888 said:

downtown around city hall, 572mb was connected to singtel which is slightly further, if choose a network closer can get around 700mbps (see my earlier post).

Expand  

Wah ok! Next you try HDB neighborhood area haha !

Yesterday around 1120pm, I was using Waze on eight for navigation. At around YCK/Upp Serangoon, the app suddenly froze. I was heading to Hougang at that time.

In a state of panic, I tried to restart Waze a few times, but it still froze. Then I launch AmiGo, another navigator, also froze.

Finally, I switch data to SIMBA and everything started working.

It seems to me, data on eight was lost around that region, or it's a phone glitch. 😑

But later, I switched back to eight, and Waze is working again. 

Having the backup data on SIMBA saved me from getting lost. Good thing I had 2 SIMCards on the phone. 😁

Expand  

My son still has Free-for-Life CirclesLife SIM with basic calls and SMS and 1GB data, even roaming.

SIMBA now for data, but with the CirclesLife at least never need to change phone number and can just buy data SIM where and when.