SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

On 5/18/2024 at 11:02 AM, Vratenza said:

Actually, with eSIM, especially of you have dual sim function phone, trying out and switching telcos is a breeze....no delivery fee/sim card fee, and no need for collection.

Ya lor after I use eSIM then realize it's so easy. No need to hunt for my "SIM tray pin" anymore.

I received email from eight too. But I'm not going down to collect, all of them is out of my way.

I'll rather wait for them to send me by post, I'll pay if necessary. I don't like queueing up.

On 5/18/2024 at 4:06 PM, Kb27 said:

I received email from eight too. But I'm not going down to collect, all of them is out of my way.

I'll rather wait for them to send me by post, I'll pay if necessary. I don't like queueing up.

not worth the time and effort just for free 88 days 😁, not like my TPG last time free nearly 2 years I think 

Edited by Dafansu

On 5/18/2024 at 12:02 PM, Dafansu said:

not all phones support eSIM. Mine doesn't. 

heng ah ... my 5 years old iphone 11 support eSIM ... 

huat ah!

On 5/18/2024 at 11:36 AM, Wt_know said:

yalor ... with eSIM, i am dumbfounded why people still use physical SIM

One noob question - I usually replace my phone only when it is dead. Can transfer the esim in this case to a new phone?

On 5/20/2024 at 4:27 PM, Volvobrick said:

One noob question - I usually replace my phone only when it is dead. Can transfer the esim in this case to a new phone?

yes, iPhone is easy, transfer directly side by side or

delete old esim and scan QR code on the new phone ...

we need the new QR code from telco/provider

On 5/20/2024 at 5:07 PM, Wt_know said:

yes, iPhone is easy, transfer directly side by side or

delete old esim and scan QR code on the new phone ...

we need the new QR code from telco/provider

His ole phone dead when he buy new phone.

😂

On 5/20/2024 at 5:16 PM, inlinesix said:

His ole phone dead when he buy new phone.

😂

call telco and they should email you a QR code ... 

On 5/18/2024 at 11:36 AM, Wt_know said:

yalor ... with eSIM, i am dumbfounded why people still use physical SIM

cos phone don't have eSIM lor LOL. 

i think it's not very standard for china phones, they bit behind the curve for this. Mine is a flagship from 2021. don't have eSIM.

On 5/20/2024 at 5:49 PM, Lala81 said:

cos phone don't have eSIM lor LOL. 

i think it's not very standard for china phones, they bit behind the curve for this. Mine is a flagship from 2021. don't have eSIM.

There was a case where a lady's esim was hacked and she lost her money. Coz of that I'm not into esim. At least not for my main phone. 

On 5/20/2024 at 5:57 PM, Stratovarius said:

There was a case where a lady's esim was hacked and she lost her money. Coz of that I'm not into esim. At least not for my main phone. 

Especially if one is in oversea. Imagine using esim to do banking transaction. Scary. 

Physical sim might not be 100% foolproof. At least I know anything go wrong I can immediately poke up the physical sim. Still pretty old school for me. 😁

On 5/20/2024 at 5:57 PM, Stratovarius said:

In the case of Sim, the malicious actor had the added advantage of Sim's personal information to trick the telco's staff:

"What’s likely to have happened is that the user’s personal details were leaked through certain means, and the perpetrator is using that info to get access to the account."

When asked if the ease of activation for eSIMs was an issue, Ang said no, although using an eSIM does "bypass certain traditional verifications that traditional telcos have".

"It’s more of a process issue rather than a vulnerability", Ang shared.

A lot of “hacks” don’t happen because hackers hack technical stuff... It happens because of lapses in policies and processes.

According to the article... 

"eight" has another list of collections points.

So troublesome, limited areas and time to collect.

They should just allow those willing to pay for postal collections, direct to homes, scan ID and email to them for activation.

collected mine at clementi in less than an hour under cooling weather [laugh], more organized than tiong bahru I guess.  They put up 4 lanes for collection, but 3-4 people in front of me collect few cards on behalf of their family members <_<

eight is using starhub network which is similar to my main line,  hence same APN setting.

they are on LTE and not 5G (free one of course no 5G [laugh] ), speed wise i tried at home in clementi about 50mbps only, sometime drop to 30, inside my office in town area is 200+, compare to almost 700 on starhub 5G. 

by the way dun bother with registration, just bring your nric and join the queue [laugh]

WhatsApp Image 2024-05-23 at 9.02.59 AM.jpeg