SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

On 2/13/2024 at 2:30 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
SG usually is wait for users and then build infrastructure.  Roads especially... jam until jialat jialat den appear as superhero to save the day. 

Expand  

Superhero fly in to build ERP Gantry?😆

On 2/13/2024 at 12:53 AM, 13177 said:

This tengah new estate has so many problems. Thought they should up and ready the infrastructure before residents move in le?! 🙄

Expand  

They say no building to put the base station.. lol.

After hdb built, need hdb approval to access the roof to install the base station.

On 2/13/2024 at 2:30 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
SG usually is wait for users and then build infrastructure.  Roads especially... jam until jialat jialat den appear as superhero to save the day. 

Expand  

Means they still never learn from mistakes lo. Bring in proper first then start to build infrastructure. Even until now still same. 😅

On 2/13/2024 at 1:18 AM, Blueray said:

Base stations cost money. So lesserer is betterer lor. Wait until ppl comprain then install new ones lor.

Expand  

This is why no good to stay in brand new hdb estate, infrastructure etc sure haven’t build and stable yet. Stay in old estate best. 😂

After decades of building new hdb, they should have settled on what needs to be allocated during planning stage.

Telco equipment and towers are not new things.

It's like saying after you build the flats... oh you need electricity... oh now you need sewage pipes to be installed. 

On 2/13/2024 at 12:53 AM, 13177 said:

This tengah new estate has so many problems. Thought they should up and ready the infrastructure before residents move in le?! 🙄

Expand  

Telecommunication infrastructure is not under zheng hu....😁

On 2/13/2024 at 5:08 AM, Vratenza said:

Telecommunication infrastructure is not under zheng hu....😁

Expand  

Wrong. 

Singtel is the second-largest company by market capitalisation listed on the Singapore Exchange and is majority owned by Temasek Holdings, the investment arm of the Singapore government.

M1, a subsidiary of Keppel Ltd., is Singapore’s first digital network operator, providing a suite of communications services, including mobile, fixed line and fibre offerings, to over two million customers.

StarHub.

The company was created in 1998 by a consortium led by Singapore Technologies Telemedia, a unit of Singapore's state-owned investment firm Temasek Holdings, as a part of telecommunications market liberalization efforts at the time. StarHub officially launched operations in 2000, and was listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange in 2004. Temasek Holdings is the largest shareholder of StarHub, with a majority stake, followed by Japan's Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT)

Edited by Kopites

On 2/13/2024 at 12:13 AM, Blueray said:
Expand  

I thought the authority has prerequisite requirements on base station and signal strength including fibre points in every household? HDB is exempted? 

On 2/13/2024 at 2:42 PM, Kopites said:

Wrong. 

Singtel is the second-largest company by market capitalisation listed on the Singapore Exchange and is majority owned by Temasek Holdings, the investment arm of the Singapore government.

M1, a subsidiary of Keppel Ltd., is Singapore’s first digital network operator, providing a suite of communications services, including mobile, fixed line and fibre offerings, to over two million customers.

StarHub.

The company was created in 1998 by a consortium led by Singapore Technologies Telemedia, a unit of Singapore's state-owned investment firm Temasek Holdings, as a part of telecommunications market liberalization efforts at the time. StarHub officially launched operations in 2000, and was listed on the Singapore Stock Exchange in 2004. Temasek Holdings is the largest shareholder of StarHub, with a majority stake, followed by Japan's Nippon Telegraph and Telephone (NTT)

Expand  

Aiyah, if you go ask Ah Gong can the telcos please keep their prices down, Ah gong will say they fully private limited, they answer to shareholders, they have no control over them. 

On 2/13/2024 at 12:56 PM, Inlinefour said:

:grin:this already solved with full coverage of erp 2.0 :want:to milk everyone bone dry :ouch-it-hurts:

Expand  

That is if they manage to get the ERP 2.0 working as envisioned....

Currently I only see a stepback in technology in terms of hardware... ERP 0.8...where we are going back to Nokia phones when iphone 15 already out. 

Don't even get me started on GPS tech.... Even my own gps nav get zero to wonky gps signal when going into tunnels like the KPE and underground carparks...and with upcoming NSC, how are they able to measure the distance travelled?

Even the current generation phone with combined gps+mobile phone signal base station extrapolation, waze/google map is passable at best when underground. 

On 2/13/2024 at 3:32 AM, 13177 said:

This is why no good to stay in brand new hdb estate, infrastructure etc sure haven’t build and stable yet. Stay in old estate best. 😂

Expand  

mature estate also can have problem one hor. when my friend shifted into his AMK flat also no M1 signal.  had to contact telco. cos his batch of flats are the newer ones > 30 stories. 

On 2/14/2024 at 12:40 AM, Vratenza said:

That is if they manage to get the ERP 2.0 working as envisioned....

Currently I only see a stepback in technology in terms of hardware... ERP 0.8...where we are going back to Nokia phones when iphone 15 already out. 

Don't even get me started on GPS tech.... Even my own gps nav get zero to wonky gps signal when going into tunnels like the KPE and underground carparks...and with upcoming NSC, how are they able to measure the distance travelled?

Even the current generation phone with combined gps+mobile phone signal base station extrapolation, waze/google map is passable at best when underground. 

Expand  

Joke aside recently I just bought a Nokia LTE feature phone and it’s really fantastic 👍👍👍

guess lta might need another 40 mill to fix 2.0 🤐🤐🤐

sama sama simplygone case 🤑🤑🤑

Edited by Inlinefour

On 2/14/2024 at 12:30 AM, Vratenza said:

Aiyah, if you go ask Ah Gong can the telcos please keep their prices down, Ah gong will say they fully private limited, they answer to shareholders, they have no control over them. 

Expand  

Ah gong will just tell you to go check with ah ma. Don't come disturb ah gong. 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Edited by Kopites

On 2/14/2024 at 12:15 AM, Victor68 said:

I thought the authority has prerequisite requirements on base station and signal strength including fibre points in every household? HDB is exempted? 

Expand  

They will wait till all road nicely, smoothly  paved then dig dig..to lay cable? Don't you know their style?😁

any sim only plan that is 5G and support data roaming to HK and/or Japan?  The data roaming portion can be inbuilt 1 gb montly or addon VAS payment on demand.