SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

I use samsung smart tags, been using for few years when my kids travel overseas, as long as it is near an samsung phone it will auto update the location. If they travel with friends, will have 2 tags with them, 1 on luggage and 1 with their backpack that they carry out everyday, also provide the timeline history for up to last 7 days.

when we travel together, each of us carry one in case we all go shopping separately [laugh]

the tracking location quite accurate, I can see which hotel they stayed in from city to city [laugh]

Screenshot_20241218_154353_SmartThings.jpg

On 12/18/2024 at 3:46 PM, Jman888 said:

I use samsung smart tags, been using for few years when my kids travel overseas, as long as it is near an samsung phone it will auto update the location. If they travel with friends, will have 2 tags with them, 1 on luggage and 1 with their backpack that they carry out everyday, also provide the timeline history for up to last 7 days.

when we travel together, each of us carry one in case we all go shopping separately [laugh]

the tracking location quite accurate, I can see which hotel they stayed in from city to city [laugh]

hahaha. why you don't wanna install life360 on their phone? hahaha. 

On 12/18/2024 at 2:39 PM, bsswan said:

Tags only work nearby, right?

For GPS, I had Microsoft's Family Safety setup when my boy was young. Could control his screen time, app time, track his location worldwide etc. but MS cancelled that function. Now I have "iSharing" on my parents' phones since they got physically separated on an overseas holiday last year when dad got on a train and mum didn't make it - there's a panic you never want to witness.

With regards phones, I first got my boy a cheap Redmi for going P3, he didn't have anything before h started going to school himself.

One thing, it was bought because cheaper and could break/lose but it is important to keep everything in the cloud so it can all be re-installed easily on a replacement. I have an app that records all the apps, wallpaper, layout, files etc. and backed up to the cloud so I can lose one phone, block it, and reinstall fresh on another to duplicate the old one exactly.

kids why bother?

Zero mission critical thing other than contact list. 
Seriously, all this stuff never existed when we were young. We just learnt how to reinstall something ourselves.

For work purposes, then yeah the settings are a bitch to port over. 

if it your kids why not have HP google location sharing good enough liao?

Other than for luggage purpose. They would have their own HP mah.

On 12/18/2024 at 4:37 PM, Lala81 said:

kids why bother?

Zero mission critical thing other than contact list. 
Seriously, all this stuff never existed when we were young. We just learnt how to reinstall something ourselves.

For work purposes, then yeah the settings are a bitch to port over. 

What might be zero for you, is important to them, but you don't know what it will be.

Losing their favourite wallpaper? Meltdown.

On 12/18/2024 at 1:09 PM, Kb27 said:

My son is going to P1. I'm worried about his location.

Is there a reasonable "smart watch" that can allow me to track his location ?

I put apple tag in my son's school bag..

On 12/18/2024 at 4:40 PM, bsswan said:

What might be zero for you, is important to them, but you don't know what it will be.

Losing their favourite wallpaper? Meltdown.

Suck it up would be my honest answer. Lol especially if it's my kids. 

On 12/18/2024 at 4:39 PM, Lala81 said:

if it your kids why not have HP google location sharing good enough liao?

Other than for luggage purpose. They would have their own HP mah.

mainly for luggage, my girl had experience when their luggage didn't follow them back from Dubai [laugh]

On 12/18/2024 at 3:57 PM, kobayashiGT said:

hahaha. why you don't wanna install life360 on their phone? hahaha. 

did consider that when they were young [laugh]

same, I put one in my car for JB trip in case car get stolen lol, but using Solum Tag, part of Samsung i think. 

Screenshot_20230612_080316_SmartThings.jpg

Edited by Dafansu

On 12/16/2024 at 7:44 AM, Kklee said:

IMHO.

I am running 2x long cables.

My main router wifi is off.   I am using powerline to pipe the traffic to another router which is more centralised.

I have 2x 4G routers that were bought, IIRC, around 2019 or before.  They were not comissioned for use because the plans at that time had not a lot of data. 🤣  Now, 4G had more data but we are already 5G. 🤣 

Also so much so that except fixed computers, am virtually on mobile data at home.  😆 

P.S.  The other day I was just thinking to bring my soon-to-be-purchase 5G router in the vehicle to make it fully mobile. 🤣

After upgrading to latest v1.2.1 firmware, the deco X50-5G is working well now. No stability problem, IoT network also works. 😁

On 12/18/2024 at 6:47 PM, Kb27 said:

After upgrading to latest v1.2.1 firmware, the deco X50-5G is working well now. No stability problem, IoT network also works. 😁

IMHO.

That's great.  Yours is the SG version?

On 12/18/2024 at 4:48 PM, Tkseah said:

I read tag this and tag that. No one scared wify also secretly tag your shoes/bags/underwear? 

• Haha! 7

On 12/18/2024 at 4:48 PM, Tkseah said:

Imagine kid dunno give to friend. Then you at home wondering :" wtf he going to Holland.... Kenna kidnap liao ahhhhhh...."

On 12/18/2024 at 11:10 PM, Volvobrick said:

I read tag this and tag that. No one scared wify also secretly tag your shoes/bags/underwear? 

Ya lo, in this era people always scare this lost that lost and has such technology that can tag this tag that. 

Last time where got such thing that my parents tag me when i go to school de. Lol.

U need to hide your location from wify meh?  Me no need leh..

On 12/18/2024 at 11:55 PM, Playtime said:

Imagine kid dunno give to friend. Then you at home wondering :" wtf he going to Holland.... Kenna kidnap liao ahhhhhh...."

Got explain to him so he understands what the tag is for lah.. and the tag is taped to a part of the bag, not easily removed.

Samsung smart tag can authorised dual tracking. Me and wife can track my son location. Literally saying  me and wife can see each other location, vice versus.  

😁

On 12/19/2024 at 7:26 AM, Kopites said:

Samsung smart tag can authorised dual tracking. Me and wife can track my son location. Literally saying  me and wife can see each other location, vice versus.  

😁

Lol a lot of people very secretive. My wife and I been on Google sharing location since the beginning when we knew got such features.