inlinesix Hypersonic Wednesday at 06:00 AM Share Wednesday at 06:00 AM On 12/18/2024 at 1:42 PM, Lala81 said: Not for my girl. But in general like my younger son and maybe my mum (she has dementia). My sister has a smart tag on her bag. I am using Airtag. Update is not that prompt. My wife reached my wife while airtag still in PIE. Both of us are using iphone ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic Wednesday at 06:04 AM Share Wednesday at 06:04 AM On 12/18/2024 at 3:00 PM, inlinesix said: I am using Airtag. Update is not that prompt. My wife reached my wife while airtag still in PIE. Both of us are using iphone AirTag bloody accurate in Japan. Cause high usage of Apple phones 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear Wednesday at 06:08 AM Share Wednesday at 06:08 AM On 12/18/2024 at 12:33 PM, Lala81 said: Has anyone used any non Samsung smart tag before? I don't use Samsung nor Apple. IMHO. Look for one that support generic Android, not sure if it is available now. Also depends on what you want to use it for. E.g. If u want to track a person, Apple Tags will beep on its own. Samsung has location history. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic Wednesday at 06:20 AM Share Wednesday at 06:20 AM (edited) On 12/18/2024 at 1:59 PM, Playtime said: Off topic... holiday in Japan, was driving, raining, stop at zebra crossing and saw im sure was kindergarden kid in rain coat with cute lil umbrella walking home waiting to cross road. Was very impressed... actually a bit shock too😬 normal culture there. everyone goes to school by themselves by primary school. of course it's partly due to how safe japan is (no kidnapping etc). and vehicles drive slowly. Edited Wednesday at 06:22 AM by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghgan 5th Gear Wednesday at 06:22 AM Share Wednesday at 06:22 AM (edited) I am using tackgps a local product for my parent. Need to pay subscription. A bit bulky like the trace together token. Good points is the GPS, internet tracking using sim card. Need to charge once a month or less depending on usage pattern. Compatible to both android and IOS. Edited Wednesday at 06:22 AM by Ghgan 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear Wednesday at 06:37 AM Share Wednesday at 06:37 AM (edited) On 12/18/2024 at 2:22 PM, Ghgan said: I am using tackgps a local product for my parent. Need to pay subscription. A bit bulky like the trace together token. Good points is the GPS, internet tracking using sim card. Need to charge once a month or less depending on usage pattern. Compatible to both android and IOS. IMHO. I would say maybe good in SG, cmi in US. Battery life far far from Samsung SmartTag. Edited Wednesday at 06:38 AM by Kklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear Wednesday at 06:39 AM Share Wednesday at 06:39 AM (edited) On 12/18/2024 at 1:03 PM, Kopites said: Concept should be the same as apple/samsung smart tag. Even the design look alike.😁 Tags only work nearby, right? For GPS, I had Microsoft's Family Safety setup when my boy was young. Could control his screen time, app time, track his location worldwide etc. but MS cancelled that function. Now I have "iSharing" on my parents' phones since they got physically separated on an overseas holiday last year when dad got on a train and mum didn't make it - there's a panic you never want to witness. With regards phones, I first got my boy a cheap Redmi for going P3, he didn't have anything before h started going to school himself. One thing, it was bought because cheaper and could break/lose but it is important to keep everything in the cloud so it can all be re-installed easily on a replacement. I have an app that records all the apps, wallpaper, layout, files etc. and backed up to the cloud so I can lose one phone, block it, and reinstall fresh on another to duplicate the old one exactly. Edited Wednesday at 06:41 AM by bsswan 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic Wednesday at 06:39 AM Share Wednesday at 06:39 AM (edited) On 12/18/2024 at 1:59 PM, Playtime said: Off topic... holiday in Japan, was driving, raining, stop at zebra crossing and saw im sure was kindergarden kid in rain coat with cute lil umbrella walking home waiting to cross road. Was very impressed... actually a bit shock too😬 Those square/rectangular shape school bag come with GPS tracking. S$200 to 300 plus per bag if remembered correctly. https://randoseru.co/products/marine-blue-randoseru One of the popular brand. Not sure tracker available or not. https://sg.shp.ee/D8XUeYJ one of the highend. back prior to p1 wifey was consider this one. I told her a straight "No". Tracker not workable in songspore. Also study materials not all in A4 sizes...wifey relented. My own school bag only costs $10 back on the 80s!😓 https://www.istartek.com/portable-gps-tracker/ Don't think it work in singapore Edited Wednesday at 06:52 AM by Kopites 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged Wednesday at 06:47 AM Share Wednesday at 06:47 AM On 12/18/2024 at 1:42 PM, Lala81 said: Not for my girl. But in general like my younger son and maybe my mum (she has dementia). My sister has a smart tag on her bag. Just share location on Google maps if the person always carries the phone. Else get a gps tracker. Based on gps with a monthly subscription. I have one of those but stick with air tags. Cheaper. Need to use my ipod touch or ipad though, since I no iphone. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged Wednesday at 06:48 AM Share Wednesday at 06:48 AM On 12/18/2024 at 2:39 PM, Kopites said: Those square/rectangular shape school bag come with GPS tracking. S$200 to 300 plus per bag if remembered correctly. https://randoseru.co/products/marine-blue-randoseru One of the popular brand. Not sure tracker available or not. https://www.istartek.com/portable-gps-tracker/ Don't think it work in singapore wah lau eh..... $599 a bag😖 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stratovarius Turbocharged Wednesday at 07:07 AM Share Wednesday at 07:07 AM On 12/18/2024 at 2:48 PM, Playtime said: wah lau eh..... $599 a bag😖 The jipun ginna carry this bag and wear the yellow hat jin cute wan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghgan 5th Gear Wednesday at 07:09 AM Share Wednesday at 07:09 AM On 12/18/2024 at 2:37 PM, Kklee said: IMHO. I would say maybe good in SG, cmi in US. Battery life far far from Samsung SmartTag. normal version support only 31 countries, depend on the telco coverage in big countries, city area should be fine in most countries. Global version have 100 over countries. I am surprise the normal version does not support Malaysia. You can read the US review in Amazon. Cannot compare with Smart tag as it is using different technology. If smart tag is using simcard, the battery life will be similar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklee 6th Gear Wednesday at 07:28 AM Share Wednesday at 07:28 AM (edited) On 12/18/2024 at 3:09 PM, Ghgan said: normal version support only 31 countries, depend on the telco coverage in big countries, city area should be fine in most countries. Global version have 100 over countries. I am surprise the normal version does not support Malaysia. You can read the US review in Amazon. Cannot compare with Smart tag as it is using different technology. If smart tag is using simcard, the battery life will be similar. IMHO. I was an early adopter. Not sure which version but I paid for 2 year subscription. Along with TackGPS was another 4 Samsung Smart Tags for comparision over in the USA. The Smart Tags are more "consistent" where as the TackGPS requires user intervention. I tracked them in US for over 5 months from SG. Maybe now the TackGPS has improved but back then, the software was quirky. Samsung Smart Tags worked out of the box and good for tracking luggages and things. I however, use it for tracking humans. A good feature is there is a button u can press to navigate to the tracker from the app using map. My understanding of the TackGPS is that it isn't full fledge GPS. When it cannot be found, it gives an approximate area related to the cell tower. It works using algorithms to save battery life which is why it last longer. If set to more frequent, end up have to keep charging the device like every maybe 5 days. P.S. Maybe my way of tracking is unconventionally frequent. 🤣 Also, Smart Tags uses Mesh which uses the Sim card of every close proximity Samsung phone. Edited Wednesday at 07:33 AM by Kklee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear Wednesday at 07:30 AM Share Wednesday at 07:30 AM (edited) On 12/18/2024 at 1:09 PM, Kb27 said: My son is going to P1. I'm worried about his location. Is there a reasonable "smart watch" that can allow me to track his location ? My 2 primary school kids are using Xiaomi Kids watch... with Eight. Can track them even when they are in oversea. Rugged, water resistant and 1 watch is less than $100. I like 1 of the feature, white list. Unknown no. cannot sms or call them. I will received a notification on my mobile app instead. https://www.mi.com/sg/product/xiaomi-smart-kids-watch/ Edited Wednesday at 07:32 AM by jcmm 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged Wednesday at 07:33 AM Share Wednesday at 07:33 AM On 12/18/2024 at 3:07 PM, Stratovarius said: The jipun ginna carry this bag and wear the yellow hat jin cute wan. $599 u buy for your kid?😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged Wednesday at 07:34 AM Share Wednesday at 07:34 AM On 12/18/2024 at 3:30 PM, jcmm said: My 2 primary school kids are using Xiaomi Kids watch... with Eight. Can track them even when they are in oversea. Rugged watch, water resistant and 1 watch is less than $100. I like 1 of the feature, white list. Unknown no. cannot sms or call them. I will received a notification on my mobile app instead. https://www.mi.com/sg/product/xiaomi-smart-kids-watch/ wah..... by any chance you work for MHA?😅 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear Wednesday at 07:37 AM Share Wednesday at 07:37 AM On 12/18/2024 at 3:34 PM, Playtime said: wah..... by any chance you work for MHA?😅 At their age, they dun need a phone to communicate with others except family. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear Wednesday at 07:41 AM Share Wednesday at 07:41 AM Forget to add, another popular kids watch is Myfirst Fone, can purchase from Popular or online. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...