Tohto Hypersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 5 hours ago, inlinesix said: Who want to go Taiwan? 🤭 Her hubby and daughters completed quarantine recently. 5 days or 14 days quarantine.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 4 minutes ago, Tohto said: 5 days or 14 days quarantine.. No idea le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 (edited) 4 hours ago, inlinesix said: in a way, if that's the only view in the world, WHO is NOT wrong. The problem is there is a contradicting view in Mandarin media in Taiwan. As compared to WHO expert, Taiwan CDC was on the ground in Wuhan. I can only blame them for being BANANA.😂 Obviously that's not the only view in the world. Other informed people (including me, Colleen Thomas etc.) were both wearing masks and advocating the same when Dale Fisher was singing the party line. The key is - who gets their opinion floated in the mainstream. There I have to say I am a hermit crab, I don't like publicity. At least Colleen et al were brave and forthright enough to write their open letter. Edited December 20, 2020 by Turboflat4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 1 minute ago, Turboflat4 said: Obviously that's not the only view in the world. Other informed people (including me, Colleen Thomas etc.) were both wearing masks and advocating the same when Dale Fisher was singing the party line. I get your view. What I am trying to say is that Taiwan CDC (an official was in Wuhan) deemed it to be more serious than our MoH before Wuhan lockdown. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 (edited) 16 minutes ago, inlinesix said: I get your view. What I am trying to say is that Taiwan CDC (an official was in Wuhan) deemed it to be more serious than our MoH before Wuhan lockdown. No worries, I got you first time, just making a point that locals also had a "Minority Report" opinion. Quite funny memory - back in Feb this year, when I was meeting with my property agents and outgoing tenants from S Korea, I made sure to wear a surgical mask. My agents were querying why I was doing this, when the gahmen said not needed. I just gave them a smirk (don't know if they saw it through the mask lol). Edited December 20, 2020 by Turboflat4 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 45 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said: Obviously that's not the only view in the world. Other informed people (including me, Colleen Thomas etc.) were both wearing masks and advocating the same when Dale Fisher was singing the party line. The key is - who gets their opinion floated in the mainstream. There I have to say I am a hermit crab, I don't like publicity. At least Colleen et al were brave and forthright enough to write their open letter. Ah yes, the 4 doctors who made LHL, CCS and gang eat their words. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 4 hours ago, Turboflat4 said: No worries, I got you first time, just making a point that locals also had a "Minority Report" opinion. Quite funny memory - back in Feb this year, when I was meeting with my property agents and outgoing tenants from S Korea, I made sure to wear a surgical mask. My agents were querying why I was doing this, when the gahmen said not needed. I just gave them a smirk (don't know if they saw it through the mask lol). What a stupid question to ask a doctor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 (edited) ban ban ban ... please don't be indecisive again ... Edited December 20, 2020 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 (edited) Citizen from one of the biggest covid shxtstorm of a country blaming SG for getting covid. Responding to this news, the Briton, a retiree who worked in banking, told The Straits Times that he hoped to have a "full and frank discussion" with the authorities about what had happened, once investigations into the cases have been concluded. 'Frustrating' to have possibly caught Covid-19 while on SHN at Mandarin Orchard, says Briton https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/mandarin-orchard-cases-frustrating-to-have-possibly-caught-covid-19-while-on-shn-says-64 Edited December 20, 2020 by Jellandross 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 (edited) 14 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Ah yes, the 4 doctors who made LHL, CCS and gang eat their words. To be fair, we started wearing masks in mid April with millions of reusable masks manufactured. If u look at the timeline, it is highly likely that the government was trying to make millions of reusable masks for EVERYONE weeks before that. I think they fully expect to eat their own words later down the road, or at least realised it way before mid April. And they did something about it, got down to work and made millions of masks so everyone can have one. Not just send out a decree to wear one. Edited December 20, 2020 by Wind30 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Optramagnum 6th Gear December 20, 2020 Share December 20, 2020 This is called only demanding standards that can be achieved by yourself. That's what I learnt in my Army days.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 47 minutes ago, Optramagnum said: This is called only demanding standards that can be achieved by yourself. That's what I learnt in my Army days.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 This is also the stand that Dr Fauci has been touting for not recommending mask wearing in USA but changing stand shortly after, to let the frontline workers have first cut as well as not creating a mad rush. What the 4 doctors had done can also amount to pichak lobang for the government thinking they are clever but not looking at the bigger picture, unlike someone like Dr Fauci who has had much more experience in disease management. To be clear i am not pointing fingers, just showing the other perspective as most of us here evidently cannot see it or accept it even after explaining. On a side note lets see if the mods will remove the Quote/Reply button for me under this thread again, as what had been done recently in another thread. It was not hostile ut the mods might worry about me posting comments that could escalats the situation. But at least do it with some brief explanation/warning and not quietly needing me to go into a few threads to confirm the situation lah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 (edited) 17 hours ago, Turboflat4 said: At least Colleen et al were brave and forthright enough to write their open letter. It just feels so wrong to praise these 4 doctors for their bravery in a democratic country with freedom of speech enshrined in the constitution, for having the courage to advise people to wear masks in the midst of a viral pandemic against an ill-prepared government with mi$-proriti$ed objective$. It hurts to see the deterioration of our country right before our eyes. In any case, please pass my heartfelt thanks to Dr Colleen, Dr Tham, Dr Judy and Dr Lim if you happen to see them. I will also write them a thanks-giving letter, thanks to the internet. Singaporeans owe them a huge debt of gratitude. I will confer them with Darjah Utama Temasek if I were the president (kidding but yet serious about it, if only). 👍 Edited December 21, 2020 by Weez911 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 6 hours ago, Wt_know said: ban ban ban ... please don't be indecisive again ... IB will ask - then the $economy$ how??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 2 hours ago, Wind30 said: To be fair, we started wearing masks in mid April with millions of reusable masks manufactured. If u look at the timeline, it is highly likely that the government was trying to make millions of reusable masks for EVERYONE weeks before that. I think they fully expect to eat their own words later down the road, or at least realised it way before mid April. And they did something about it, got down to work and made millions of masks so everyone can have one. Not just send out a decree to wear one. Don’t always have to defend the govt on everything. Have you even read the actual letter? Which other docs or govt said these in Feb? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Optramagnum said: This is called only demanding standards that can be achieved by yourself. That's what I learnt in my Army days.. Please read the whole letter first before saying they are demanding. They did acknowledged the situation. At least they had foresight. What was our govt advice? DON’T WEAR MASK IF HEALTHY. Edited December 21, 2020 by Fcw75 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 2 minutes ago, Weez911 said: It just feels so wrong to praise these 4 doctors for their bravery in a democratic country with freedom of speech enshrined in the constitution, for having the courage to advise people to wear masks in the midst of a viral pandemic against an ill-prepared government with mi$-proriti$ed objective$. It hurts to see the deterioration of our country right before our eyes. In any case, please pass my heartfelt thanks to Dr Colleen, Dr Tham, Dr Judy and Dr Lim if you happen to see them. Singaporeans owe them a huge debt of gratitude. I will confer them with Darjah Utama Temasek if I were the president (kidding but yet serious about it, if only). 👍 Well said bro. And to address the other points made in defence of this stance, I would consider lying or misleading the public to be exactly that. It's not "managing the narrative", it's not "responsible media control", it's lying. I think most people (especially in conditioned and guai guai SG) are mature enough to handle things if you're upfront with them about what you know, what you don't know, and give them recommendations on how to proceed. Securing the supply for front line HCWs is not something that should be contingent on denying the same to the public by deceit. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...