COVID-19: SG to enter Phase 3 from 28th Dec

BabyBlade

Message added by BabyBlade

Phase 2: 

12 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

I was just at a Restructured Hospital (not my own workplace) Clinic accompanying my son for a surgical appt. While there, I gently advised a patient /accompanying adult to pull his mask over his nose and he immediately complied. 

Bro I hope your son recovers well from his surgery. 🤞

2 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

Bro I hope your son recovers well from his surgery. 🤞

He doesn't need it at moment, just consulted a specialist surgeon to make sure. I'm seeing another medical specialist in the same place in the afternoon, let's hope it goes well. Thanks for your best wishes, you're always sincere and I really appreciate it. 👍🏼🙏

32 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

? Ok let me state i think their messaging was a mistake. I agree with u it did little to alleviate the mask shortages. Btw, the above statement does not contradict what i am trying to say earlier.

Just to be clear, what i am trying to say is i Think/guess our government knows the need for masks all along, irrespective of what the four doctors said.

So they know all along the need for masks but they did nothing while ah tiongs here swiped all the masks off the market and sent them back by the pallet at Changi Airport in Jan? I see.

Did you read the letter in detail? The 4 doctores knew there’s a shortage of disposable mask (how come got shortage ah?) but they asked people to wear ANY kind of face protection, be it make sewn from cloth or anything even if one is not sick. But what did your almighty can do no wrong govt said? DON’T WEAR MASK IF HEALTHY.

Then that’s FUBAR isn’t it?

Edited by Fcw75

19 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

FYI, MoH issued warning on Severe Pneumonia in Wuhan, China on Jan 3.

By end Jan, we are short of Mask.

Not that i want to add oil to fire but you dont know his style meh?

you know my style also mah.

ooops i better stop my bullying in a forum with highly paid car owning population.

8 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

So they know all along the need for masks but they did nothing while ah tiongs here swiped all the masks off the market and sent them back by the pallet at Changi Airport in Jan? I see.

Did you read the letter in detail? The 4 doctores knew there’s a shortage of disposable mask (how come got shortage ah?) but they asked people to wear ANY kind of face protection, be it make sewn from cloth or anything. But what did your almighty can do no wrong govt said? DON’T WEAR MASK IF HEALTHY.

Dont say already lah. Hai.....

Edited by Throttle2

1 minute ago, Throttle2 said:

Not that i want to add oil to fire but you dont know his style meh?

you know my style also mah.

ooops i better stop my bullying in a forum with highly paid car owning population.

I know his style. 

Just reminded him to think carefully.

If government have been honest with us right from the start that there is mask shortage ( like what Taiwan government did ), and what ever we had will be for healthcare worker first, than i think our focus will be on the shortage. how to improvise;  and not healthy no need wear mask crap. 

Also, at that time, more than once, we have mentioned that we should limit the max number of mask that each passenger is allow to take out of Singapore, but of course the message was not heard by the authority. 

34 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Did you read the letter in detail? The 4 doctores knew there’s a shortage of disposable mask (how come got shortage ah?) but they asked people to wear ANY kind of face protection, be it make sewn from cloth or anything even if one is not sick. But what did your almighty can do no wrong govt said? DON’T WEAR MASK IF HEALTHY.

... i already said i think it was a mistake asking people not to wear masks in feb. why do you keep saying I feel the government can do no wrong???

And yes I DID READ the letter in detail, like what I usually do. 

I am pretty sure our government did not do nothing like you said. 

1 hour ago, Fcw75 said:

All your paragraphs are already pointing to defending the govt blindly and think they can do no wrong.

Like inline6 bro said, just because we are an open economy we cannot ban those ah tiongs from swiping off ALL our masks in Jan? Your smart govt should know that in Jan isn’t it? They know but they did nothing. FUBAR.

The Tiong one i think should supply Wuhan during that time

not to supply Pte tiongs but to supply Wuhan govt

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

FYI, MoH issued warning on Severe Pneumonia in Wuhan, China on Jan 3.

By end Jan, we are short of Mask.

I bought a box of 50 masks at end Jan right before chinese new year from NTUC. So what is your point? That our government is not doing anyting? What did you expect them to do?

I know for a fact that they have millions of reuseable masks made by Early April. Is it too slow? Too late? Honestly, I don't know as I am not privy to how masks are made and the difficultites of securing supplies at that time. 

To me the BIGGEST mistake our government did was not masks but locking down the country for months cost BILLIONS... on hindsight, I think locking down the FW dorms or a far shorter lockdown will be enough. 

But that is on hindsight... but what we are discussing now really is whether we could do any better right? To me, shortening the lockdown will save billions of dollars which we all have to pay off in the future...

If the government did what you guys suggested and was honest with us right from the start, would it really prevented the FW outbreak? Would it make a material impact? I don't think so but of course I am not sure.

Edited by Wind30

The main takeaway from this mask issue, i feel, is to have a healthy distrust of official pronouncements and learn to think more independently. Don't trust our own safety to others. Otherwise it's like the sewol ferry sinking incident again.

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

I was just at a Restructured Hospital (not my own workplace) Clinic accompanying my son for a surgical appt. While there, I gently advised a patient /accompanying adult to pull his mask over his nose and he immediately complied. 

But what's worse is one of the senior staff nurses who kept pulling down her mask in the clinic. At one point she emerged from one of the rooms whereupon she proceeded to loudly call for a patient with her mask down. I happened to be right next to her in the waiting area and she hurriedly pulled up her mask when she spotted me. But immediately thereafter she kept walking around the clinic talking to staff with her mask pulled down. I followed her back into the private room, identified myself and asked her to please keep her mask on in the clinic setting, and also to set a better example for staff and also patients in the waiting room. She seemed abashed (paiseh) and pulled up her mask immediately. 

Our compliance is already spotty when we're not even in phase 3, but I absolutely draw the line at irresponsible behaviour from medical staff! 

I think you are pretty tall  😄 ... wish your kid speedy recovery 👍  Santa will give him a big Christmas gift for sure😁

4 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

I think you are pretty tall  😄 ... wish your kid speedy recovery 👍  Santa will give him a big Christmas gift for sure😁

Lol dunno what my height has to do with it. 😂

But thanks. 🤗

24 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

I bought a box of 50 masks at end Jan right before chinese new year from NTUC. So what is your point? That our government is not doing anyting? What did you expect them to do?

I know for a fact that they have millions of reuseable masks made by Early April. Is it too slow? Too late? Honestly, I don't know as I am not privy to how masks are made and the difficultites of securing supplies at that time. 

To me the BIGGEST mistake our government did was not masks but locking down the country for months cost BILLIONS... on hindsight, I think locking down the FW dorms or a far shorter lockdown will be enough. 

But that is on hindsight... but what we are discussing now really is whether we could do any better right? To me, shortening the lockdown will save billions of dollars which we all have to pay off in the future...

How come @Soya cannot find?

Shall I show you the earliest thread where there are long q of ppl for mask?

When you talk about April, it is already too late.

MoH warning was issued on Jan 3.  Something pro-active should have been done then.

In March, there is a large number of imported cases.  As ppl are not quarantined, it spread into the Community. 

I have data to support the spread from import to the community.

In April, boom!  FW dorm exploded.  Without CB, our healthcare system would have crashed.

Edited by inlinesix

1 minute ago, Mustank said:

Taller means longer :grin:

Oh, so that's why people keep saying "What a dick!" behind my back. They're complimenting me! Good to know, thanks bro. 🤗

18 minutes ago, RH1667 said:

If government have been honest with us right from the start that there is mask shortage ( like what Taiwan government did ), and what ever we had will be for healthcare worker first, than i think our focus will be on the shortage. how to improvise;  and not healthy no need wear mask crap. 

Also, at that time, more than once, we have mentioned that we should limit the max number of mask that each passenger is allow to take out of Singapore, but of course the message was not heard by the authority. 

They are good at creating "reasons" 😄 but always back fired. SARS shld have been a good reminder , to be well prepared.