Weez911 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 (edited) 23 minutes ago, Heartlander said: This is also the stand that Dr Fauci has been touting for not recommending mask wearing in USA but changing stand shortly after, to let the frontline workers have first cut as well as not creating a mad rush. What the 4 doctors had done can also amount to pichak lobang for the government thinking they are clever but not looking at the bigger picture, unlike someone like Dr Fauci who has had much more experience in disease management. Your bigger picture is "pap to win election in July 2020". Think before you reply, about where your loyalty lies (to pap or to Singaporeans), again and again, before you reply. Edit: GE was July, not Nov. Covid shortens the perception of time. Edited December 21, 2020 by Weez911 ↡ Advertisement 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 2 minutes ago, Weez911 said: Your bigger picture is "pap to win election in Nov 2020". Think before you reply, about where your loyalty lies (to pap or to Singaporeans), again and again, before you reply. What kind of rubbish you posting? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 4 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said: Well said bro. And to address the other points made in defence of this stance, I would consider lying or misleading the public to be exactly that. It's not "managing the narrative", it's not "responsible media control", it's lying. I think most people (especially in conditioned and guai guai SG) are mature enough to handle things if you're upfront with them about what you know, what you don't know, and give them recommendations on how to proceed. Securing the supply for front line HCWs is not something that should be contingent on denying the same to the public by deceit. I would have come to the same conclusion about your consideration. Notice how this thread becomes so busy with viciousness after I posted the Fisher comic. 😂 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 10 minutes ago, Weez911 said: Your bigger picture is "pap to win election in Nov 2020". Think before you reply, about where your loyalty lies (to pap or to Singaporeans), again and again, before you reply. You mean July 2020 bro. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 5 minutes ago, Heartlander said: What kind of rubbish you posting? You are not reading and not thinking, as always. Maybe you are paid not to. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 Just because i referenced to an authoritative figure on the virus issue, i am having loyalty issue? Anybody would have noticed the similar stance except those with a big axe to grind. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Heartlander said: Just because i referenced to an authoritative figure on the virus issue, i am having loyalty issue? Anybody would have noticed the similar stance except those with a big axe to grind. Yours is a specious argument. Fauci admitted upfront that at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, masks were not recommended for the general public, as authorities were trying to prevent a mask shortage for health workers and the extent of asymptomatic spread was unknown https://www.washingtonpost.com/video/washington-post-live/fauci-on-how-his-thinking-has-evolved-on-masks-asymptomatic-transmission/2020/07/24/799264e2-0f35-4862-aca2-2b4702650a8b_video.html, while your masters said we have a massive "stockpile" of mask (giving people good impression of readiness but a false sense of security - read election coming), and yet had a continuous propaganda on "healthy people need not wear mask" campaign with no sound scientific back-up (totally irresponsible). This is a pure cock-up of epic proportions and with the election running so near, we (those who are not paid by them, have a job, and pay tax) can all see why that happened. We (those who are not paid by them, have a job, and pay tax) need a big axe for incompetent leaders with an equally big salary. They paid a small political price and got lucky with a GRC. Not merely enough I think. Edited December 21, 2020 by Weez911 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 (edited) 5 hours ago, Wind30 said: To be fair, we started wearing masks in mid April with millions of reusable masks manufactured. If u look at the timeline, it is highly likely that the government was trying to make millions of reusable masks for EVERYONE weeks before that. I think they fully expect to eat their own words later down the road, or at least realised it way before mid April. And they did something about it, got down to work and made millions of masks so everyone can have one. Not just send out a decree to wear one. This looks silly on us. Our mask supply was grabbed in huge quantity to be sent back to its country of manufacturing. I know we are an open economy. We cannot anyhow ban thing. However, there are things that could be done but not done. Reminder: Edited December 21, 2020 by inlinesix 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 2 hours ago, Heartlander said: This is also the stand that Dr Fauci has been touting for not recommending mask wearing in USA but changing stand shortly after, to let the frontline workers have first cut as well as not creating a mad rush. What the 4 doctors had done can also amount to pichak lobang for the government thinking they are clever but not looking at the bigger picture, unlike someone like Dr Fauci who has had much more experience in disease management. To be clear i am not pointing fingers, just showing the other perspective as most of us here evidently cannot see it or accept it even after explaining. On a side note lets see if the mods will remove the Quote/Reply button for me under this thread again, as what had been done recently in another thread. It was not hostile ut the mods might worry about me posting comments that could escalats the situation. But at least do it with some brief explanation/warning and not quietly needing me to go into a few threads to confirm the situation lah Looking at the bigger picture = Lying To be clear i am not pointing fingers, just showing the other perspective. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 2 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Don’t always have to defend the govt on everything. Have you even read the actual letter? Which other docs or govt said these in Feb? ? Am I defending the government actions in Feb? I am just stating the facts. The doctors letter was dated on 10 feb. Our government started distributing reuseable masks to everyone on 3 April and by 9 April millions of masks were distributed out. I am not a reuseable mask making expert but I suspect it will take at least a MONTH to make millions from the point the decision is made, the assembly lines setup to final manufacture. Did our government really thought mask wearing is not necessary for healthy people? My OPINON is no. I don't believe they are really that stupid... Even if they did, they realised their mistake in Early March and started fixing it. Is it the right decision to bend the truth to the public in Feb??? could they have told the truth that mask wearing is important but there just isn't enough masks? Would that stop the public from stocking up every single mask they could lay their hands on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 1 minute ago, Wind30 said: ? Am I defending the government actions in Feb? I am just stating the facts. The doctors letter was dated on 10 feb. Our government started distributing reuseable masks to everyone on 3 April and by 9 April millions of masks were distributed out. I am not a reuseable mask making expert but I suspect it will take at least a MONTH to make millions from the point the decision is made, the assembly lines setup to final manufacture. Did our government really thought mask wearing is not necessary for healthy people? My OPINON is no. I don't believe they are really that stupid... Even if they did, they realised their mistake in Early March and started fixing it. Is it the right decision to bend the truth to the public in Feb??? could they have told the truth that mask wearing is important but there just isn't enough masks? Would that stop the public from stocking up every single mask they could lay their hands on? All your paragraphs are already pointing to defending the govt blindly and think they can do no wrong. Like inline6 bro said, just because we are an open economy we cannot ban those ah tiongs from swiping off ALL our masks in Jan? Your smart govt should know that in Jan isn’t it? They know but they did nothing. FUBAR. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 7 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: All your paragraphs are already pointing to defending the govt blindly and think they can do no wrong. Like inline6 bro said, just because we are an open economy we cannot ban those ah tiongs from swiping off ALL our masks in Jan? Your smart govt should know that in Jan isn’t it? They know but they did nothing. FUBAR. https://www.moh.gov.sg/news-highlights/details/precautionary-measures-in-response-to-severe-pneumonia-cases-in-wuhan-china 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 31 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: All your paragraphs are already pointing to defending the govt blindly and think they can do no wrong. Like inline6 bro said, just because we are an open economy we cannot ban those ah tiongs from swiping off ALL our masks in Jan? Your smart govt should know that in Jan isn’t it? They know but they did nothing. FUBAR. ? Ok let me state i think their messaging was a mistake. I agree with u it did little to alleviate the mask shortages. Btw, the above statement does not contradict what i am trying to say earlier. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 36 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: All your paragraphs are already pointing to defending the govt blindly and think they can do no wrong. Like inline6 bro said, just because we are an open economy we cannot ban those ah tiongs from swiping off ALL our masks in Jan? Your smart govt should know that in Jan isn’t it? They know but they did nothing. FUBAR. ? Ok let me state i think their messaging was a mistake. I agree with u it did little to alleviate the mask shortages. Btw, the above statement does not contradict what i am trying to say earlier. Just to be clear, what i am trying to say is i Think/guess our government knows the need for masks all along, irrespective of what the four doctors said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 I was just at a Restructured Hospital (not my own workplace) Clinic accompanying my son for a surgical appt. While there, I gently advised a patient /accompanying adult to pull his mask over his nose and he immediately complied. But what's worse is one of the senior staff nurses who kept pulling down her mask in the clinic. At one point she emerged from one of the rooms whereupon she proceeded to loudly call for a patient with her mask down. I happened to be right next to her in the waiting area and she hurriedly pulled up her mask when she spotted me. But immediately thereafter she kept walking around the clinic talking to staff with her mask pulled down. I followed her back into the private room, identified myself and asked her to please keep her mask on in the clinic setting, and also to set a better example for staff and also patients in the waiting room. She seemed abashed (paiseh) and pulled up her mask immediately. Our compliance is already spotty when we're not even in phase 3, but I absolutely draw the line at irresponsible behaviour from medical staff! 8 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 3 minutes ago, Wind30 said: Just to be clear, what i am trying to say is i Think/guess our government knows the need for masks all along, irrespective of what the four doctors said. FYI, MoH issued warning on Severe Pneumonia in Wuhan, China on Jan 3. By end Jan, we are short of Mask. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 (edited) 11 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said: I was just at a Restructured Hospital (not my own workplace) Clinic accompanying my son for a surgical appt. While there, I gently advised a patient /accompanying adult to pull his mask over his nose and he immediately complied. But what's worse is one of the senior staff nurses who kept pulling down her mask in the clinic. At one point she emerged from one of the rooms whereupon she proceeded to loudly call for a patient with her mask down. I happened to be right next to her in the waiting area and she hurriedly pulled up her mask when she spotted me. But immediately thereafter she kept walking around the clinic talking to staff with her mask pulled down. I followed her back into the private room, identified myself and asked her to please keep her mask on in the clinic setting, and also to set a better example for staff and also patients in the waiting room. She seemed abashed (paiseh) and pulled up her mask immediately. Our compliance is already spotty when we're not even in phase 3, but I absolutely draw the line at irresponsible behaviour from medical staff! thanks TF4 ... medical staff must adhere to safety measure like "air tight" during the start of outbreak ... tv shows medical staff wear ppe whole day until face sensitive and scar ... heart pain but safety comes first ... no choice once medical staff tio covid and infected more medical staff ... that's catastrophe ... Edited December 21, 2020 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 21, 2020 Share December 21, 2020 Just now, Wt_know said: thanks TF4 ... medical staff must adhere to safety measure like "air tight" once medical staff tio covid and infected more medical staff ... that's catastrophe ... My neighbourhood GP still wear PPE, surgical mask and face shield NOW. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...