Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 29 minutes ago, Victor68 said: My friend, instant or storage tank type principle same. Short or leak to earth ( heater body and contact with water) once water touches you and you are not properly isolated, mati. You don't hear of people dying from storage heater electrocution right? In my memory over 30 years of reading the news. Whereas this is the 3rd case in 5 years. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 1 minute ago, Kb27 said: Test your ELCB or RCCB regularly. Push the button and the switch should dropped and electricity cut off. gonna talk to my family about changing heater liao. more then 10 years. all bo chup want to bath nia. but sometime its no change bo tai ji, change then problem many many ......... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 (edited) 6 minutes ago, Beregond said: gonna talk to my family about changing heater liao. more then 10 years. all bo chup want to bath nia. but sometime its no change bo tai ji, change then problem many many ......... Refer to above. Just install a frame and put the water heater outside lor. My water heater is in the service yard. In condo or landed its concealed in false ceiling. Instant water heater is basically a higher risk inferior method technology. Proven beyond doubt. Its not significantly cheaper given the life span of one heater. Its lower water flow. Much much higher risk of electrocution given close proximity to moisture and water. The cost of one gas heater... Can pay for 2 electric storage heaters plus change. Look at the poor family. One stroke lead to 3 deaths. How epic waste of life is that Edited December 11, 2020 by Lala81 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 (edited) 25 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Gas can go kaboom or not? Sure but usually will start with slow leak from the valve or pipe connections. Mine is installed near the kitchen window so it's well ventilated. The spark to ignite the gas is using D-type batteries. If gas leak to water, nothing deadly will happen. Battery leak to water also wont kill you. Explosion not likely. I see it every day, I would have smell gas if leak. Windows always open, well ventilated. Most importantly it's isolated from the shower. For gas operator in local context everything got safety in place. It's just like using your gas stove. No difference. If you say it's unsafe, so is your gas stove. Edited December 11, 2020 by Watwheels 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Watwheels said: Scary. Actually I have done my own shower heater replacement before. I diy replacement before too. Storage type though. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 5 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Sure but usually will start with slow leak from the valve or pipe connections. Mine is installed near the kitchen window so it's well ventilated. The spark to ignite the flames is using D-type batteries. If gas leak to water, nothing deadly will happen. Battery leak to water also wont kill you. Explosion not likely. I see it every day, I would have smell gas if leak. Windows always open, well ventilated. Most importantly it's isolated from the shower. For gas operator in local context everything got safety in place. It's just like using your gas stove. No difference. If you say it's unsafe, so is your gas stove. The replacement costs are significant. I dunno whether I read in mcf or other forums. Totally no point to use gas IMO. Some people bo pian use it cos its legacy system provided by the condo. But when it has problem then they find they pay so much more to get a new one. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 8 minutes ago, Lala81 said: You don't hear of people dying from storage heater electrocution right? In my memory over 30 years of reading the news. Whereas this is the 3rd case in 5 years. Storage heaters usually have an additional earth connected to the copper pipe. And in case of leak, electricity would have to travel a much longer distance (more resistance) to reach the person holding the shower head, vs the path to the copper pipe and into the wall/ground. Probably that's why it's safer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 11 minutes ago, Lala81 said: You don't hear of people dying from storage heater electrocution right? In my memory over 30 years of reading the news. Whereas this is the 3rd case in 5 years. Probably less storage tank installation compare to instant. Storage tank also much more difficult and tends to be carried by merchant than DIY. Anyway, electrical installation for wet area better be very careful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 37 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Gas can go kaboom or not? wont la. the chance of kenna electric shock is much much higher then gas explosion. ( faulty or degrade wire connector bababa from mcf already got a few case of this liao? at least 2 case i remember??? since when we heard gas explosion from home? fire case then alot 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 (edited) Just now, Lala81 said: The replacement costs are significant. I dunno whether I read in mcf or other forums. Totally no point to use gas IMO. Some people bo pian use it cos its legacy system provided by the condo. But when it has problem then they find they pay so much more to get a new one. To me it's more reliable than an electrical system. I chose it cos I dont take hot showers. Sg is kinda hot. My family does but also not often. Because I have use electrical ones the reliability is not as good. Best is to change it like 5 years. The risk is also higher. Overall cost gas is long term, electrical short term. I'm used to it. And less of a worry. And using gas compared to electricity it's also cheaper. But that's least priority to me. Edited December 11, 2020 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: gonna talk to my family about changing heater liao. more then 10 years. all bo chup want to bath nia. but sometime its no change bo tai ji, change then problem many many ......... I don't have statistics to back me up, but I think storage heater is much safer. Bcuz the electrical heater is usually far away, only the hot water is piped to a mixer with cold water at your shower point. So when you're wet, with water and you touch something, the closest point is the water pipe, which is usually earthed. Those instant electric heater seemed to be the ones involved in electrocution. I can only guess, their proximity to the bather, where electricity is. Electrocution is prevented by the ELCB/RCCB tripping due to leakage AC current. Sensitivity is usually a low 30 mA . I've installed a RCCB and the instruction tells you test regularly, maybe every 1 to 3 months, just to make sure it is still working, not clogged by spiderwebs, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 28 minutes ago, Watwheels said: To me it's more reliable than an electrical system. I chose it cos I dont take hot showers. Sg is kinda hot. My family does but also not often. Because I have use electrical ones the reliability is not as good. Best is to change it like 5 years. The risk is also higher. Overall cost gas is long term, electrical short term. I'm used to it. And less of a worry. And using gas compared to electricity it's also cheaper. But that's least priority to me. Haha shower cold water is best! Save environment. My parents flat 35 years. On 3rd electrical storage heater so far. About to change soon according to my mother... But she's more annoyed with it cos one of the seals is leaking. My flat 7 years. No issues. Good as day one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 I have used a second set of storage tank type. Good as it serves two bathrooms! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 36 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Haha shower cold water is best! Save environment. My parents flat 35 years. On 3rd electrical storage heater so far. About to change soon according to my mother... But she's more annoyed with it cos one of the seals is leaking. My flat 7 years. No issues. Good as day one. I only do hot shower at night. At night can sleep better. I changed my tank about 2 years ago. Piping rusted and leaking. That's after 15 years of use. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raubern 6th Gear December 11, 2020 Author Share December 11, 2020 Sad.... the 15 year old girl witness the deaths of her father and grandparents Their son, Mr Muhamad Ashikin Omar, had gone to visit them with his 15-year-old daughter, according to a family friend who spoke to Chinese newspaper Shin Min Daily News. After a prolonged wait outside the door, he had broken it down and entered the flat. On seeing his parents on the ground, he had tried to revive them and was also electrocuted. When The Straits Times went to the unit on Friday afternoon, police officers were seen within the flat. A neighbour, who wished to be known only as Madam Ting, told ST in Mandarin that the couple lived alone and were visited by their son and their daughter-in-law almost daily. The retiree, who has lived in the unit for about 50 years, said: "I used to talk to them from the corridor every day. "They are a very close and pleasant family, I can't believe the three of them are gone." https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/3-family-members-pronounced-dead-in-lakeside-tragedy-from-suspected-electrocution 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Volvobrick said: Storage heaters usually have an additional earth connected to the copper pipe. And in case of leak, electricity would have to travel a much longer distance (more resistance) to reach the person holding the shower head, vs the path to the copper pipe and into the wall/ground. Probably that's why it's safer. Storage heater wiring not directly connected to the shower head right? So lesser chance of kana electrocuted?! Unlike instant heater, whole thing connected in one whole piece?! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 (edited) 27 minutes ago, 13177 said: Storage heater wiring not directly connected to the shower head right? So lesser chance of kana electrocuted?! Unlike instant heater, whole thing connected in one whole piece?! You look at your electric kettle lo. The basic working principle is the same. The heating element is submerge in water. But the shower one a lot of material in it is a conductor of electricity. The water tank, the heating element in the tank. The heating element is made out of copper alloy, The water tank is stainless steel. Go Google for images. OK. Found one... Edited December 11, 2020 by Watwheels 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
West 2nd Gear December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 The principle for storage heater (electric type) and instant heater is the same. The storage look safer is because it is installed far away from shower area, usually in the yard. It does not get wet so the risk of electric shock is much lower compare to instant heater. So you can also buy instant heater and install in a dry section within the toilet, or even outside the toilet, and pipe the hot water to shower area. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...