Raubern 6th Gear December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 (edited) 达曼裕廊惨案 厕所热水器或肇祸 妻救夫 儿救双亲 一家三口疑触电死 The uncle collapsed in the bathroom while showering. Wife tried to save him and was electrocuted. Son saw his parents collapsed in the bathroom and tried to save them and he was electrocuted as well. Water heater suspected to be the cause. This is tragic 😢 Edited December 11, 2020 by Raubern ↡ Advertisement 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 What? Another case? Poor souls. RIP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 It is very important to get a licenced electrical contractor to do such installation. More so around wet areas and item you have body contacts. Many 'electrician' only know how to connect it to works but don't understand between live and neutral or earthing. 4 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 Scary. Actually I have done my own shower heater replacement before. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 (edited) Use storage type safer. Heat up for 10 mins and switch it off before you take shower. Don't leave the switch on. Edited December 11, 2020 by Kangadrool 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 Just now, Watwheels said: Scary. Actually I have done my own shower heater replacement before. It is safe if you know what you are doing. But electrical works in moisture-laden area is always tricky. Nonetheless, the works done by those electrical contractor out there are also not say very high standard. Same for the components that they use. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 What a tragic accident. How come the circuit breaker never trip? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 RIP 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 1 minute ago, Sosaria said: It is safe if you know what you are doing. But electrical works in moisture-laden area is always tricky. Nonetheless, the works done by those electrical contractor out there are also not say very high standard. Same for the components that they use. Can be a number of factors. In the 2018 case, https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/improper-heater-wiring-caused-boys-death-while-showering, The wiring is connected to a 3pin plug and the circuit breaker connected to it is faulty. Now you do not see the shower heater wired to a 3pin plug, that was many years ago. Another case in 2016, https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysian-student-electrocuted-by-hot-water-heater-while-having-shower, the heater has been in use for 10 years. I think parts and seals inside the heater could have disintegrated. That's why last time I change it after 5 years. Now I use gas. Slow but safe and away from me. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 5 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Another case in 2016, https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysian-student-electrocuted-by-hot-water-heater-while-having-shower, the heater has been in use for 10 years. I think parts and seals inside the heater could have disintegrated. my heater also like 10 years liao. stress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 shit... this is really tragic... sad to hear such news. RIP... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 Just now, Beregond said: my heater also like 10 years liao. stress This kinda money cannot save. Best is to switch to something that is not next to you when showering be it electrical or gas. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 20 minutes ago, Victor68 said: It is very important to get a licenced electrical contractor to do such installation. More so around wet areas and item you have body contacts. Many 'electrician' only know how to connect it to works but don't understand between live and neutral or earthing. The electrical wiring of the heater is quite simple (earth, live and neutral). To ensure safety, need to buy those that come with built-in ELCB. Once, the circuit detects a shorted path to the ground, it will automatically cut off the power. Another thing is to check your RCCB monthly. In this case, if the RCCB in their house was working properly, the power supply to the whole house should be cut off at the moment when the mother was electrocuted. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 Tragic! Even though one might be confident with installing the water heater but do we want to risk our family safety? Think twice. Get those with certified. Not those ah beng ah Seng shops. Changing of tap is perfectly alright. The most flood the house not water heater though. 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 Just get a storage heater lah... At most just trip the mains and the circuits all high up near ceiling. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 15 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Just get a storage heater lah... At most just trip the mains and the circuits all high up near ceiling. My friend, instant or storage tank type principle same. Short or leak to earth ( heater body and contact with water) once water touches you and you are not properly isolated, mati. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 51 minutes ago, Watwheels said: Can be a number of factors. In the 2018 case, https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/improper-heater-wiring-caused-boys-death-while-showering, The wiring is connected to a 3pin plug and the circuit breaker connected to it is faulty. Now you do not see the shower heater wired to a 3pin plug, that was many years ago. Another case in 2016, https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/malaysian-student-electrocuted-by-hot-water-heater-while-having-shower, the heater has been in use for 10 years. I think parts and seals inside the heater could have disintegrated. That's why last time I change it after 5 years. Now I use gas. Slow but safe and away from me. Gas can go kaboom or not? 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 11, 2020 Share December 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Beregond said: my heater also like 10 years liao. stress Test your ELCB or RCCB regularly. Push the button and the switch should dropped and electricity cut off. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...