Throttle2 Supersonic December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 1 hour ago, Ysc3 said: Once they started putting the rank on the bow-tie in front already cannot see.... Must upfront and personal then can see. I still think on the shoulders nicer and easier to see. Yes shoulders and arms are best for ranks. SG always keh kiang. Budget terminal, call budget terminal after spending money and getting thousands of suggestions ↡ Advertisement 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 2 hours ago, Watwheels said: Heng my time only got what SBO webbing and full pack. Less things. New stuff looks hot. Got additional armour somemore. Sian 1/2. The current generation Vest, I hear from younger folks that it is crazy hot - maciam like wearing winter clothing out to battle, and they envy the reservist who go back and wear the old style webbing SBO. So essentially this is a new version to try to address the FAILURE of current version. Trust our STEE engineers to get things wrong.... haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 A lot of us got back problems from NS days because of heavy loads, hopefully this can help the weaker soldiers these days. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 2 hours ago, Beregond said: did they make the helmet smaller?? the vest is ok given that i believe we train more urban warfare then fire movement jungle fight i believe but i simple hate so many thing on my head The 2 parts helmet is the worst. Outside heavy metal and the inner linear. Can't imagine I run SOC with it during my BMT days. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 2 hours ago, Ysc3 said: Once they started putting the rank on the bow-tie in front already cannot see.... Must upfront and personal then can see. I still think on the shoulders nicer and easier to see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 The immediate attention should be on developing gear to address the aplenty 4 eye monkeys of our conscription... Swimming goggle type is the best...can make river crossing or manning a post in the rain easier...😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
golden_eagle 2nd Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 what does load bearing mean? will it make the backpack feel lighter when you have a vest on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 What SBO what LBBS? Battle Ready Armour is best! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 5 hours ago, Watwheels said: So after wearing all these new stuff nobody can see who is who and what rank. 😂 SAF scholar, "well done". I read on some online articles about US military, that the ranks insignia are attached in a discreet manner [in the battlefields] to avoid targeting by enemy snipers. For the same reasons, the battlefields is also a "no salute zone". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 Hopefully the end of those bloody black tape! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ToyotaShuttle 5th Gear December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 2 hours ago, Opel17 said: I read on some online articles about US military, that the ranks insignia are attached in a discreet manner [in the battlefields] to avoid targeting by enemy snipers. For the same reasons, the battlefields is also a "no salute zone". Isn't that the reason why our officer ranks are removable too? Officer can remove and avoid getting shot. Let the NCO die. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 12 hours ago, Beregond said: 'While the helmet's high-cut design means it is lighter and can accommodate more communications and hearing protection systems, it also offers less protection on the side, the report said. like it say less protection at the side. but lppl. nowsaday solider need to wear so many extra communication stuff. i dun know if nowsaday soldier train leopard crawl . but i hate so many stuff on my chest . The helmet shape not practical for multi purpose use as pillow or stool. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 2, 2020 Share December 2, 2020 (edited) 5 hours ago, ToyotaShuttle said: Isn't that the reason why our officer ranks are removable too? Officer can remove and avoid getting shot. Let the NCO die. Leopard will never change it spot. From far you can identify an officer and a men from the way they walk. You never acquired such skill in the army?🤔 How did your survive 2 and half years? Edited December 2, 2020 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 14 hours ago, Carbon82 said: Sharp eyes! SAF NSFs get new ergonomic 'high-cut' helmets that improve combat effectiveness SINGAPORE: Full-time national servicemen enlisted with the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) since October 2019 have been using ergonomic "high-cut" helmets designed to improve combat effectiveness. The new helmet also allows better integration with other equipment, such as communication headsets and night vision devices, said the Ministry of Defence (MINDEF) on Wednesday (Sep 16) in response to queries from CNA. "The new helmet is part of the Army’s efforts to leverage on science and technology to provide ergonomically designed equipment to enhance the combat effectiveness for every soldier," said MINDEF. While the helmet's high-cut design means it is lighter and can accommodate more communications and hearing protection systems, it also offers less protection on the side, the report said. Not me lah, I too old for army liao... My son will be enlisted on 5 Jan next year, so this improvement came timely (to me). With cool air blowing helmet or vest / SBO, it cannot be tactical, and don't forget about water damage (to the electrical component) when it get wet during heavy downpour and river crossing. I going to MR next year liao. hahahaha. So all these doesn't matters to me anymore. hahahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 8 hours ago, Davidklt said: Hopefully the end of those bloody black tape! use of black tape will never end🤣🤣 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 Less is More. Why keep loading more while trying to "lighten" the load. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 3, 2020 Author Share December 3, 2020 13 hours ago, t0y0ta said: The current generation Vest, I hear from younger folks that it is crazy hot - maciam like wearing winter clothing out to battle, and they envy the reservist who go back and wear the old style webbing SBO. So essentially this is a new version to try to address the FAILURE of current version. Trust our STEE engineers to get things wrong.... haha A picture paints a thousand words. On the extreme left is the SBO design during our era, while the 2nd left is the current version, and yes, it traps heat. 3rd from left is the prototype for the final version (extreme right). 13 hours ago, Windwaver said: A lot of us got back problems from NS days because of heavy loads, hopefully this can help the weaker soldiers these days. Actually SBO account for a very small portion of load bear by the solider. The backpack, weapon (e.g. Mortar, Matador, GPMG, Saw, etc.), signal set (it can weigh close to 20Kg during my time) etc. are the killer, and the impact is not just on the back but the knee as well. 12 hours ago, golden_eagle said: what does load bearing mean? will it make the backpack feel lighter when you have a vest on? OK, based on my understanding, bulk of the load of the old SBO + content are levied on the shoulder directly, while the new 2 piece vest design spread the load more evenly on the shoulder and back, as well as the hip area. 11 hours ago, Count-Bracula said: What SBO what LBBS? Battle Ready Armour is best! Like that? 4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic December 3, 2020 Share December 3, 2020 2 minutes ago, Carbon82 said: A picture paints a thousand words. On the extreme left is the SBO design during our era, while the 2nd left is the current version, and yes, it traps heat. 3rd from left is the prototype for the final version (extreme right). Actually SBO account for a very small portion of load bear by the solider. The backpack, weapon (e.g. Mortar, Matador, GPMG, Saw, etc.), signal set (it can weigh close to 20Kg during my time) etc. are the killer, and the impact is not just on the back but the knee as well. OK, based on my understanding, bulk of the load of the old SBO + content are levied on the shoulder directly, while the new 2 piece vest design spread the load more evenly on the shoulder and back, as well as the hi actually the designer miss a very important point 90% of our soldiers wearing glasses even commando making changes i think. all the new stuff they come out with esp on the headwear, need to be glasses friendly, see the photo with the soldier with attachment on top and the 2 soldiers kosong wearing glasses below. imagine that 2 soldiers wearing those attachment, can they still fight effectively?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...