Lab grown chicken, cultured meat

Kb27

It is all for sustainability reasons.

Lab-meat, lab-milk, seems like SG is leading the way in these new food innovations.

Sustainability is not just about the environment. There is also a social component in Sustainability, which means things that are associated with human.

Killing  thousands of chicken everyday is not sustainable.

Whether you agree or not is another story.   But the future ahead  in the post covid world will be very targeted on sustainability.  Even our Ministry has changed name from Ministry of Environment and Water Resources to Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment. They even put the word "Sustainability" in front so that tells you a lot doesn't it?

Edited by Icedbs

7 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

Whether you agree or not is another story.   But the future ahead  in the post covid world will be very targeted on sustainability.  Even our Ministry has changed name from Ministry of Environment and Water Resources to Ministry of Sustainability and the Environment. They even put the word "Sustainability" in front so that tells you a lot doesn't it?

I suspect they change name because they don't want to old name to keep reminding us the old message water is precious, when in fact there is an over supply leading to omce-in-50 years "ponding"....

7 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

I suspect they change name because they don't want to old name to keep reminding us the old message water is precious, when in fact there is an over supply leading to omce-in-50 years "ponding"....

Sorry, I don't quite get your rationale above

Fresh water is always precious, regardless ponding or not or whether they put the word  "water" in the ministry or not. 

13 hours ago, Neopcn07 said:

I think the key objective is to be self-supply/self-sufficient.

Yup, prepare for WW3, WWZ & X-men apocalypse.😱😂

13 hours ago, Neopcn07 said:

I think the key objective is to be self-supply/self-sufficient.

i think cut wastage and education is more important, we have more then enough food in sg, way too many infact.

24 minutes ago, Beregond said:

i think cut wastage and education is more important, we have more then enough food in sg, way too many infact.

Those will come.

Singapore is part of the United Nations 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) plan,  so we will need to show something. Certainly no coincidence that the Ministry name was change to reflect those commitments.

Here is Singapore's report card in 2018 to the UN on our progress and action items towards the 17 SDGs https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/19439Singapores_Voluntary_National_Review_Report_v2.pdf

On the education front, sustainability is already part of many Executive education curriculum in our Universities. The plan is to educate our businesses and business  leaders first because corporate remains as one the biggest waste producers and biggest energy and water consumers.   However, they also have the muscle to do meaningful CSR programs. I know this because I have a course in SMU,, and sustainability in supply chain and businesses is part of the curriculum which I just completed.

Edited by Icedbs

1 minute ago, Icedbs said:

Those will come.

Singapore is part of the United Nations 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) plan,  so we will need to show something. Certainly no coincidence that the Ministry name was change to reflect those commitments.

ya  understand  this. Our country will never never  be  supply on food.

Unless they talking about replacing 80% of our diet with lab grown meat. 

I believe i read a report some where. The world have enough food for every. Just that its not evenly distributed 

The key should  how to spread  the food evenly.

Rather  then more mean of producing even more food. 

Of course got extra way is an advantage  also 

We should concentrate on food waste instead.

What do we know about chai png when they finished business or restaurant but have lots of leftovers ?

Are they simply dumped as waste ?

Is there a means of transporting them to poor and hungry people who don't mind eating leftovers ?

On 12/3/2020 at 8:54 AM, mikk123 said:

I want real chicken. 🐓

Got some at Botanic Gardens, real and live ones in fact. You cant get fresher than that.

The only thing being, can you catch the chicken? 

:XD:

Screenshot_20201205-131718_Gallery.jpg

On 12/3/2020 at 10:52 PM, Karoon said:

Next big thing is a man-made living, pulsing, vagina.... sold in a can, reusable.

Human wise, that have been done by a Chinese Scientist who got jailed for that.

Vagina?! CCB will be flying all around!

I wouldnt want that

But I think @Jamesc will like it to show how he will attempt to destroy his MIL's reproductive system by using a screwdriver to screw that vagina 🙄

11 hours ago, Icedbs said:

Those will come.

Here is Singapore's report card in 2018 to the UN on our progress and action items towards the 17 SDGs https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/content/documents/19439Singapores_Voluntary_National_Review_Report_v2.pdf

On the education front, sustainability is already part of many Executive education curriculum in our Universities. The plan is to educate our businesses and business  leaders first because corporate remains as one the biggest waste producers and biggest energy and water consumers.   However, they also have the muscle to do meaningful CSR programs. I know this because I have a course in SMU,, and sustainability in supply chain and businesses is part of the curriculum which I just completed.

Brother, I thought you property agent?

How come you everything from property to education to skillfuture courses to now sustainability stuff all know one?

What else do you know sia?

I have never seen a  property agent like you.....:grin:

Lab-grown chicken meat to make debut at Robertson Quay restaurant on Saturday

SINGAPORE: Lab-grown chicken meat will make its debut at 1880, a private members’ club in Robertson Quay, in a culinary first this weekend after the company behind the product announced its inaugural sale on Wednesday (Dec 16).

US start-up Eat Just announced earlier this month that its cultured chicken had been given “first-in-the-world regulatory approval” by Singapore authorities.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lab-grown-meat-debut-1880-robertson-quay-eat-just-13782904

8 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

Lab-grown chicken meat to make debut at Robertson Quay restaurant on Saturday

SINGAPORE: Lab-grown chicken meat will make its debut at 1880, a private members’ club in Robertson Quay, in a culinary first this weekend after the company behind the product announced its inaugural sale on Wednesday (Dec 16).

US start-up Eat Just announced earlier this month that its cultured chicken had been given “first-in-the-world regulatory approval” by Singapore authorities.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/lab-grown-meat-debut-1880-robertson-quay-eat-just-13782904

from US meh?

i thought local company??😑

US company dun go sell US first, let sg eat first??😶

Edited by Beregond