Count-Bracula Twincharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 12:50 AM, Lala81 said: Whole point of getting an electric one is the non stick pan. Just don't use metal spoon or instruments. Wooden or plastic. Those ladle can be metal cos no edges. The maximum temp of these is just around 110 deg. All very safe. Your non stick coating won't drop one. My pressure cooker is 2-3 years old. Coating as good as new. Expand Oh I see..... I also thought otherwise. May go check out the Tefal PC later ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 12:50 AM, Lala81 said: Whole point of getting an electric one is the non stick pan. Just don't use metal spoon or instruments. Wooden or plastic. Those ladle can be metal cos no edges. The maximum temp of these is just around 110 deg. All very safe. Your non stick coating won't drop one. My pressure cooker is 2-3 years old. Coating as good as new. Expand Actually I have been considering to get a pressure cooker for some time but must come with stainless steel pan. My motivation has been to cook pot roast where the beef can be seared in the same pot prior to pressure cooking. I also generally do not trust teflon coating as do not find teflon appetising haha. I am holding back because I am not sure I will like pot roast enough so that it will not become a white elephant. Will cook once soon using normal oven or gas stove method to decide. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear November 16, 2020 Author Share November 16, 2020 On 11/15/2020 at 3:08 PM, Ysc3 said: i got both .... first one is the Joyoung MF rice cooker. Then later i got the Midea electric pressure cooker. the rice cooker is smaller (1.8L) so i use it to cook rice only. the pressure cooker is a 5L unit .... which now i kinda regret as too big for a small family. if you want more functions, the go for the pressure cooker - but get the size that will suffice for your family. I am considering getting a smaller 2.5L pressure cooker so more convenient to use. Expand Yeah. If I wan pressure cooker, I need to get the right size for small family. I saw Toyomi pressure cooker 3L size. Comes with non stick pot. Its abit smaller than those 6L ones. Anyone has feedback on this model? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 4:09 AM, Heartlander said: Actually I have been considering to get a pressure cooker for some time but must come with stainless steel pan. My motivation has been to cook pot roast where the beef can be seared in the same pot prior to pressure cooking. I also generally do not trust teflon coating as do not find teflon appetising haha. I am holding back because I am not sure I will like pot roast enough so that it will not become a white elephant. Will cook once soon using normal oven or gas stove method to decide. Expand My honest opinion is hard to brown/sear in the pressure cooker. Why. Narrower base. Your meat will crowd at the base of the pot. The electric heating element in these cookers are not high powered. Hence u find it hard to sear. The pot itself doesn't have enough thermal mass to maintain a steady temp. Hence u will find it easier to continue browning in a regular skillet or Dutch oven on the stove U have to sear in batches. And it will take longer than a regular skillet or pan. But for one pot clean up, yeah lah convenient. Ive tried before, i rather spend the time to wash my wok. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 (edited) 3L is... Tiny.... It's only suitable for doing stewing or braising. The measurements are for the capacity of pot but u can only fill it up to 65-70%. This is 3L of water (measured) in my supposedly 5-6L (can't remember but it should be rated at 6L). Look at the max level. If u are cooking with chicken or pork bones/排骨 with some veggies (carrot or Raddish or what), u wont even get to put 2-2.5L of water inside. 2.5L is the max usable capacity of the pot beside it. It's probably rated at a 3L pot. If u are doing soup it's not that much. 4 adults drink finish Liao. Plus some leftover at most. Unless u are a couple or only have one kid. Sure. But if u have something liddat. Just use your multi function rice cooker lor Edited November 16, 2020 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 5:18 AM, Lala81 said: My honest opinion is hard to brown/sear in the pressure cooker. Why. Narrower base. Your meat will crowd at the base of the pot. The electric heating element in these cookers are not high powered. Hence u find it hard to sear. The pot itself doesn't have enough thermal mass to maintain a steady temp. Hence u will find it easier to continue browning in a regular skillet or Dutch oven on the stove U have to sear in batches. And it will take longer than a regular skillet or pan. But for one pot clean up, yeah lah convenient. Ive tried before, i rather spend the time to wash my wok. Expand Thanks for the explanation. My inspiration for getting the pot come from watching a few pot roast videos that made use of pressure cooker. All of them recommend to get 1 with stainless steel pan, and the meat searing look reasonable from my inexperience eyes. I am the lazy type haha. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 5:48 AM, Heartlander said: Thanks for the explanation. My inspiration for getting the pot come from watching a few pot roast videos that made use of pressure cooker. All of them recommend to get 1 with stainless steel pan, and the meat searing look reasonable from my inexperience eyes. I am the lazy type haha. Expand I just use for soups or braising peanuts. I don't even like to use it for stews/卤肉。 cos I still prefer to do that on stovetop. Difficult to flavour during the braising process and the amount of water in a stew or braise in an electrical pressure cooker is very difficult to control. If you have the countertop space. Go ahead. I put my pressure cooker near the wall. So it's actually bit hard for me to cook there. That position is just leave it and come back one hour later. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 (edited) On 11/16/2020 at 4:55 AM, Jusnel said: Yeah. If I wan pressure cooker, I need to get the right size for small family. I saw Toyomi pressure cooker 3L size. Comes with non stick pot. Its abit smaller than those 6L ones. Anyone has feedback on this model? Expand I don't know about the others... But do you really want to spend $90 on a 3L pot ? (looks like 3L?) My 5L midea only $6x from lazada. But then toyomi is quite branded lah...☺ Oh... One more thing... Get one with a programmable timer so you can set your own timing if you don't want to use default. Edited November 16, 2020 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 5:18 AM, Lala81 said: My honest opinion is hard to brown/sear in the pressure cooker. Why. Narrower base. Your meat will crowd at the base of the pot. The electric heating element in these cookers are not high powered. Hence u find it hard to sear. The pot itself doesn't have enough thermal mass to maintain a steady temp. Hence u will find it easier to continue browning in a regular skillet or Dutch oven on the stove U have to sear in batches. And it will take longer than a regular skillet or pan. But for one pot clean up, yeah lah convenient. Ive tried before, i rather spend the time to wash my wok. Expand Me too ...do everything first then last part is put the final result into the pot then sit and wait. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 6:00 AM, Lala81 said: I just use for soups or braising peanuts. I don't even like to use it for stews/卤肉。 cos I still prefer to do that on stovetop. Difficult to flavour during the braising process and the amount of water in a stew or braise in an electrical pressure cooker is very difficult to control. If you have the countertop space. Go ahead. I put my pressure cooker near the wall. So it's actually bit hard for me to cook there. That position is just leave it and come back one hour later. Expand I use my slow cooker for the lor meats or curry. This type of food ... the colour.... Stain the pressure cooker already very hard to clean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 4:55 AM, Jusnel said: Yeah. If I wan pressure cooker, I need to get the right size for small family. I saw Toyomi pressure cooker 3L size. Comes with non stick pot. Its abit smaller than those 6L ones. Anyone has feedback on this model? Expand This brand should be ok, I have their many wall fans. Just make sure you open the cover and see a silicone seal. If it's a rubber seal, forget it. Although I think most electric pressure cooker has a silicone seal. I have one simple pressure cooker for stove but the rubber seal will spoil after one year and then need to replace. Now I stop using this and use the electric one only. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 (edited) On 11/16/2020 at 6:22 AM, Ysc3 said: I use my slow cooker for the lor meats or curry. This type of food ... the colour.... Stain the pressure cooker already very hard to clean. Expand i dont have so much countertop space. I been wanting to buy a bigger rice cooker (instead of my 3 cup rice cooker). But really no space to put. Especially since i have a pressure cooker. My slow cooker is in a box in the cupboard. I changed the opening of my kitchen when i got my BTO. And i put a built in convection oven on countertop level, cos i didn't want it below where my kids may go touch the oven. I have to say either or both a slow cooker/pressure cooker is a good thing to have. Or those thermal insulated containers to continue slow heating soup types are all useful stuff to have if u like to drink soup. Slow or the thermal insulator type if u have time. Pressure if u don't. Usually nowadays if i have about 2 hrs time, i pressure cook the bones/meat/scallops or oysters with whatever herbs/mushrooms for 40mins. Then i will remove some soup out, then add the vegetables (dong gua, raddish/carrot whatever) in and pressure cook for another 20-30mins depending on how nuah u want your veggies. Alternatively u can throw everything in for 30-40mins if u are in a rush. It's decent results for same amount of time. That's how i maximise the soup amount. Cos the veggies take up a lot of volume. especially raddish/dong gua. Edited November 16, 2020 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 9:06 AM, Lala81 said: I have to say either or both a slow cooker/pressure cooker is a good thing to have. Or those thermal insulated containers to continue slow heating soup types are all useful stuff to have if u like to drink soup. Slow or the thermal insulator type if u have time. Pressure if u don't. Expand I also have two of these insulated pots... One big and one small. Big one I put at my mother's place. Small one at my own place. Frankly, i don't find them useful. My wife asked me to buy... Say she went to cook soup for herself and my son.... But end up the thing is in its box on the shelf after using twice. Moral of my story - cannot believe what my wife say. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear November 16, 2020 Author Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 9:34 AM, Ysc3 said: I also have two of these insulated pots... One big and one small. Big one I put at my mother's place. Small one at my own place. Frankly, i don't find them useful. My wife asked me to buy... Say she went to cook soup for herself and my son.... But end up the thing is in its box on the shelf after using twice. Moral of my story - cannot believe what my wife say. Expand Cannot believe what a woman say. Something for men to learn.... LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 16, 2020 Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 9:34 AM, Ysc3 said: I also have two of these insulated pots... One big and one small. Big one I put at my mother's place. Small one at my own place. Frankly, i don't find them useful. My wife asked me to buy... Say she went to cook soup for herself and my son.... But end up the thing is in its box on the shelf after using twice. Moral of my story - cannot believe what my wife say. Expand I'd rather have a slow cooker or pressure cooker. But my MIL uses her one extensively. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear November 16, 2020 Author Share November 16, 2020 On 11/16/2020 at 5:31 AM, Lala81 said: 3L is... Tiny.... It's only suitable for doing stewing or braising. The measurements are for the capacity of pot but u can only fill it up to 65-70%. This is 3L of water (measured) in my supposedly 5-6L (can't remember but it should be rated at 6L). Look at the max level. If u are cooking with chicken or pork bones/排骨 with some veggies (carrot or Raddish or what), u wont even get to put 2-2.5L of water inside. 2.5L is the max usable capacity of the pot beside it. It's probably rated at a 3L pot. If u are doing soup it's not that much. 4 adults drink finish Liao. Plus some leftover at most. Unless u are a couple or only have one kid. Sure. But if u have something liddat. Just use your multi function rice cooker lor Expand On 11/15/2020 at 3:08 PM, Ysc3 said: i got both .... first one is the Joyoung MF rice cooker. Then later i got the Midea electric pressure cooker. the rice cooker is smaller (1.8L) so i use it to cook rice only. the pressure cooker is a 5L unit .... which now i kinda regret as too big for a small family. if you want more functions, the go for the pressure cooker - but get the size that will suffice for your family. I am considering getting a smaller 2.5L pressure cooker so more convenient to use. Expand Yeah its probably just nice for small family with a kid. V tempted to get this. Cannot find other brands with similar size. I also got a small kitchen. Not much table top space. Its either a multi functional rice cooker or pressure cooker. I saw this multi functional rice cooker, Philips, on sale. Any one got feedback on this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic November 17, 2020 Share November 17, 2020 I have a Philips multicooker(pressure) , no regrets , very useful. i also have a Philips XXL airfryer, mine is the non premium model happy with it too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 17, 2020 Share November 17, 2020 For mung bean soup, pressure cooker is very useful .Now I cut down the time to cook green and red bean soup. Especially the red bean soup, you know how hard to cook this till it soft. I don't even bother to soak over night. Usually after my run, just put the beans into the pot with water. Set the pressure time to 20 to 30 minute minutes. After shower and rest abit, it's ready to drink. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...