Singapore to import electricity from Malaysia under two-year trial

Ysc3

51 minutes ago, Kyrios said:

Is that treason? [laugh]

Selling away national assets and sensitive ones too..to a foreign power that has been on the brink of aggression the last few years towards smaller nations..

In UK and other countries, this type of sales would need to be debated properly in parliament....unfortunately over here it is just 一只手把天遮住...

Power plants in addition to Chartered Semicon, NOL, SPC etc are past examples of national strategic assets being sold off. National assets are sold off as there is a belief that privatising will bring about higher levels of cost efficiencies and competitiveness.

In a way, the above isn't wrong but I believe a small country like SG should reserve some of it under our own direct control. My own observations are that the decision makers governing this country never learn until things happened. Delisting SMRT and taking it under the govt's wing again is another example that privatising can go wrong if mismanaged.

The latest lesson learnt is when we have ST's mask production line located in Taiwan, we all knew what happened when SG is in dire need of masks early this year. Yes, the ownership of the line is still 100% Temasek's but having it in a foreign land on the basis of cost efficiencies at the expense of national strategic interest, has proven to be a folly when the unexpected happens. 

In other words, if you want to chase $$$ all the time, don't expect others to prioritize your needs when the situation really calls for it, because you had traded your own national interests for $$$. 

Edited by Lethalstrike

39 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Power plants in addition to Chartered Semicon, NOL, SPC etc are past examples of national strategic assets being sold off. National assets are sold off as there is a belief that privatising will bring about higher levels of cost efficiencies and competitiveness.

In a way, the above isn't wrong but I believe a small country like SG should reserve some of it under our own direct control. My own observations are that the decision makers governing this country never learn until things happened. Delisting SMRT and taking it under the govt's wing again is another example that privatising can go wrong if mismanaged.

The latest lesson learnt is when we have ST's mask production line located in Taiwan, we all knew what happened when SG is in dire need of masks early this year. Yes, the ownership of the line is still 100% Temasek's but having it in a foreign land on the basis of cost efficiencies at the expense of national strategic interest, has proven to be a folly when the unexpected happens. 

In other words, if you want to chase $$$ all the time, don't expect others to prioritize your needs when the situation really calls for it, because you had traded your own national interests for $$$. 

I was from the electronics sector when I first graduated...some old birds told me our Chartered, Stats ChipPAC etc were world class back then....our Chartered was nearly on par with TSMC in the good old days...today look at where Global Foundry/Chartered is and where TSMC is..and you know the quality of our top policy maker's decisions...

TSMC has become a national pride for Taiwanese and a much fought over asset between the yankees and the tiongs..just imagine the clout Singapore would have enjoyed if we had such a powerful bargaining chip (no pun intended)....

Ok someone is gonna shoot me that Captain Hindsight image..but look...we cannot be selling this selling that for no good reason..back then....the only thing they didn't sell was SPH..cos they didn't want the press to bad mouth them..but look again where are we....with SPH..

Edited by Kyrios

6 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

I've never heard anything related to Creative. 

Lum was jinxed loh. Girly spat. 

The immortals looked down on Sim when he was looking for support... non scholar... no good bloodline... cannot create anything one lah..

When sim made it.. then they come look for him... even tried to compete with him. Just imagine what could have been .. few other Singapore companies came close on the world stage.  

If we buy from MY

Must put this in to cut the network in case MY blackout

we don't want them to trip our system and we black out too.

:grin:

Must put in this giant kill switch.

image.png.3d385c21f6e7571c0bee43cc082e0cd4.png

5 hours ago, Kyrios said:

I was from the electronics sector when I first graduated...some old birds told me our Chartered, Stats ChipPAC etc were world class back then....our Chartered was nearly on par with TSMC in the good old days...today look at where Global Foundry/Chartered is and where TSMC is..and you know the quality of our top policy maker's decisions...

TSMC has become a national pride for Taiwanese and a much fought over asset between the yankees and the tiongs..just imagine the clout Singapore would have enjoyed if we had such a powerful bargaining chip (no pun intended)....

Ok someone is gonna shoot me that Captain Hindsight image..but look...we cannot be selling this selling that for no good reason..back then....the only thing they didn't sell was SPH..cos they didn't want the press to bad mouth them..but look again where are we....with SPH..

From what I've heard, Chartered Semicon was ran to the ground by a bunch of clueless top management who got the top jobs due to cronyism, rather than being engineers who understands semiconductors.

Have to hand it to the Taiwanese for investing in their own talents and not taking the short cut to mass import cheap engineers. AMD and Nvidia are doing well under the leadership of Lisa Su and Jansen Huang respectively, so the Taiwanese do have a certain clout in this realm. It does inspires their own to strike it out and make it big outside of Taiwan. 

SPH is definitely doomed under Ng Yat Chung. After all, he is the ex-general who liquidated NOL which turned profitable again under CMA-CGM. 

7 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

From what I've heard, Chartered Semicon was ran to the ground by a bunch of clueless top management who got the top jobs due to cronyism, rather than being engineers who understands semiconductors.

Have to hand it to the Taiwanese for investing in their own talents and not taking the short cut to mass import cheap engineers. AMD and Nvidia are doing well under the leadership of Lisa Su and Jansen Huang respectively, so the Taiwanese do have a certain clout in this realm. It does inspires their own to strike it out and make it big outside of Taiwan. 

SPH is definitely doomed under Ng Yat Chung. After all, he is the ex-general who liquidated NOL which turned profitable again under CMA-CGM. 

Yes AMD is really wiping the floor with Intel.

11 hours ago, mikk123 said:

HE WILL BE BACK! 

Later said SG profiteering from the electricity after profiteering from the water....... 

Then placed all the solar panels near Pasir Gudang.... 

The heat will be unbearable for those at Punggol Coastal Paradise...... 

Like the refinery that never ceased to light up the North East Sky. 

4 hours ago, Lethalstrike said:

It's Covid fault leh.... Lost of advertising revenue.........

Lost of rental from property arm. 

4 hours ago, Jamesc said:

If we buy from MY

Must put this in to cut the network in case MY blackout

we don't want them to trip our system and we black out too.

Must put in this giant kill switch.

image.png.3d385c21f6e7571c0bee43cc082e0cd4.png

Blackout still ok.... as long as we still have Hyflux power plant.... 

Er wait....standyby power plant. 

Kill switch also important to prevent power surge..... Overload the grid system. 

4 minutes ago, Atonchia said:

It's Covid fault leh.... Lost of advertising revenue.........

Lost of rental from property arm. 

Ng Yat Chung took over as CEO from 2017...3 years before Covid hits.

Since 2017, it has been a downward spiral all the way. 😁

28 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Ng Yat Chung took over as CEO from 2017...3 years before Covid hits.

Since 2017, it has been a downward spiral all the way. 😁

Then must be Donald Trump fault.... 😅😅😅

All his tweets.... 

No one read news anymore

Edited by Atonchia

9 hours ago, Kb27 said:

malaysia electricity tariff is cheap, so we are getting cheaper tariff ?

Errr.. just like car.. they can produce cheap but do we get it cheaper?