Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

These influencers will make their lives happy, dreamy and smiley.. otherwise no one will follow them

Can you live in <500 sq ft? 
Sure, you could even live for a year in a hotel room, but you need to be very judicious with your belongings and also spend a significant amount of time outside.. a big window with some scenery will help, and less attachment to belongings will be helpful..

On 8/13/2024 at 8:54 PM, therock said:

These influencers will make their lives happy, dreamy and smiley.. otherwise no one will follow them

Sure, you could even live for a year in a hotel room, but you need to be very judicious with your belongings and also spend a significant amount of time outside.. a big window with some scenery will help, and less attachment to belongings will be helpful..

living room underfloor storage, bed room underfloor storage, etc = smart living [thumbsup] 

every inch count including putting washer/dryer techno "kong kong kong" free sound music for the person pangsai-ing 

:grin:

I would not judge too quickly on those 500sqft property. They do serve  certain population groups.

I know of a couple, in their late 50s. They stayed in one. Their kids are working overseas.  The property is small but easy to maintain and cozy.  The best thing is that it also discourages hoarding so it was pretty minimalistic and neat.  It may be small, but it is warm.  I like it! 

They also have a 4-rm HDB which was rented out. They could have stayed in the 4-rm and rent out the 500sqft property for even higher rent, but they prefer to stay in the smaller property.

So these small units do serve 3 growing group of demographics.  The ageing ones who doesn't want hassle in maintaining a house , the young couples who don't want kids and the singles. 

Edited by Stary

On 8/15/2024 at 12:22 PM, Stary said:

I would not judge too quickly on those 500sqft property. They do serve  certain population groups.

I know of a couple, in their late 50s. They stayed in one. Their kids are working overseas.  The property is small but easy to maintain and cozy.  The best thing is that it also discourages hoarding so it was pretty minimalistic and neat.  It may be small, but it is warm.  I like it! 

They also have a 4-rm HDB which was rented out. They could have stayed in the 4-rm and rent out the 500sqft property for even higher rent, but they prefer to stay in the smaller property.

So these small units do serve 3 growing group of demographics.  The ageing ones who doesn't want hassle in maintaining a house , the young couples who don't want kids and the singles. 

sure, 300sft to 30,000 sft also will serve some segment. 

Heehee

thats why influencers mostly single and young, until they get old, then oh oh....muayhahhahah

On 8/12/2024 at 12:47 PM, Windwaver said:

Now good leh, buy condo no marry and no need to know your finances :XD:

Later announce break up , headache plenty plenty and finger pointing plenty plenty.. heh heh.....  

To be clear , I dont wish them to break up lor.  

If these folks know what they want, sure

I have bought investment units which are small but the buyers mainly want the address or are foreign renters

For locals understand what compromises are needed and then it’s all good

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/propertyguru-acquisition-eqt-private-capital-asia-4550501

PropertyGuru to be acquired for US$1.1 billion and taken private

SINGAPORE: PropertyGuru has agreed to be acquired by an Asian investment firm, after which its shares will cease trading on the New York Stock Exchange and it will become a private company.

The Singapore-based property technology company said on Friday (Aug 16) that the acquisition by EQT Private Capital Asia will be made in an all-cash transaction that values the company at an equity value of about US$1.1 billion (S$1.5 billion).

When the deal goes through, each ordinary share of the company issued and outstanding immediately before the acquisition will be cancelled and converted automatically into the right to receive a cash amount equal to US$6.70 per share, without interest.

This amount represents a 52 per cent premium to PropertyGuru's closing share price on May 21, the last unaffected trading day before media speculation about a potential transaction, said the company.

It added that the amount also represents a 75 per cent and 86 per cent premium to PropertyGuru's 30-day and 90-day volume-weighted average share price respectively for the period ending May 21.

PropertyGuru's board of directors had unanimously approved and resolved to recommend the approval of the deal by the company's shareholders, it said. 

The company expects the transaction to close in Q4 2024 or Q1 2025, subject to customary closing conditions, including approval by PropertyGuru's shareholders and regulatory approval.

"With EQT's significant experience in the technology, online classifieds and marketplace sectors, we aim to further strengthen PropertyGuru's platform, driving enhanced innovation and deeper engagement with its consumers, customers and stakeholders," said Janice Leow, partner in the EQT Private Capital Asia advisory team and head of EQT Private Capital Southeast Asia.

PropertyGuru's headquarters will remain in Singapore after completion of the deal, said the press release.

First launched in Singapore in 2007 as a digital property marketplace, PropertyGuru has over the years expanded into other markets including Indonesia and Malaysia, as well as other verticals such as home loans. 

It began trading on the New York Stock Exchange on Mar 18, 2022 following a merger with a special purpose acquisition company.

In February 2024, the company laid off 79 workers, citing a "comprehensive review" of operations, said its group CEO and managing director Hari V Krishnan. 

PropertyGuru currently hosts more than 2.8 million real estate listings and serves more than 34 million property seekers every month.

On 8/15/2024 at 3:06 PM, therock said:

If these folks know what they want, sure

I have bought investment units which are small but the buyers mainly want the address or are foreign renters

For locals understand what compromises are needed and then it’s all good

2-59-e1476366245665.jpg

Spate of housebreaking cases near Bt Timah linked to foreign syndicates, police looking for 14 Chinese nationals

The recent spate of housebreaking cases in private residential estates appears to be linked to foreign syndicates involving Chinese nationals, the police said on Saturday (Aug 17). Three people have been arrested and charged in court so far, while the police are trying to locate another 14 who are currently out of Singapore.

“The police are engaging the assistance of the Chinese authorities to obtain more information and locate them. Any members of the public with information on them are encouraged to provide this information to the police,” they said.

Based on preliminary investigations, the syndicates are believed to operate in small groups and would break into residences by scaling the perimeter walls or fences. The suspects are believed to be transient travellers who had entered Singapore as Social Visit Pass holders, usually one to two days before committing the offence, said the police. After committing the crime, they would leave the scene and attempt to depart the country as soon as possible to avoid detection. Most of their targets were observed to be near park connectors or forested areas, which provided cover for their activities. The loot was also sometimes concealed in the nearby forested areas and later retrieved by accomplices.

Before the recent cases, housebreaking crimes were on a downward trend, the police said. Fifty-nine cases were reported in the first half of this year, compared with 70 in the same period last year. However, 10 cases were reported between Jun 1 and Aug 4 this year, most of them taking place in private residential estates around the Rail Corridor and Bukit Timah Road. The stolen items in the 10 cases were valued at S$3.85 million (US$2.92 million), of which about S$1.36 million worth of items have been recovered. Three suspects have since been arrested and charged in court. Long Zhihua, 38, and Luo Changchang, 43, were charged on Jun 28, while Wu Jinxing was charged on Jul 29.

20240816-housebreaking-houses.jpeg?itok=

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/housebreaking-bukit-timah-rail-corridor-police-looking-14-chinese-nationals-4550356

On 8/18/2024 at 12:18 PM, Didu said:

Drivers here get charged with higher road tax for choosing to buy EV. I won't be surprised.  😁

Because our ICE car Road tax outdated 

Ya, true. I notice that most of the locals staying in the 1-bedroom units in the development I'm staying, does do tend to be retiree couples or singles. 

It's also true that maintaining a large house is no joke when one is getting old. My parents are also looking to right-size their house now mainly due to maintenance issues and unnecessary space.

On 8/19/2024 at 12:49 PM, Rickster said:

Ya, true. I notice that most of the locals staying in the 1-bedroom units in the development I'm staying, does do tend to be retiree couples or singles. 

It's also true that maintaining a large house is no joke when one is getting old. My parents are also looking to right-size their house now mainly due to maintenance issues and unnecessary space.

When getting old still can stay in big house if you have helper to do the cleaning for you.

On 8/19/2024 at 2:19 PM, 13177 said:

When getting old still can stay in big house if you have helper to do the cleaning for you.

Bro....sometimes I feel that hiring & managing a helper and complying with the regulatory requirements, is a bigger chore for an old person than maintaining the house.

Managing and be responsible for another human is not an easy thing.

Edited by Stary

On 8/19/2024 at 2:19 PM, 13177 said:

Sell the big house and move to Service Apartment.