Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

On 5/30/2024 at 10:30 AM, 13177 said:

You mean those who take up reno loans are fools? 😅 If spending money they don't have yet also same like taking car loan and house loan le. 😂

the money not even in wallet and already want to spend it.  furthermore whether the money will arrive in future is also a question 🤣

On 5/30/2024 at 10:30 AM, 13177 said:

You mean those who take up reno loans are fools? 😅 If spending money they don't have yet also same like taking car loan and house loan le. 😂

Oh dear, do you honestly think that these three types of loan are the same thing?

It’s not the act of borrowing money, but what one is borrowing it for…🤦‍♂️

taking a renovation loan is somewhat akin to taking a loan to modify a car.

you spend on future income to “beautify” something which already does what it should do perfectly.

and when and if you should sell it, its hard to say if what was done is going to hold half its value if at all.  

Thats just life and thats how some people can never ever get out of the “trap”  

On 5/30/2024 at 1:15 PM, Throttle2 said:

Thats just life and thats how some people can never ever get out of the “trap”  

just look at youtube video especially those local influencer ... 

all having house intro ... reno sibei sexy ... smart home ... with all the bells and whistles ... song song gao jurong ... 

reno cost no $100K+++ no talk 

showing off new couple got BTO / resale ... throw $100K-$150K on reno ... sibei song ah!

The Desmond chap thinks he is doing buyers a favor with all these changes.
Well, to some buyers and for now maybe. But my feeling is thar repercussions are going to be much worse

Like things are not already complicated enough.

Making it simpler should b the way! 

why do i care, never bought nor own hdb in my life anyway.  

On 5/30/2024 at 1:27 PM, Throttle2 said:

The Desmond chap thinks he is doing buyers a favor with all these changes.
Well, to some buyers and for now maybe. But my feeling is thar repercussions are going to be much worse

Like things are not already complicated enough.

Making it simpler should b the way! 

why do i care, never bought nor own hdb in my life anyway.  

yalor ... why can't just give a flat with wall, room and kitchen ...

so hard to deliver meh? ... haiz ....

On 5/30/2024 at 1:25 PM, Wt_know said:

all having house intro ... reno sibei sexy ... smart home ... with all the bells and whistles ... song song gao jurong ... 

i wonder if a $10K income family spend $100K-$150K reno on a BTO / resale flat [sly] 

Amazingly similar to the kind of people that mod their cars using a credit card loan….. 

On 5/30/2024 at 1:29 PM, Wt_know said:

Maybe they wanna start customising CPF too.  
allow contribution rates to be adjusted according to stage of career or income or networth, blah blah blah….

On 5/30/2024 at 1:25 PM, Wt_know said:

showing off new couple got BTO / resale ... throw $100K-$150K on reno ... sibei song ah!

100k enough to do shui shui? Where to find huh? 

On 5/30/2024 at 1:29 PM, Wt_know said:

The way he wrote sounds like very sore.

This type of HDB only suitable for certain niche group.

When i bought mine 20 years ago, i teared down store room, heck half of kitchen wall, glass-walled half room and merged 2 rooms into 1.

No forgetting i also change entrance for common toilet.

Edited by inlinesix

if Desmond kor expect every BTO owner gonna spend $80K-$100K on reno

is BTO price gonna be reduce by at least $50K [sly] 

almost like giving a bare-bones pigeon hole leh ... [laugh] 

On 5/30/2024 at 3:18 PM, Wt_know said:

if Desmond kor expect every BTO owner gonna spend $80K-$100K on reno

is BTO price gonna be reduce by at least $50K [sly] 

almost like giving a bare-bones pigeon hole leh ... [laugh] 

4rm No 500k No talk

😂

On 5/30/2024 at 3:28 PM, Calinlin said:

This one sure got bug one. This gen of government do things, can guess. I guess no room, but still got columns and beams every where...means just no true open space.

If designed from scratch can have no beams/pillars.  Not sure, never going to buy in my case.

On 5/30/2024 at 4:19 PM, metalstream said:

SingPost can run pawnshop at post offices.

NTUC can run casket services.

Now HDB is on the way to take a slice of www.propertyguru.com 's pie.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/hdb-launches-resale-flat-listing-service-on-flat-portal

Saw quite a number of them listed inside for more than a million with one put up  for around 1.6mil, price like not regulated lei🤣

Edited by Ginyu

On 5/30/2024 at 3:22 PM, Calinlin said:

BTO to MOP is 9-10 very long years that you lock yourself into. During that time, you can do nothing. The BTO gain is peanuts vs. missed opportunity. The missed opportunity has a multiplier effect over the years...net, basically just need to work 4-5 years more because of one stupid BTO mistake.

Some preach prudency…..wait kena retrench how?

HDB loan wun wun jiak beehon…can miss a few installments.

On 5/30/2024 at 1:51 PM, inlinesix said:

The way he wrote sounds like very sore.

This type of HDB only suitable for certain niche group.

When i bought mine 20 years ago, i teared down store room, heck half of kitchen wall, glass-walled half room and merged 2 rooms into 1.

No forgetting i also change entrance for common toilet.

Quite extensive work….why not look for other types of layout back then?

On 5/30/2024 at 5:12 PM, ccc888 said:

Quite extensive work….why not look for other types of layout back then?

Cheapest 5 room HDB during MBT sales.

On 5/30/2024 at 11:33 AM, Ginyu said:

the money not even in wallet and already want to spend it.  furthermore whether the money will arrive in future is also a question 🤣

Sure arrived one....inheritance from boomer or Gen X parents lor....

Even the lower income parents have at least a 3-rm HDB which  average around 250k-300k at the moment.  Not to mention a vast majority of parents who owns 4-rm or 5-rms which goes into at least half a million in resale. Those are decent amount of inheritance for their children.

That's why many young folks now dare to stretch everything to the max from reno to house loan  because there is always bailout available.

As more and more parents age (ageing population) , I think we will see more and more young to middle-age folks taking  higher financial risk.

Edited by Stary