Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

This is a good idea..

The new flats are pre-fab and you can't just hack walls, so this allows them to add walls when they wish - subject to rules I'm sure

And the actual outer walls will be stronger and potentially more sound proof.. not a bad thing 

On 5/27/2024 at 10:09 AM, 13177 said:

I guess doesn't matter even it is a 99 year lease. Afterall it is a private can liao. Face value is important than leasehold.

When driving your A-class/1-series/A1 back home to your private 99 year leasehold condo nestled among HDB flats, can hold your nose a little bit higher is it?

:we-all-gonna-die:

Edited by macrosszero

On 5/27/2024 at 4:14 PM, 13177 said:

HDB know that many owners like to tear down their wall or take out simi sai stuff, so last time they give owners option to opt out flooring and kitchen wall, and now they also give option to opt out bedroom wall. Maybe next time they just give you a bare unit without anything, even main door or toilet bowl etc also don't have. Lol.

That's China style. Right we are copying them! 

On 5/27/2024 at 2:03 PM, metalstream said:

But what options does the seller have in the vicinity? Probably will need to move to the suburbs like Woodlands or Jurong West, in order to enjoy the cash from the proceeds. 

Old liao apply 2rm flexi or 3rm bto lor. Top up max cpflife and spend the rest

Or some say go JBee lolol

Better than those own 3rm flat (being prudent lol)…..no downgrade options available…only can lease buyback for little cash sad….

On 5/27/2024 at 8:14 PM, macrosszero said:

When driving your A-class/1-series/A1 back home to your private 99 year leasehold condo nestled among HDB flats, can hold your nose a little bit higher is it?

Some say good exit strategy leh…..sell to hdb upgraders in future whahaha

On 5/27/2024 at 8:14 PM, macrosszero said:

This is why many people willing to drive an entry level conti luxury car even the car is bare. Brand has more face value than spotted driving a high spec jap/korea car. Lol.

On 5/28/2024 at 2:08 PM, 13177 said:

This is why many people willing to drive an entry level conti luxury car even the car is bare. Brand has more face value than spotted driving a high spec jap/korea car. Lol.

Can only say, live with within your means, don’t 

打肿脸皮充胖子

For the non-Chinese, don’t slap your face till it swells, to call yourself well fed

You may feel shiok when you’re pulling up in your not-your car (cos it belongs to the bank) conti car to your (not-your condominium cos it also belongs to the banks too) - I hope you have enough money left over for retirement after you pay off all your interest……

On 5/29/2024 at 12:01 AM, metalstream said:

1.5L 3 cylinder engine at $17,500 annual dep never mind. It's a BMW 😁

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1301291&DL=1000&utm_content=SLeligible

Drive a 1.5L E180 is no face, must change E180 badge to E200 so I can hold my nose high high up.

https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=1290355&DL=1240&utm_content=SLeligible

image.thumb.png.9c5052150089643f8bc3d53376e32290.png

common thing to do.   Each badge can add $25k value to the car leh.  The Sports or Racing or Turbo badge can add 25bhp to the car leh. 
most value for money mod ever.  

On 5/29/2024 at 1:00 AM, Throttle2 said:

common thing to do.   Each badge can add $25k value to the car leh.  The Sports or Racing or Turbo badge can add 25bhp to the car leh. 
most value for money mod ever.  

Like last time people buy Toyota harrier but change the badge to Lexus RX?’ 😅

Charm liao!!....liddat say who still want to buy?? Resale value is one of the most important criteria woh....:a-no:

Open-concept HDB White Flats offer more 'free play' but resale values could be affected, designers say. The couple plan to sell the flat once the minimum occupancy period is over. 

"It takes a very specific demographic to be interested in this layout," she said, referring to dual-income-no-kids couples.

"But nowadays more and more (people are) choosing to be child-free, so I hope in five years we can find a couple who appreciates this. Alternatively, we might have to reinstate the walls when we sell," she continued. 

For families who later decide they want to create a new room in their home, Mr Ho of Dots 'n' Tots said the costs could reach as high as S$10,000.

"They need to (pay for) costs of a partition wall in order to create a room (and) new door and doorframe costs," he said. Air-conditioning and lighting would also cost extra. 

Adding a room costs more than removing one, he added.

"They must plan and think carefully when they are doing the first renovation (for an open-concept layout). They need to plan more flexibility for the future," he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/hdb-white-flats-resale-interior-designers-4368151

Many new BTO buyers who opt for this aren't so concerned... they will tear out the existing fittings, tear walls etc anyway.. 

It isn't for the chaps who want the bog standard fittings and configuration. 

On 5/29/2024 at 12:54 PM, therock said:

Many new BTO buyers who opt for this aren't so concerned... they will tear out the existing fittings, tear walls etc anyway.. 

It isn't for the chaps who want the bog standard fittings and configuration. 

some pay for reno which cost almost as much as the flat itself..... in the end... money is theirs... to each his own.

just hope more loan loan loan and when market turns... we see lots begging for mercy.... 😁

On 5/29/2024 at 12:47 PM, Didu said:

Charm liao!!....liddat say who still want to buy?? Resale value is one of the most important criteria woh....:a-no:

Open-concept HDB White Flats offer more 'free play' but resale values could be affected, designers say. The couple plan to sell the flat once the minimum occupancy period is over. 

"It takes a very specific demographic to be interested in this layout," she said, referring to dual-income-no-kids couples.

"But nowadays more and more (people are) choosing to be child-free, so I hope in five years we can find a couple who appreciates this. Alternatively, we might have to reinstate the walls when we sell," she continued. 

For families who later decide they want to create a new room in their home, Mr Ho of Dots 'n' Tots said the costs could reach as high as S$10,000.

"They need to (pay for) costs of a partition wall in order to create a room (and) new door and doorframe costs," he said. Air-conditioning and lighting would also cost extra. 

"They must plan and think carefully when they are doing the first renovation (for an open-concept layout). They need to plan more flexibility for the future," he said.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/hdb-white-flats-resale-interior-designers-4368151

Eh what designers talking. Just put up the bloody partition wall like offices. Pretty sound proof and easy to run electrical. Don’t remember that it is so ex. Office walls can also last. 
if much cheaper without walls, I’ll take too. 
if all else the same I’ll take a car who’s Colour I don’t like and save the $10k! 

It’s different 

be grateful for the lowered costs mass production offers

when a designer is involved, he needs to make and without the economy of scale 

add permits and higher material costs it’s not expensive to charge 10k

On 5/29/2024 at 11:47 AM, Didu said:

True. Plan by drawing dotted lines for the future walls and make sure electrical works like lighting points, power points and even AC are pre-laid. 

Next time just need to add gypsum board walls and doors! Cheap cheap.

On 5/30/2024 at 9:55 AM, metalstream said:

Don't worry. HDB loan is safe. HDB will give you time to pay back, unlike commercial banks. 😁

……but renovation loans are not! And there are fools who take them up! It’s not even about spending their own money, it’s spending money they don’t have yet!

Edited by macrosszero

On 5/30/2024 at 10:09 AM, macrosszero said:

……but renovation loans are not! And there are fools who take them up! It’s not even about spending their own money, it’s spending money they don’t have yet!

You mean those who take up reno loans are fools? 😅 If spending money they don't have yet also same like taking car loan and house loan le. 😂