Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

On 2/9/2025 at 3:05 PM, therock said:

Bro if the market drops that much, your kids might be cooking cuttlefish… 

many hope prices plummet but only those with truly deep pockets will benefit and whilst many may feel they are doing ok, let’s hope they are 🙏 

Work for govt. 😆

On 2/9/2025 at 2:34 PM, Mkl22 said:

Never say never. Everything worldwide is due for a correction. 
I have no timeline when this can happen but surely will have a reset. I only hope for 20-30% but who knows. 

Oh yes you may be right, no one has a crystal ball and I do feel that prices are quite high and some correction will be healthy.

I'm just saying that 20-30% is very significant and such a dip would likely come with significant ill effects to those without deep pockets and rightly pointed out by therock usually the rich will pick them some discounted landed or good properties instead. This has happened many times before and I rather wish that everyone's incomes huat then for prices to crash.

You can wait for the chicken rice stall owner to drop price from $5 to $4 (20%) or $3.50 (30%) or you can also focus on earning thousands more when income rise and afford the chicken rice anyway instead of waiting. What's better?

On 2/9/2025 at 12:59 PM, Volvobrick said:

You forgot the biggest factor - open leg policy. Anytime and up the deman by allowing more immigrants/employment pass. 

Still a lot of people wanting to come here. More than what we can accommodate. 

Our TFR is continuously going down.

Without immigration, how to increase younger population?

On 2/9/2025 at 2:34 PM, Mkl22 said:

Never say never. Everything worldwide is due for a correction. 
I have no timeline when this can happen but surely will have a reset. I only hope for 20-30% but who knows. 

Singapore is too safe for its own ppl.

Just remove some Liang teh and we will have foreign fund soaking up excess supplies 

On 2/9/2025 at 5:26 PM, Throttle2 said:

Property market can drop 20-30% lah.  No impact lah.  Everyone got pass TDSR one right? 😎😎😎

So many online advisors tell us to take 30 loans and multiple properties… 

all good when times are fine otherwise we will be in trouble 

On 2/9/2025 at 8:03 PM, therock said:

online advisors advise ... singapore property is impossible to crash simply because

1. land scarce ... low supply + high demand (anytime can open floodgate, relax rules, remove ABSD/taxes, etc)

2. inflation ... land + build + material cost can only goes up

3. liquidity ... plenty of liquidity with cash + cpf ... and property investing (flipping) is #1 investment on top of everyone's mind

property price correction yes ... 2-3% here and there ... 20-30% crash ... hell no 

and correction = buying opportunity ... huat until siao ah!

On 2/9/2025 at 8:03 PM, therock said:

Wahahaha, they just want to make money off people lah…..act guru, phew!

On 2/9/2025 at 8:18 PM, Wt_know said:

online advisors advise ... singapore property is impossible to crash simply because

1. land scarce ... low supply + high demand (anytime can open floodgate, relax rules, remove ABSD/taxes, etc)

2. inflation ... land + build + material cost can only goes up

3. liquidity ... plenty of liquidity with cash + cpf ... and property investing (flipping) is #1 investment on top of everyone's mind

property price correction yes ... 2-3% here and there ... 20-30% crash ... hell no 

and correction = buying opportunity ... huat until siao ah!

nothing is quite impossible, if it happens when it happens, thats all

On 2/9/2025 at 1:27 PM, Invigorated said:

Our ppty prices here are based on real demand and higher incomes and I don't think we can discuss them in the same vein. Many have waited for years and some maybe even lost a decade waiting for a property crash.

And with what TDSR, LTV, absd and what not, so many criteria to fulfill before a loan can be approved, there are just too many tools for govt to loosen to manage any downturn. 

People who are not on board will shout ex. People who are on board will shout still cheap. People who  shouted ex but managed to get on board eventually will suddenly say cheap too. 😄😁😄😁

HKers also thought their property is bullet proof but look at current. Think is going down for next 2 years but once it recovers, they will be in a much better position than us. 

9 out of 10 times , it isnt about whether it will happen or not but rather when it happens or not, what is your position

😅😂😅😂😅😂😂

😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎😎

best explanation ever !

ah gong don't know meh, ah gong is well aware

but there is a chinese saying 骑虎难下 

everyone expect to make $250K, $500K a pop from selling BTO ... [sly] 

On 2/10/2025 at 8:17 AM, Wt_know said:

best explanation ever !

ah gong don't know meh, ah gong is well aware

but there is a chinese saying 骑虎难下