Singapore Property Scene Discussion

therock

On 8/18/2024 at 12:18 PM, Didu said:

Drivers here get charged with higher road tax for choosing to buy EV. I won't be surprised.  😁

Because our ICE car Road tax outdated 

On 8/15/2024 at 12:22 PM, Stary said:

I would not judge too quickly on those 500sqft property. They do serve  certain population groups.

I know of a couple, in their late 50s. They stayed in one. Their kids are working overseas.  The property is small but easy to maintain and cozy.  The best thing is that it also discourages hoarding so it was pretty minimalistic and neat.  It may be small, but it is warm.  I like it! 

They also have a 4-rm HDB which was rented out. They could have stayed in the 4-rm and rent out the 500sqft property for even higher rent, but they prefer to stay in the smaller property.

So these small units do serve 3 growing group of demographics.  The ageing ones who doesn't want hassle in maintaining a house , the young couples who don't want kids and the singles. 

Ya, true. I notice that most of the locals staying in the 1-bedroom units in the development I'm staying, does do tend to be retiree couples or singles. 

It's also true that maintaining a large house is no joke when one is getting old. My parents are also looking to right-size their house now mainly due to maintenance issues and unnecessary space.

On 8/19/2024 at 12:49 PM, Rickster said:

Ya, true. I notice that most of the locals staying in the 1-bedroom units in the development I'm staying, does do tend to be retiree couples or singles. 

It's also true that maintaining a large house is no joke when one is getting old. My parents are also looking to right-size their house now mainly due to maintenance issues and unnecessary space.

When getting old still can stay in big house if you have helper to do the cleaning for you.

On 8/19/2024 at 2:19 PM, 13177 said:

When getting old still can stay in big house if you have helper to do the cleaning for you.

Bro....sometimes I feel that hiring & managing a helper and complying with the regulatory requirements, is a bigger chore for an old person than maintaining the house.

Managing and be responsible for another human is not an easy thing.

Edited by Stary

Sell the big house and move to Service Apartment.

On 8/19/2024 at 3:23 PM, inlinesix said:

Sell the big house and move to Service Apartment.

Some old people still prefer to stay put in their current big house le, then have to solve the cleaning liao. Lol.

On 8/19/2024 at 3:39 PM, 13177 said:

Some old people still prefer to stay put in their current big house le, then have to solve the cleaning liao. Lol.

If cleaning, can always hire part-time cleaner.

But still have to manage repairs and major reno. My folks just a did a Reno. It’s was very stressful to them. Most elderly folk don’t like to do Reno at their age or are stressed by it. 

On 8/19/2024 at 3:50 PM, Mkl22 said:

But still have to manage repairs and major reno. My folks just a did a Reno. It’s was very stressful to them. Most elderly folk don’t like to do Reno at their age or are stressed by it. 

This is why you see some houses in a very original and poor condition, cause old folks staying in the house don't want to do any repairs and reno. This happens to HDB and private. Reno indeed stressful even the person not an old folk, cause you need to do some packing and sorting before reno can starts. Then after reno, still need to clean up and unpack, quite tiring. Lol.

Edited by 13177

On 8/19/2024 at 3:39 PM, 13177 said:

Some of my relatives use the robo-cleaner for vacuum and mopping floor.  The device seems smart and the floor seems pretty clean. They program the device to clean daily.....

😄

Edited by Stary

On 8/19/2024 at 4:02 PM, Stary said:

Some of my relatives use the robo-cleaner for vacuum and mopping floor.  The device seems smart and the floor seems pretty clean. They program the device to clean daily.....

😄

But still have to clean the robo-cleaner. 🤪

On 8/19/2024 at 4:10 PM, Fcw75 said:

Yes, I think once a week they need to clear the dirty water tank and vacuum bags, plus clean the device a bit.

But I guess it is a whole lot less work comparing to mopping the floor everyday....😁

On 8/19/2024 at 4:12 PM, Stary said:

Yes, I think once a week they need to clear the dirty water tank and vacuum bags, plus clean the device a bit.

But I guess it is a whole lot less work comparing to mopping the floor everyday....😁

I don't think many people would mop the floor everyday la. So even without using such robot-cleaner, if got mop floor once a week also ok. But using such robot to clean the house, even though not say very clean but better than never clean at all lo.

... and burn your son's weekends (and some weekdays evenings) to help with the endless repairs and general maintenance of the house 😆

On 8/19/2024 at 6:02 PM, Rickster said:

... and burn your son's weekends (and some weekdays evenings) to help with the endless repairs and general maintenance of the house 😆

You burnt many weekends liao ah? 
ask them to move la.

i told my parents either sell the damn house or fix it. Old man kiam kanna and don’t want to fix. Mum buay tahan the state of things. Funnily I heard this same situation from other families too. 
maybe when some of us are older we will reach that state. Everything just leave it…… 

Edited by Mkl22

On 8/19/2024 at 6:47 PM, Mkl22 said:

You burnt many weekends liao ah? 
ask them to move la.

i told my parents either sell the damn house or fix it. Old man kiam kanna and don’t want to fix. Mum buay tahan the state of things. Funnily I heard this same situation from other families too. 
maybe when some of us are older we will reach that state. Everything just leave it…… 

It's normal. Plenty of very rundown properties occupied by older folks, especially landed even more obvious with peeled paint and wall full of algae. Plus somethings piles of old stuff.

On 8/19/2024 at 4:10 PM, Fcw75 said:

Yeah my Dyson vacuum died cos my helper didn’t know how to clean it