BanCoe Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 Wonder people still fly SIA ...... given the choice (destination dependent) I'd rather take Emirates/ Qatar/ Turkish ........ Food and service is a let down of late (of course $$ is also much lower in others.... SQ is playing surge pricing rip off ) ..... though SQ still stands well against regional carriers .... Oh Well ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 (edited) On 5/18/2023 at 9:45 AM, BanCoe said: Wonder people still fly SIA ...... given the choice (destination dependent) I'd rather take Emirates/ Qatar/ Turkish ........ Food and service is a let down of late (of course $$ is also much lower in others.... SQ is playing surge pricing rip off ) ..... though SQ still stands well against regional carriers .... Oh Well My wife had fly Qatar in Mar to Europe and my brother Emirate to US pre-covid, both review are not good leh. Daughter fly to NYC in 2019 on Emirate also comments not good. Last year I was also checking both airline to NYC and price is not much cheaper than SQ. Edited May 18, 2023 by Tohto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 Bank COE doing well can think about flying SQ. I can only afford to book Skoot for MIL. On 5/18/2023 at 9:45 AM, BanCoe said: Wonder people still fly SIA ...... given the choice (destination dependent) I'd rather take Emirates/ Qatar/ Turkish ........ Food and service is a let down of late (of course $$ is also much lower in others.... SQ is playing surge pricing rip off ) ..... though SQ still stands well against regional carriers .... Oh Well 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 9:33 AM, Didu said: Lost so much blood during Pandemic. IT'S CLAWBACK TIME!! Singapore Airlines Reports its Highest Profit in 76 Years: 5 Highlights from the Airline’s Full Year Results Revenue more than doubled year on year from S$8.2 billion to S$15.1 billion as bookings soared and both SIA and Scoot (its low-cost carrier division) sharply ramped up flights. The airline turned in an operating profit of S$2.7 billion, a record for the group, reversing the S$610 million operating loss in FY2022. Net profit came in at S$2.16 billion, the highest level achieved by the group since its inception 76 years ago in 1947. SIA also generated a strong positive free cash flow of S$7.4 billion for FY2023, a turnaround from the negative free cash flow of S$81.6 million in the prior year. The passenger load factor for FY2023 surged by 55.3 percentage points to a record-high of 85.4%, with group passenger capacity hitting 79% of pre-COVID levels for March 2023. Combined, SIA and Scoot ferried 26.5 million passengers, a more than six-fold year-on-year increase. With China’s reopening earlier this year, SIA plans to expand its services in China and broaden its network. SIA will resume Scoot’s flights to destinations in China such as Nanying and Shenyang this month, as well as Jinan and Nanchang in July and August 2023, respectively. The group will also add more flights to Barcelona, Frankfurt, and Rome to meet higher demand during the summer peak season. Group capacity is projected to hit around 83% of pre-pandemic levels by the first half of fiscal 2024. https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/singapore-airlines-reports-highest-profit-233000655.html It is also REWARD TIME!! https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/transport-logistics/sia-pay-bonus-about-8-months-rank-and-file-staff-following 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 I really like Turkish food. Anyone know if Turkish airlines serve doner kebabs or pide or at least kunefe for desert? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 9:33 AM, Didu said: Lost so much blood during Pandemic. IT'S CLAWBACK TIME!! Singapore Airlines Reports its Highest Profit in 76 Years: 5 Highlights from the Airline’s Full Year Results Revenue more than doubled year on year from S$8.2 billion to S$15.1 billion as bookings soared and both SIA and Scoot (its low-cost carrier division) sharply ramped up flights. The airline turned in an operating profit of S$2.7 billion, a record for the group, reversing the S$610 million operating loss in FY2022. Net profit came in at S$2.16 billion, the highest level achieved by the group since its inception 76 years ago in 1947. SIA also generated a strong positive free cash flow of S$7.4 billion for FY2023, a turnaround from the negative free cash flow of S$81.6 million in the prior year. The passenger load factor for FY2023 surged by 55.3 percentage points to a record-high of 85.4%, with group passenger capacity hitting 79% of pre-COVID levels for March 2023. Combined, SIA and Scoot ferried 26.5 million passengers, a more than six-fold year-on-year increase. With China’s reopening earlier this year, SIA plans to expand its services in China and broaden its network. SIA will resume Scoot’s flights to destinations in China such as Nanying and Shenyang this month, as well as Jinan and Nanchang in July and August 2023, respectively. The group will also add more flights to Barcelona, Frankfurt, and Rome to meet higher demand during the summer peak season. Group capacity is projected to hit around 83% of pre-pandemic levels by the first half of fiscal 2024. https://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/singapore-airlines-reports-highest-profit-233000655.html There are about $750m of hedging gain for 2023. That's about $450m increase in hedging gain from previous FY. After removing the effect of hedging gain, Operating Profit increased $2.9bn is very impressive. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 10:16 AM, Jamesc said: I really like Turkish food. Anyone know if Turkish airlines serve doner kebabs or pide or at least kunefe for desert? my parents took turkish airline. While boarding to come back on the return flight. They said the flight attendant scolded the passenger until the passenger diam diam. Don't see that every day... 1 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 10:35 AM, Lala81 said: my parents took turkish airline. While boarding to come back on the return flight. They said the flight attendant scolded the passenger until the passenger diam diam. Don't see that every day... Good I book my MIL so she will behave herself. I like this kind of airlines. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 10:02 AM, Jamesc said: Bank COE doing well can think about flying SQ. I can only afford to book Skoot for MIL. Should try Air Asia for your MIL........ Now everyone can fly 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 10:35 AM, Lala81 said: my parents took turkish airline. While boarding to come back on the return flight. They said the flight attendant scolded the passenger until the passenger diam diam. Don't see that every day... If chio bu flight attendant behaves aggressively, I may just submit myself to her will. 😁 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 9:45 AM, BanCoe said: Wonder people still fly SIA ...... given the choice (destination dependent) I'd rather take Emirates/ Qatar/ Turkish ........ Food and service is a let down of late (of course $$ is also much lower in others.... SQ is playing surge pricing rip off ) ..... though SQ still stands well against regional carriers .... Oh Well I've only flown once on Qatar to Greece. No like. Lousy plane condition and service. I heard Turkey Airlines upgraded a lot. My only experience with them was in 2001 and it was also a let down. But I agree with you food quality on SQ has come down. Service still very acceptable. 2 weeks ago I flew SQ and they were serving fried carrot cake with prawns as breakfast. I told the local stewardess I want chye tao kueh. Alamak, she looked at me with a blur face. A local girl doesn't know chye tao kueh = fried carrot cake. Really KNN. So I gave them a formal feedback. I am KL lah. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 10:35 AM, Lala81 said: my parents took turkish airline. While boarding to come back on the return flight. They said the flight attendant scolded the passenger until the passenger diam diam. Don't see that every day... My only time on Turkish Airline in 2001. Stewardess asked for meal request: A, B or C? I said A. Reply: Don't have A. KNN! Don't have A then don't list it out as an option. Don't know if stupid or what. 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 11:21 AM, BanCoe said: Should try Air Asia for your MIL........ Now everyone can fly Haha I will book her on the flight to nowhere! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 9:45 AM, BanCoe said: Wonder people still fly SIA ...... given the choice (destination dependent) I'd rather take Emirates/ Qatar/ Turkish ........ Food and service is a let down of late (of course $$ is also much lower in others.... SQ is playing surge pricing rip off ) ..... though SQ still stands well against regional carriers .... Oh Well Only when it is not exorbitant for me. In fact right now on SQ plane using their free Internet. Fare paid is reasonable. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 11:36 AM, Kxbc said: I've only flown once on Qatar to Greece. No like. Lousy plane condition and service. I heard Turkey Airlines upgraded a lot. My only experience with them was in 2001 and it was also a let down. But I agree with you food quality on SQ has come down. Service still very acceptable. 2 weeks ago I flew SQ and they were serving fried carrot cake with prawns as breakfast. I told the local stewardess I want chye tao kueh. Alamak, she looked at me with a blur face. A local girl doesn't know chye tao kueh = fried carrot cake. Really KNN. So I gave them a formal feedback. I am KL lah. Still same menu... Chye tao kueh or Chix patties just now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 Nice, I remember SIA got to be 'rescue' using taxpayers' $$, how come we no bonus? https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/transport-logistics/sia-pay-bonus-about-8-months-rank-and-file-staff-following SIA to pay bonus of about 8 months to rank-and-file staff following record profit SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) : C6L +1.16%will be rewarding eligible employees with a profit-sharing bonus of 6.65 months following the group’s record earnings, and a maximum total of 1.5 months of ex-gratia bonus in recognition of their hard work and sacrifices during the pandemic. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 Is it some corp die die must fly SQ? If so, lousy svc why cannot make money? Lol... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged May 18, 2023 Share May 18, 2023 On 5/18/2023 at 1:34 PM, Unfazed said: Is it some corp die die must fly SQ? If so, lousy svc why cannot make money? Lol... They not really lousy. But overall is not really much better than good ones like the Jap, Taiwanese airlines. But due to their brand image, I know many ppl don't mind paying a little more to change to SQ flight instead of for example cathay. Helps that usually their departure and inbound flight timings are better than the rest (kelong one) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...