Tohto Hypersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:06 AM, bsswan said: On the face of it, was a good idea. I chose the laksa but before seeing the box it came in. It wasn't necessarily the box, it was the difficulty in opening it, worry of spraying hot soup all over the cabin and, more importantly, me, whilst seeing that the portion appeared smaller than pre-COVID dishes. The laksa was pretty good, even with a good sized prawn, but it scared me to death until I finished it. If the flight get into a strong turbulence .. 😅 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 Passengers are disappointed between the pre and post covid quantity and quality of sia food in general. The food is important for me because that might be my only meal in the next or last few hours before or after a packed business trip itinerary. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 (edited) On 5/26/2023 at 10:20 AM, bsswan said: It should be no more dangerous in Eco as other classes, depending only on how it gets served - soups in Business are common. The space to maneuver is much tighter in economy. so u can easily upset the tray just moving here and there. Moving here and there, can already spill the cups liao. I don't travel for business. Lol what if your kid beside you wants to go toilet during meal time. 😁 Edited May 26, 2023 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:27 AM, Lala81 said: The space to maneuver is much lower in economy. so u can easily upset the tray just moving here and there. I don't travel for business. Lol what if your kid beside you wants to go toilet during meal time. 😁 Own kid still OK. Worse if it is the oversized and clumsy stranger sitting beside you. I never had the chance of a nice smelling chio bu stranger sitting beside me. 😭 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
bsswan 6th Gear May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:27 AM, Tohto said: If the flight get into a strong turbulence .. 😅 No difference to drinking coffee/tea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:27 AM, Kxbc said: Passengers are disappointed between the pre and post covid quantity and quality of sia food in general. The food is important for me because that might be my only meal in the next or last few hours before or after a packed business trip itinerary. Exactly the point. Compare to pre-covid different is quite obvious. Both quality and quantity. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:36 AM, bsswan said: No difference to drinking coffee/tea. SQ don't serve hot coffee/tea during turbulence. My flight last Dec back from Brisbane, 8 hrs flight seat belt sign is always On almost all the time. No hot drink was serve entire flight. Cabin was ask to return to seat twice by Captain. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:06 AM, bsswan said: On the face of it, was a good idea. I chose the laksa but before seeing the box it came in. It wasn't necessarily the box, it was the difficulty in opening it, worry of spraying hot soup all over the cabin and, more importantly, me, whilst seeing that the portion appeared smaller than pre-COVID dishes. The laksa was pretty good, even with a good sized prawn, but it scared me to death until I finished it. i had the laksa too. yep, difficult to open, and the small opening made it difficult to eat out of. Gravy was rather thick (and there wasn't much of it), not soupy so it was not a major spill risk. But agreed, portion very small. i did enjoy the laksa. Just wished there was more of it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 11:28 AM, Tohto said: SQ don't serve hot coffee/tea during turbulence. My flight last Dec back from Brisbane, 8 hrs flight seat belt sign is always On almost all the time. No hot drink was serve entire flight. Cabin was ask to return to seat twice by Captain. sometimes the F&B is served before turbulence warning. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 10:15 AM, Lala81 said: I wouldn't want to drink a gravy/soup based meal in economy class. The chance of spillage is high. SQ also has instant cup noodles. Served upon request. That's a tough one to eat on board but some people like it. or at least they used to have it. I haven't seen it for a while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 3:50 PM, Shibadog said: SQ also has instant cup noodles. Served upon request. That's a tough one to eat on board but some people like it. or at least they used to have it. I haven't seen it for a while. this one i fail to understand. some forgo inflight meals to have cup noodles. like a budget airline option. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged May 26, 2023 Share May 26, 2023 On 5/26/2023 at 3:55 PM, Mkl22 said: this one i fail to understand. some forgo inflight meals to have cup noodles. like a budget airline option. different people, different taste buds i've seen a small group reject the inflight meal and noisily distribute steamed buns (rou bao) amongst themselves. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged May 29, 2023 Share May 29, 2023 one of my best econ class meal is actually from garuda. They served nasi goreng with ikan bilis. Super fragrant. Killer fried rice. I wished they served me another plate. it's super cheap stuff but my best memory of any airplane food. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 31, 2023 Share May 31, 2023 (edited) This is great.. Have to give them a thumbs up. 👍 Too bad I will be flying a 5hrs flight next month. SIA to offer free unlimited Wi-Fi for economy, premium economy class passengers from July https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/sia-singapore-airlines-free-wifi-economy-premium-class-passengers-july-3524871 Edited May 31, 2023 by Tohto 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 31, 2023 Share May 31, 2023 'We learnt a lesson': Singapore Airlines CEO on trial of paper food boxes, removal of appetisers SIA should have "paid more attention" to how paper packaging for meals could be perceived by customers, says CEO Goh Choon Phong. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/sia-ceo-learnt-lesson-food-paper-boxes-goh-choon-phong-3525266 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged May 31, 2023 Share May 31, 2023 (edited) Tax SIA tax gao gao. Paper box somemore. 😉 I think SIA should have pre flight order sarvice. Can order extra food ... Think shinkansen station food... GRamsay flied lice in paper box....unker roger haiyaaa. Edited May 31, 2023 by Datsun366 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged May 31, 2023 Share May 31, 2023 On 5/31/2023 at 5:02 PM, Tohto said: 'We learnt a lesson': Singapore Airlines CEO on trial of paper food boxes, removal of appetisers SIA should have "paid more attention" to how paper packaging for meals could be perceived by customers, says CEO Goh Choon Phong. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/sia-ceo-learnt-lesson-food-paper-boxes-goh-choon-phong-3525266 Basically sorli but not sorli, next time we will camouflage our corner cutting measures better. Its very common once certain businesses achieve a certain level of success and prestige that they start looking at “efficiency” and “streamlining” when it’s simply about cost cutting to maximise their profits by leveraging on their intangible asset. The fact that these “changes” came on the back of big profit reports rubs it in the face of consumers that even if it’s my flag carrier I refuse to be taken for a fool. Until I see reviews that SIA has returned to pre-pandemic standards of in-flight food, I won’t be giving them my dollar. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged May 31, 2023 Share May 31, 2023 On 5/31/2023 at 5:02 PM, Tohto said: 'We learnt a lesson': Singapore Airlines CEO on trial of paper food boxes, removal of appetisers SIA should have "paid more attention" to how paper packaging for meals could be perceived by customers, says CEO Goh Choon Phong. https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/sia-ceo-learnt-lesson-food-paper-boxes-goh-choon-phong-3525266 They should give me a discount ....cos I dun care what food, or what packaging. As long there is food and there is some form of container be it paper, plastic or ceramic, I eat the same. The food dun even has to be nice as long it is edible. Guarantee no complaints on social media cos I dun have one. I am the easiest customer they can ever find. 😄 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...