What To Look Out For When Collecting New Car

Calvin8808

  On 4/9/2025 at 4:40 AM, DrStrangeLove said:

Want to ask expert here, sorry for jumping in the thread. Can you send a new car for pre-inspection?

Expand  

Can,if you willing to pay.

  On 4/9/2025 at 4:59 AM, 13177 said:

Why you need to send a new car for pre-inspection?

Expand  

Money too much,no where to spend,give Vicom some Business.

  On 4/9/2025 at 5:14 AM, ER-3682 said:

Money too much,no where to spend,give Vicom some Business.

Expand  

maybe TS suspects his/her new car got damage repair prior to the handover

from factory to showroom, accident can happen 

knock knock a bit and touch up a bit or respray

don't tell you you also won't know 😁

  On 4/9/2025 at 5:20 AM, Gnahp said:

maybe TS suspects his/her new car got damage repair prior to the handover

from factory to showroom, accident can happen 

Expand  

If this is the case and using own money to send for the inspection, anything also can lo. Don't think VICOM will reject?! Lol.

  On 4/9/2025 at 5:27 AM, Gnahp said:

knock knock a bit and touch up a bit or respray

don't tell you you also won't know 😁

Expand  

If it is not a major damage, indeed no one know after some touching up. But even major damage, after repair and touching up, also not everyone can tell and know. 

  On 4/9/2025 at 5:29 AM, 13177 said:

If this is the case and using own money to send for the inspection, anything also can lo. Don't think VICOM will reject?! Lol.

Expand  

if you don't trust the agent, can always ownself pay to check 

otherwise ruining the ownership experience of buying a new car

might as well buy used

P75WxpE.jpeg

Thanks for all the comment guys. It will be my first time owning a car ever so not sure what is the things to do. From the sound of the comments here, for new car you don't really need to go and do pre-inspection. Got it.

What do you guys do when you first get your car? I mean do you guys go and check for tyre alignment or what?

I have this one main issue where I don't have multi-story carpark. So car will be park with not protection from the environment ie get sun and rain. I inherit my late dad car about 6 months ago and it will be scrap this coming Sept. So it will be my first time buying a car. I can see some issues with having the car park with no form of shade. If you don't get leaves covering your car, you get bird shit 😄 and oh man, bird can really shit! The one worst thing is the inside smell bad due to the constant heat from the sun. Got all kind of those car fragance thing but it does not help and sometime it is worst. Was told to get the glass tinted with UV protection thing. So might do that first when I get the new car. Other than that I really don't know what i can do to not get those 'smell'. Also notice the paint work on the car seems to get dull look comparing to previously when my late dad drive (part in a covered carpark).

Note: I don't drive often as I work from home. The only reason I'm getting the car is for my mom to drive her around for medical, temple and such.

thank you 🙏

  On 4/10/2025 at 3:11 AM, DrStrangeLove said:

Thanks for all the comment guys. It will be my first time owning a car ever so not sure what is the things to do. From the sound of the comments here, for new car you don't really need to go and do pre-inspection. Got it.

What do you guys do when you first get your car? I mean do you guys go and check for tyre alignment or what?

I have this one main issue where I don't have multi-story carpark. So car will be park with not protection from the environment ie get sun and rain. I inherit my late dad car about 6 months ago and it will be scrap this coming Sept. So it will be my first time buying a car. I can see some issues with having the car park with no form of shade. If you don't get leaves covering your car, you get bird shit 😄 and oh man, bird can really shit! The one worst thing is the inside smell bad due to the constant heat from the sun. Got all kind of those car fragance thing but it does not help and sometime it is worst. Was told to get the glass tinted with UV protection thing. So might do that first when I get the new car. Other than that I really don't know what i can do to not get those 'smell'. Also notice the paint work on the car seems to get dull look comparing to previously when my late dad drive (part in a covered carpark).

Note: I don't drive often as I work from home. The only reason I'm getting the car is for my mom to drive her around for medical, temple and such.

thank you 🙏

Expand  

Which Car Model you getting.?Drive Little,take Taxi & PHV cheaper.

5th Gear
  On 4/10/2025 at 3:11 AM, DrStrangeLove said:

thank you 🙏

Expand  

Either spend a few k on PPF/ceramic coating, or just buy a car cover/protector lor.

Agreed with the bird shit issue. Personally if I spot any, immediately go boot take water out and splash it away. You ignore it once it hardens hong gan liao.

  On 4/10/2025 at 3:27 AM, ER-3682 said:

Which Car Model you getting.?Drive Little,take Taxi & PHV cheaper.

Expand  

Take taxi and PHV cheaper if not taking it often hor. I find taking taxi and PHV not that cheap now. Also all the drivers driving quite reckless and jerky, i don't like. Lol.

  On 4/15/2025 at 12:21 AM, 13177 said:

Take taxi and PHV cheaper if not taking it often hor. I find taking taxi and PHV not that cheap now. Also all the drivers driving quite reckless and jerky, i don't like. Lol.

Expand  

You didn’t find it hard enough.

Nowadays I open 4 apps to compare prices 

  On 4/15/2025 at 12:24 AM, inlinesix said:

You didn’t find it hard enough.

Nowadays I open 4 apps to compare prices 

Expand  

I compare two apps only. Lol. But both price equally ex. 

Anyway, i don't like taking PHV/taxi unless really no choice, cause paying such an ex price and yet to suffer in the ride. I rather take MRT if can.

5th Gear
  On 4/15/2025 at 12:38 AM, inlinesix said:

I don’t drive most days unless my wife wfh.

I BBMW

Expand  

I took 6 years of MRT daily to school so I hope I don't sound snobbish but why would you willingly squeeze in MRT to commute? You got a Mini Cooper right

  On 4/15/2025 at 12:49 AM, 107fan said:

I took 6 years of MRT daily to school so I hope I don't sound snobbish but why would you willingly squeeze in MRT to commute? You got a Mini Cooper right

Expand  

I drove into CBD for 1 month and my blood boiled.

I got the lot for free😂

Most importantly, no free car park and lousy drivers.

My ride start from Kallang. It is no more than 4 stop.

Squeeze or not, don’t matter to me