'End of Singapore' for expats

Mockngbrd

2 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

I recall before i was retrenched about 5 yrs ago.

My boss was angmoh, my boss’s boss was angmoh. Both angmohs based in singapore for more than 10yrs already.

but they are pretty respectful to locals to be fair.

Haha, until you hear what they say behind your back.

To be fair, humans are like that. People like me don't like to gossip often are isolated.

The strange thing is people like to make friends with those that often stab them behind their backs and not people like me.

87dc799670c06e9754bccb3b37d9541d.gif

42 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

He makes $45k pm how to anyhow just change job

Ok, I'm not qualified to give advice then. Lol 

Different league.

2 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

I recall before i was retrenched about 5 yrs ago.

My boss was angmoh, my boss’s boss was angmoh. Both angmohs based in singapore for more than 10yrs already.

but they are pretty respectful to locals to be fair.

When u were retrenched, were your ang mo bosses retrenched too?

3 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I will be out of job if no expats... 

I am not sure what jobs you guys have... I think most of the jobs in Singapore needs expats???

This is precisely the same mentality of PAP, so what has been done to the education system to reduce our dependency on FTs ? What measures is being  put in place by MOM  to ensure some of the local will be trained so that  they are able to take over some of the FT jobs ?  What PAP does now is  allowing employers to have free flow of FTs. 

Again, remember, we are not taking about zero FTs, we are talking about a fair mix and a fair play.  

2 hours ago, Jusnel said:

When u were retrenched, were your ang mo bosses retrenched too?

Bestest, they were not. 
then after 2 years i heard one kena pushed out after a new one came from overseas

8 hours ago, Ct3833 said:

This is precisely the same mentality of PAP, so what has been done to the education system to reduce our dependency on FTs ? What measures is being  put in place by MOM  to ensure some of the local will be trained so that  they are able to take over some of the FT jobs ?  What PAP does now is  allowing employers to have free flow of FTs. 

Again, remember, we are not taking about zero FTs, we are talking about a fair mix and a fair play.  

That is what pap is talking about too.

there is no free flow of fts... 

education wise we do a lot lah... so many scholarship training grants for various Industries just for citizens and locals.... until I cannot count. 
mom... I know there are local hiring quotas from edb places on MNCs that negotiate tax breaks, etc with edb. 

what else do u suggest?

17 hours ago, yishunite said:

Condo rental only affects a tiny proportion of very well off singaporeans who will shift their money elsewhere if they cant make money from rental... interest rates and rental yield are closely aligned so the net is that condo prices must drop if rental market collapses

so i cant wait till rental market collapses and condo become affordable to singaporeans like in the past

Don't forget, many FT are renting from our national condominium,  HDB. Otherwise how to sell them for half a million dollars? 

19 hours ago, inlinesix said:

We have a lot of talented Singaporean working OVERSEAS now. 

Can't come back to work as A LOT OF employers deemed their OVERSEAS experience NOT relevant in SINGAPORE.

That is an actual issue.

13 hours ago, Lala81 said:

I find it a bit exaggerated.

Are we disrespecting of these fairly high SES expats? Are they treated worse than the Bangladeshi workers? Are they shown less respect than the coffeeshop cleaner or toilet cleaner here in SG?
JSS is from the govt coffers that is based on the toil of 2-3 generations of Singaporean workers. Obviously the incentive should be to protect Singaporean jobs.

When one stayed up on the pedestal for too long, it's scary to think of going down to the ground, especially when they realise the pedestal is actually very fragile.

You can see still sense the high-and-mighty attitude that we are dependent on them for rent, it's not their fault, yada yada.

Everyone living under a roof is having a meal. The towkay table is filled with food, eat as much and to content. No doubt the usual RACE for the left chicken drumstick or the odd crab claw.

The children find themselves being forced out by the adopted children, elbows and torsos, squeezing them out. Actual glares and undertable coordinated attempts to squeeze them out, as more and more adopted children come in to share the generous towkay bounty.

The towkay knows he is nothing without his children. He hears and sees the resentment and understands the fury towards the hungry adoptees.

He understands the question, ' Watt Kind of a Father are you?' We are your children, we obey you not to fight, now we do not know how to defend ourselves against these street urchins. We only know this for you taught us not to fight and accept your decision.

Now is the time for slapping of the table. Everyone gets to eat quietly, new and resident.

All the rights are with the Towkay and Towkay is nothing without his children, natural or adopted.

Laissez-faire is frog for a mess. The officer table is the same portions served nicely.

I have really seen number 4 smelly sock coffee served to Ops room.

Pass, the potatoes.

12 hours ago, Windwaver said:

To be fair, humans are like that. People like me don't like to gossip often are isolated.

The strange thing is people like to make friends with those that often stab them behind their backs and not people like me.

87dc799670c06e9754bccb3b37d9541d.gif

Often time those people that stab behind people back are very intelligent to cover it up and pretend. So much so that many people did not know what he/she did behind their back. What is worst is how good they talk, so thought they are of good people to mix with. 

Edited by Yewheng

Many of the expats living here don't really live here, they live in a bubble. The foreign workers also live in their own bubble but that is another story. In any case, their lives are disparate from regular Singaporeans and invariably mid-upper class, as someone points out, lives in central districts, with posh cars and kids going to international schools, that sort of thing.

Their behaviour along Singapore River during circuit breaker is but one in a line of deeds that show that they don't respect Singapore's culture and don't even try to assimilate, but generally feel that the country should bend to their customs and habits. Same goes for behaviour on the road (as cyclists or as pedestrians). 

Considering the amount of foreign talent that is here, its quite a pity that I know only a handful. And those are the exception because they broke out of their expat bubble - one is a Kiwi that took up permanent residency here, started a business and lives in a HDB flat. The other hails from PRC but was brought up here from secondary school and is about as Singaporean as you and be, bar the perfect Mandarin and PRC-sounding name. 

Outside of work, how many expats or FT do you know personally, that you would call as friends? I suspect my experience isn't unique, unless you happen to be an SPG. 

3 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

Many of the expats living here don't really live here, they live in a bubble. The foreign workers also live in their own bubble but that is another story. In any case, their lives are disparate from regular Singaporeans and invariably mid-upper class, as someone points out, lives in central districts, with posh cars and kids going to international schools, that sort of thing.

Their behaviour along Singapore River during circuit breaker is but one in a line of deeds that show that they don't respect Singapore's culture and don't even try to assimilate, but generally feel that the country should bend to their customs and habits. Same goes for behaviour on the road (as cyclists or as pedestrians). 

Considering the amount of foreign talent that is here, its quite a pity that I know only a handful. And those are the exception because they broke out of their expat bubble - one is a Kiwi that took up permanent residency here, started a business and lives in a HDB flat. The other hails from PRC but was brought up here from secondary school and is about as Singaporean as you and be, bar the perfect Mandarin and PRC-sounding name. 

Outside of work, how many expats or FT do you know personally, that you would call as friends? I suspect my experience isn't unique, unless you happen to be an SPG. 

With all the negativity in this thread, i wonder who would kee chiu here.

The only reason the countryman has to bend to their customs and habits is we have more keyboard warrior that stomp.

How many ppl would do what the Pasir Ris Lorry Driver do?  Everybody is waiting for someone to dirty their hand.

15 hours ago, Windwaver said:

3 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Often time those people that stab behind people back are very intelligent to cover it up and pretend. So much so that many people did not know what he/she did behind their back. What is worst is how good they talk, so thought they are of good people to mix with

You're right bro.

Scary part is the more intelligent people get, the more they are like what you described (fake like hell).

Unfortunately, having good brains (like our education system) doesn't allow one to become high SES.

People like me who don't like to gossip (but genuine) will often end up at the bottom of the corporate ladder.

I guess people just enjoy stabbing each other behind their backs.

2 minutes ago, Windwaver said:

You're right bro.

Scary part is the more intelligent people get, the more they are like what you described (fake like hell).

Unfortunately, having good brains (like our education system) doesn't allow one to become high SES.

People like me who don't like to gossip (but genuine) will often end up at the bottom of the corporate ladder.

I guess people just enjoy stabbing each other behind their backs.

You are deem NOT to be a team player, if that's the case.

It has nothing to do with whether you are genuine or not.

And when the street urchins use the insitu fault lines to manipulate you out of the team for their advantage?

The assessment is correct but it is a wrong decision because of the vaunted system.

HENG SUAY niah niah.