SAF MRE review

Mockngbrd

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

i dun remember got sardines also.

got meh?? normally when pack full pack i throw my combat ration away , esp those heavy 1. 

i bring about 1/3 . i rather have a lighter full pack then alot of food🤣

Another young one.

The worst is the SAF green can sardines. The bah wu will easily attract all the fly.

On 9/3/2020 at 5:53 PM, Beregond said:

I remember  my  csm course 2 week study. 2 week outfield.  - start end adm. 7 days +outfield quite standard 

wah CSM arrh... solly i no so atas. never ever had any ex (local or overseas) more than 4D3N lor...

we tried to Geng all the way, wrote our own appraisal to be very poor (cos that year no PC during the ICT), so that we'll not get promoted. Somemore we wrote the men appraisal all V good, in the hope that they get promoted 🤣

On 9/3/2020 at 7:42 PM, 13177 said:

Aiya, i never fall sick but i cannot escape from foot rot! I also tio before but not say very serious la. 😂

we got si bey suay one... overnight ex before sleep during night mission, already drenched... then pressed on (those days no lightning alert to stop ex...) till rain stopped. Then rest time, those idle ones no take out boots/socks one, next day go back, will be the start... some more prone ones, super jialat. if we had the means, would have gone to draw chemical mask (but only later in reservist then we learnt this...) to wear 🤣

4 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

wah CSM arrh... solly i no so atas. never ever had any ex (local or overseas) more than 4D3N lor...

we tried to Geng all the way, wrote our own appraisal to be very poor (cos that year no PC during the ICT), so that we'll not get promoted. Somemore we wrote the men appraisal all V good, in the hope that they get promoted 🤣

frankly speaking 20 years ago de exercise, i cannot remember how many days to be exact also. that time where got think so much 🤣.

On 9/3/2020 at 11:14 PM, Weez911 said:

Wa I have to Google what is MRE. For the benefit of those like me, MRE stands for Meals Ready to Eat. I don't understand what is so bad about "combat rations" though.

I miss the glutinous rice in the green pack, and the dice pork and tuna in the can (they are from different era which I managed to cross during my NSF). The tuna goes very well with biscuits. I remember the dessert in the green pack is also quite ok. Damn, I'm hungry now thinking about them.

those you mentioned, i only got to taste it during ICTs.

during NS days, it was the old-fashioned combat ration wrapped in clear plastic bags, either:

non halal: 1 can of pork cubes, 1 can of baked beans, 1 can of sardines, few packs dog tacks, 1 choc bar, 2 (i think) packs of lemonade powder...

halal: 1 can of chicken pieces in place of the pork cubes, the rest same...

when we tasted the green pack ones, felt like change from hawker food to hotel food leh...

On 9/4/2020 at 10:26 AM, ToyotaShuttle said:

What's wrong with the socks? I still buy and wear the white socks for exercise and the black socks for work.

the only thing wrong is wear already cannot excuse from exercise during rain 😂, so will get wet, and keep the foot soaked... easily contributing to foot rot...

agree back socks power. i wear 10 yr for work also won't spoil... must be most worthy buy for the emart credits liao...

5 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

those you mentioned, i only got to taste it during ICTs.

during NS days, it was the old-fashioned combat ration wrapped in clear plastic bags, either:

non halal: 1 can of pork cubes, 1 can of baked beans, 1 can of sardines, few packs dog tacks, 1 choc bar, 2 (i think) packs of lemonade powder...

halal: 1 can of chicken pieces in place of the pork cubes, the rest same...

when we tasted the green pack ones, felt like change from hawker food to hotel food leh...

The type you mentioned was also during my NSF days....

On 9/4/2020 at 10:33 AM, Weez911 said:

Maggie noodle was a super luxury back then, machiam like eating Michelin food in camp. Ya I agree the dice pork goes well with Maggie. 

We ate the dice pork a few times in Tekong. Nobody told us cannot eat pork in Tekong, and they issued us pork before our topo/mission. Once we ate it very near the "famous location", without knowing pork is prohibited of course. 

wah... 33 yr after i first stepped foot on tekong, i never knew cannot eat pork there leh... sure bo? 

we got buy luncheon meat to eat during one shooting exercise just before we ROD leh... although i forgot about the food/combo got pork or not...

4 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

wah... 33 yr after i first stepped foot on tekong, i never knew cannot eat pork there leh... sure bo? 

we got buy luncheon meat to eat during one shooting exercise just before we ROD leh... although i forgot about the food/combo got pork or not...

100% sure... my NS was not a dream...

22 hours ago, Nostalgia said:

I have not touched canned sardines since NS.   We used to joke that the enemy will detect us from a distance by the smell alone.

ha ha ha... i think you're right.

i also many yr no touch sardines, but last week since saw this thread, went to buy one sardine bun solely for nostalgic reason

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

i dun remember got sardines also.

got meh?? normally when pack full pack i throw my combat ration away , esp those heavy 1. 

i bring about 1/3 . i rather have a lighter full pack then alot of food🤣

Poor infantry straight legs. Other arms no issue about weight. Usually I would have also iced drink in insulated container, plus other food. Just load up into the LR! 

10 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

ha ha ha... i think you're right.

i also many yr no touch sardines, but last week since saw this thread, went to buy one sardine bun solely for nostalgic reason

I am inspired by you. I think I will buy spiced pork cubes next trip to the supermarket! 

Just now, Volvobrick said:

Poor infantry straight legs. Other arms no issue about weight. Usually I would have also iced drink in insulated container, plus other food. Just load up into the LR! 

infantry is all about weight loh.

u carry full pack with clothes and food plus 1 fuking heavy signal set. bloody sbo and rife. then walk for dun know how many days.

i throw away as many thing  as possible, even my water fill 1 can only.

simply hate to be infantry. lucky ict i become support coy

but support coy u dig and fill sand bag from day 1 to last day 🤣

16 hours ago, Windwaver said:

Not when the M113 sinks during river crossing lol.

wah, one time we heavy load, can get really worried leh... when the floorboard starts flooding 😅

4 hours ago, Tohto said:

Once the sardines stain onto No 4, the smell will stay with you.

yah, si bey sian, got sweat, got grease, got mud, got all sort of smell already then add this... 

if add durian and fermented tofu... champion...

59 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

this is the time i really appreciate my M113 - even though needs to wash vehicle later...

can go buy all sorts of stuff smuggle out no need worry about weight...

bonus is can coma inside while moving to objectives... this one not obvious in Area D, where point A to B is 5 min only... But in Wallaby, can be 2 hr... wah best lor 😁

58 minutes ago, Beregond said:

infantry is all about weight loh.

u carry full pack with clothes and food plus 1 fuking heavy signal set. bloody sbo and rife. then walk for dun know how many days.

i throw away as many thing  as possible, even my water fill 1 can only.

simply hate to be infantry. lucky ict i become support coy

but support coy u dig and fill sand bag from day 1 to last day 🤣

wah lao... you should volunteer to convert to armour. all these things dun apply 😆

23 hours ago, Nostalgia said:

I have not touched canned sardines since NS.   We used to joke that the enemy will detect us from a distance by the smell alone.

Same same.. canned sardines is no no for me.