SAF MRE review

Mockngbrd

10 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

Maggie noodle was a super luxury back then, machiam like eating Michelin food in camp. Ya I agree the dice pork goes well with Maggie. 

We ate the dice pork a few times in Tekong. Nobody told us cannot eat pork in Tekong, and they issued us pork before our topo/mission. Once we ate it very near the "famous location", without knowing pork is prohibited of course. 

where got  cannot eat pork in tekong?? i never heard of this,  but 不知者无罪 la 

7 minutes ago, Beregond said:

yah. why cannot eat? There's wild boar so am sure there are many people who have secretly ate pork there. yummy

49 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

Maggie noodle was a super luxury back then, machiam like eating Michelin food in camp. Ya I agree the dice pork goes well with Maggie. 

We ate the dice pork a few times in Tekong. Nobody told us cannot eat pork in Tekong, and they issued us pork before our topo/mission. Once we ate it very near the "famous location", without knowing pork is prohibited of course. 

Didnt know cannot eat pork in Tekong? Why ah?

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

Didnt know cannot eat pork in Tekong? Why ah?

I heard this was a practice due to respect for spirits there. Not sure if this is urban myth or regulations there. Maybe others can shed light here?

After the dice pork was discontinued as combat ration, we were also told not to bring other type of pork (eg bak kwa, luncheon meat, etc) there for our exercise.

Edited by Weez911

I do remember seeing our instructors skinning and cooking wild boar when we are having our survival and POW in Tekong. Those were regulars/lao jiao.

14 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

I heard this was a practice due to respect for spirits there. Not sure if this is urban myth or regulations there. Maybe others can shed light here?

After the dice pork was discontinued as combat ration, we were also told not to bring other type of pork (eg bak kwa, luncheon meat, etc) there for our exercise.

I was a tekong instructor  2 year.  Inside camp confirm got pork.

We alway got lunch out. Mean dabao go out  makan. Sure bring pork out field  what.

oh ya now i remember got things like not suppose to bring pork to bunk.

i think suppose to eat only in cookhouse. all the cookhouse got hala and non hala, dun tell me got no pork in non hala i didnt realise?? 🤣

Edited by Beregond

40 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

The spirits there cannot eat pork?

On 9/3/2020 at 12:49 PM, Atrecord said:

Atec... started only during my reservist time. my time called proficiency test... 😆

still got sardines or not? we banned sardines in the M113... the empty can left inside vehicle during 3-day ex... the smell can kill... ore lethal than enemy fire 🤣

I have not touched canned sardines since NS.   We used to joke that the enemy will detect us from a distance by the smell alone.

6 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Diced pork in spices was the best. Especially when poured into boiling Maggie mee in mess tins on a cold night. 

hey... i ate that during civilian days too... loved it 😋... its just nice convenient food.

Atec... started only during my reservist time. my time called proficiency test... 😆

still got sardines or not? we banned sardines in the M113... the empty can left inside vehicle during 3-day ex... the smell can kill... ore lethal than enemy fire 🤣

Not when the M113 sinks during river crossing lol.

7 hours ago, Weez911 said:

I do remember seeing our instructors skinning and cooking wild boar when we are having our survival and POW in Tekong. Those were regulars/lao jiao.

Got karma one leh :XD:

1 hour ago, Windwaver said:

Got karma one leh :XD:

They are not that bad - gave us a small section of a snake. No idea what snake that was because the head has been chopped off. We cooked it in water with no seasoning cos we are in the middle of the survival training, but no matter how long we cooked that snake, it felt hard and rubbery. Can't remember the taste though (probably close to tasteless since we did not add any seasoning). Of course that wild boar, even a small piece, will be very nice indeed but we were happy with our snake since we can't blardy catch anything to eat in Tekong. The Tekong monster hums are inaccessible for us (instructors limited our range).

Edited by Weez911

Once the sardines stain onto No 4, the smell will stay with you.

42 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Once the sardines stain onto No 4, the smell will stay with you.

My era combat ration dont have sardines. 🤣

3 minutes ago, 13177 said:

My era combat ration dont have sardines. 🤣

i dun remember got sardines also.

got meh?? normally when pack full pack i throw my combat ration away , esp those heavy 1. 

i bring about 1/3 . i rather have a lighter full pack then alot of food🤣

59 minutes ago, Beregond said:

i dun remember got sardines also.

got meh?? normally when pack full pack i throw my combat ration away , esp those heavy 1. 

i bring about 1/3 . i rather have a lighter full pack then alot of food🤣

Go out field already bring many barang barang liao, so combat ration indeed cannot bring a lot. Lol.