SAF MRE review

Mockngbrd

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

exactly i suspect there are some medicine or chemical inside that make u wont shit. i remember my whole outfield in tw. i didnt shit once. more then 7 days .

WLE... you simi unit one? Biz do so big, got 7 day ex??? Throughout my 2.5 yr NSF plus 11-yr reservist, never had these 7D6N 七日游 before leh... and i dare say my army life was si bey tough one...

For me is cos every morning go an let go, then max maybe 3D ex tahan all the way, till 3rd day go back then go toilet. Only remember one time reservist went wallaby, at one point i think 6-8 of us at night took ET stick went to do a all-round-defense... si bey stress cos the rest one by one finished quickly and went off, i was i think 2nd last one 🤣

56 minutes ago, 13177 said:

Agreed siah, i dont remember i had shit while i was outfield, whether in sg or overseas training. Good also la, if not so incovenience to do it in forest area. Same like during army, also never fall sick, no matter how siong the training was, and even drenched in rain while training also no sick! I suspect the cook house food have some special ingredients? Lol.

Yes, drenched in rain also won't sick one - that's how powderful the blessed SAF #4 is - 百毒不侵。Some also claim 刀枪不入, (cos we carry concentina wire also reasonably safe...) except when got commando mosquito come attack us...

Oh, but SAF didn't send the socks for blessing, so while drenched won't fall sick, will instead get foot rot after that leh... my bunk got people tio... wah, the smell 🤮 is the really can 😵 lor...

1 minute ago, Atrecord said:

WLE... you simi unit one? Biz do so big, got 7 day ex??? Throughout my 2.5 yr NSF plus 11-yr reservist, never had these 7D6N 七日游 before leh... and i dare say my army life was si bey tough one...

For me is cos every morning go an let go, then max maybe 3D ex tahan all the way, till 3rd day go back then go toilet. Only remember one time reservist went wallaby, at one point i think 6-8 of us at night took ET stick went to do a all-round-defense... si bey stress cos the rest one by one finished quickly and went off, i was i think 2nd last one 🤣

dun have  meh, i thought 1 week-2 week out field quite normal? some time its not 1 whole exercise 7 days,, more like 5 days maybe? cannot remember clearly, got adm etc, but still can be easily 10 days outfield

31 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

No le, I wear uniform immediately feel sleepy and stupid.  Must be u all are oppicer, I am lowly corporal. 

My platoon mates and i had different experience. We realised during reservist that the magical #4 could instantaneously transform us from some rehabilitated cultured decent guy, (back) into those that will 🤬🤬🤬, in every single sentence that came out of our mouths.

5 minutes ago, Beregond said:

dun have  meh, i thought 1 week-2 week out field quite normal? some time its not 1 whole exercise 7 days,, more like 5 days maybe? cannot remember clearly, got adm etc, but still can be easily 10 days outfield

Dun scare me leh... locally, we at most is Sun night booked in, load store. Then Mon morning moved out, latest by Thur should be back, so that Fri and Sat morning can clean stuff and return store, etc... before Sat book out...  max should be 3 or 4 days niah lah.

10 Day outfield?! Alamak, you tio sent Hard Labour camp izzit?? 🤣

If overseas, then also each ex/mission should be 3-4 day, with breaks in betw, before another ex/mission lah. If 10D outfield, the whole full pack is not carry uniform and groundsheet/poncho leh... Must use to carry combat ration to the brim lor 😁

2 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Dun scare me leh... locally, we at most is Sun night booked in, load store. Then Mon morning moved out, latest by Thur should be back, so that Fri and Sat morning can clean stuff and return store, etc... before Sat book out...  max should be 3 or 4 days niah lah.

10 Day outfield?! Alamak, you tio sent Hard Labour camp izzit?? 🤣

If overseas, then also each ex/mission should be 3-4 day, with breaks in betw, before another ex/mission lah. If 10D outfield, the whole full pack is not carry uniform and groundsheet/poncho leh... Must use to carry combat ration to the brim lor 😁

I remember  my  csm course 2 week study. 2 week outfield.  - start end adm. 7 days +outfield quite standard 

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

yes loh, during my tw outfield, rain like mad whole body wet, also proceed with training, dun know how many days wont fall sick 1

i remember even during ict rain cats n dogs, the bat hq we dig become swimming pool, we need corner off prevent ppl fall and drown inside.

but i dun remember ppl fall sick got fever  etc.

its like u wear uniform suddenly will become superman🤣

Ya, all become superman throughout the NSF days. I remember there was once we went for 10km run outside, suddenly heavy downpour, all drenched then went up to aircon bus to take us back to camp, super cold inside the bus but no fall sick after that?! So amazing. 😅

2 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Yes, drenched in rain also won't sick one - that's how powderful the blessed SAF #4 is - 百毒不侵。Some also claim 刀枪不入, (cos we carry concentina wire also reasonably safe...) except when got commando mosquito come attack us...

Oh, but SAF didn't send the socks for blessing, so while drenched won't fall sick, will instead get foot rot after that leh... my bunk got people tio... wah, the smell 🤮 is the really can 😵 lor...

Aiya, i never fall sick but i cannot escape from foot rot! I also tio before but not say very serious la. 😂

2 hours ago, Beregond said:

Suddenly  i miss my ict kakis

When go ict every 1 kpkb alot.

But must admit we had some good time and kakis there over the years

This one i agreed, now when i look back really quite missed the days during NSF and ICT.

Its not the uniform that make you not fall sick. Its the age.

If now, you put me thru the same things I did back then even if I wear back my trusty old artic white Num 4, maybe ICU liao.

But of course the other transformation into foul language spewing barbarian should still be effective.

I still have horrible memories of the foot rot.. from BMT till reservist... the SAF socks are terrible.

Edited by Ake109

38 minutes ago, Ake109 said:

If now, you put me thru the same things I did back then even if I wear back my trusty old artic white Num 4, maybe ICU liao.

But of course the other transformation into foul language spewing barbarian should still be effective.

I still have horrible memories of the foot rot.. from BMT till reservist... the SAF socks are terrible.

Your foot rot so powerful, follow you from BMT to ICT?! 😅 

How come your number 4 is white de? 😂 No need to go through the same things, even now if kena some rain also might fall sick immediately. Lol.

Wa I have to Google what is MRE. For the benefit of those like me, MRE stands for Meals Ready to Eat. I don't understand what is so bad about "combat rations" though.

I miss the glutinous rice in the green pack, and the dice pork and tuna in the can (they are from different era which I managed to cross during my NSF). The tuna goes very well with biscuits. I remember the dessert in the green pack is also quite ok. Damn, I'm hungry now thinking about them.

Edited by Weez911

10 hours ago, Weez911 said:

Wa I have to Google what is MRE. For the benefit of those like me, MRE stands for Meals Ready to Eat. I don't understand what is so bad about "combat rations" though.

I miss the glutinous rice in the green pack, and the dice pork and tuna in the can (they are from different era which I managed to cross during my NSF). The tuna goes very well with biscuits. I remember the dessert in the green pack is also quite ok. Damn, I'm hungry now thinking about them.

Some of the items in combat ration not bad la, and it is really can fill the hungry stomach while outfield. Dont know how does combat ration looks like currently, got what items?

10 hours ago, Weez911 said:

Diced pork in spices was the best. Especially when poured into boiling Maggie mee in mess tins on a cold night. 

Edited by Volvobrick

19 hours ago, Beregond said:

exactly i suspect there are some medicine or chemical inside that make u wont shit. i remember my whole outfield in tw. i didnt shit once. more then 7 days .

I also didn't shit at all for the entire BMT field camp (2 weeks?). After BMT, had the biggest shit that choked up the entire toilet bowl. Muahahahaa

12 hours ago, Ake109 said:

What's wrong with the socks? I still buy and wear the white socks for exercise and the black socks for work.

20 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Diced pork in spices was the best. Especially when poured into boiling Maggie mee in mess tins on a cold night. 

Maggie noodle was a super luxury back then, machiam like eating Michelin food in camp. Ya I agree the dice pork goes well with Maggie. 

We ate the dice pork a few times in Tekong. Nobody told us cannot eat pork in Tekong, and they issued us pork before our topo/mission. Once we ate it very near the "famous location", without knowing pork is prohibited of course.