Does Changing After-Market Rims Affect Warranty With AD

Calvin8808

Hi all,

Does changing after-market rims affect your warranty with AD?

Understand from my friend that some AD will void your warranty if the rims that you replaced are not bought from them, even if you follow the manual approved specs.

• Sad 1

5 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

Hi all,

Understand from my friend that some AD will void your warranty if the rims that you replaced are not bought from them, even if you follow the manual approved specs.

unfortunately, that means part of the braking system / suspension is void.

Having say that, some of the better AD only void the rims or brake noise if there is complain. But still allow warranty on wheel bearing on the car.

But all recall on the suspension or brakes are still intact. If that makes sense to you. So things like speed wheel sensors are still warranty intact. But bump stop and top mount noise are voided.

Edited by Sdf4786k

10 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

Hi all,

If you are afraid , get the specs of your rims and ask agent  about it. 

42 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

Hi all,

Here an interesting discussion.  

IMHO,  I would say you probably can get away if you change according to what is specified in the owners manual.
E.g. 
if you owners manual have 17" and 18",  you should be ok. 
Of course you have to go with the corresponding tyres as specified. .

In my experience, with my previous car,  the design of the vehicle includes matching wheels to the suspension. 
IIRC.
A few upgraded from 15" to 17",  after sometime, the suspension wears out. 
I stay with the factory rims ( OEM Enkei or so I heard ) and tyres are closely match to what the factory supplied.
My rear suspension lasted more than  250k km.    The front suspension should last about the same but along
the way, they were changed out for troubleshooting - which didn't resolve the issue. 

9 minutes ago, Kklee said:

Here an interesting discussion.  

IMHO,  I would say you probably can get away if you change according to what is specified in the owners manual.
E.g. 
if you owners manual have 17" and 18",  you should be ok. 
Of course you have to go with the corresponding tyres as specified. .

In my experience, with my previous car,  the design of the vehicle includes matching wheels to the suspension. 
IIRC.
A few upgraded from 15" to 17",  after sometime, the suspension wears out. 
I stay with the factory rims ( OEM Enkei or so I heard ) and tyres are closely match to what the factory supplied.
My rear suspension lasted more than  250k km.    The front suspension should last about the same but along
the way, they were changed out for troubleshooting - which didn't resolve the issue. 

I actually based on the manual and found the rims according to the exact approved specs for both rims and tyres, i.e. 8x18x42 and 235/45/R18.

However I do hear people say the AD in question does still find issue with the rims even if the specs are exact as long as the rims not purchased from them. So he told me just go ahead and change any other specs since they going to find issue regardless.

However I was thinking if I followed the exact approved specs they have less bone to pick?

56 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

If you are afraid , get the specs of your rims and ask agent  about it. 

Actually I was avoiding to ask my Sales Agent as I was thinking most likely they will say warranty will be affected. 

And after they told you, still go ahead to replace then when claiming warranty will have less ground?

But if don't ask and followed the exact approved specs for rims and tyres as per manual, will have more ground when claiming warranty?

I'm not sure, just a thought or you guys think doesn't matter whether the SA told you or not since they should have some clause in the warranty booklet that state so when you collect the new car? So even if SA told you not affected but subsequently they still rely on the booklet?

7 minutes ago, Calvin8808 said:

Actually I was avoiding to ask my Sales Agent as I was thinking most likely they will say warranty will be affected. 

And after they told you, still go ahead to replace then when claiming warranty will have less ground?

But if don't ask and followed the exact approved specs for rims and tyres as per manual, will have more ground when claiming warranty?

I'm not sure, just a thought or you guys think doesn't matter whether the SA told you or not since they should have some clause in the warranty booklet that state so when you collect the new car? So even if SA told you not affected but subsequently they still rely on the booklet?

so lets say u happily change to the specs indicated on the car manual. And its exact Fit. But the after market rims is second hand and wrap (for some reason) and it impacts your suspension. 

Should the AD warranty the suspension ?

If you purchased a perfectly new rims to specs or OEM rims manufacturer. Subsequently, you find the brakes not that sold and change to a brembo brakes that is from a model higher but need to add spacer. Should the AD keep the warranty intact or void?

As I mention, some AD are sticky on stock equipment. I have AD that wanted to relate the battery and electrical fault to my in car camera. So you have to beware of the behaviour of the agent when you purchase your ride.

1 hour ago, Calvin8808 said:

I actually based on the manual and found the rims according to the exact approved specs for both rims and tyres, i.e. 8x18x42 and 235/45/R18.

However I do hear people say the AD in question does still find issue with the rims even if the specs are exact as long as the rims not purchased from them. So he told me just go ahead and change any other specs since they going to find issue regardless.

However I was thinking if I followed the exact approved specs they have less bone to pick?

IMHO.
I would say if you follow the exact specs and they pick,  you have the option to write to the to manufacturer.
There is a reason why the manufacturer never put down the brand name of the tyres and rims.
If AD want to be critical, can write to them to ask them which brand of petrol too.

I think to be fair to the AD,   there will be those who deviate from the specs - looks nice can already.   
Like I described previously,   deviate from specs may cause premature wear and tear. 

Anyway,  there is one bone AD may pick.   I will PM you.  

21 minutes ago, Ysc3 said:

So far my shuttle only change expendables like bulbs and filters. I am saving my money for better use. 

You use AD supplied tyres huh...

that's why don't immediately drive to the tyre shop to trade in your wheels after car collection for that bit more $... you don't even know if the car has any problems straight out of the factory.

drive around a while about 1k-2k km first to ensure your new car is functioning well before going to change your wheels.

after change, go with mantra...scared don't mod, mod don't scared

🤣

4 minutes ago, Enye said:

that's why don't immediately drive to the tyre shop to trade in your wheels after car collection for that bit more $... you don't even know if the car has any problems straight out of the factory.

drive around a while about 1k-2k km first to ensure your new car is functioning well before going to change your wheels.

after change, go with mantra...scared don't mod, mod don't scared

🤣

IIRC,  my AD changed my front wheel bearings because they detected some noise during warranty. 
Rims still original but tyres not. 

1 hour ago, Kklee said:

You use AD supplied tyres huh...

Front pair changed... Coz hit kerb and torn.... rear still there. 

... Coming three years... Mileage just hit 30k. Km last week.  

And oh yah... I changed the battery last Dec also. 

Edited by Ysc3

44 minutes ago, Ysc3 said:

Front pair changed... Coz hit kerb and torn.... rear still there. 

... Coming three years... Mileage just hit 30k. Km last week.  

And oh yah... I changed the battery last Dec also. 

I meant you change tyre at AD or outside lah. 

23 minutes ago, Kklee said:

I meant you change tyre at AD or outside lah. 

You mean rims?  My car came with sports rims. Anyway,  shuttle only PI....  Kah never bring in shuttle. 

I replaced my front rubber tyres at 365auto.

7 hours ago, Calvin8808 said:

Hi all,

Oh ........ For extreme stock conformance LIKE ME, always no issue with Claim one.  Already win.

Like C&C Kia told, my car got EX and SX variant lor.  I said I can always BUY EX 16" RIMS and UP it to 17" like SX.  SE said warranty WILL BECOME SUBJECTIVE wor, as the operation manual clear state CHANGING RIMS may cause damage to Fender, Drive-Shaft ......long list lor.  I ever ASKED lor.

So far, I am stock at 16" lor.  They said they will check if you use the right size tyres lor, 16" also got many type of profile lor.

Anyway, C&C also NOT BAD already, I ever claimed a SIDE MIRROR, after changed, I asked why my mirror no longer AUTO FOLD wor.  SE said, ACTUALLY, your SIDE MIRROR is NOT CLAIMABLE because it is not stock but after market side mirror lor.   It is their oversight, but they still proceed to replace as they already promised wor.  So good lor, I also did not know my side mirror is not stock as I bought the car from a FIRE SALE lor.  

Anyway again, you may have noticed that insurance is asking for modification of car - both LTA Controlled parts and accessories like ICE, DVR lor.  They are starting to collect this info.

Example, maybe you CHANGE an AWESOME ICE and it distract your driving and causing an accident etc .....ba.

Budget Direct ASKED THIS ...... Change ICE not adder for now.  Change RIM like add abit leh ...... Not sure - Check. You Check, Not I Check hor.  I stock king ma also called Star Lord of ALL Cheapo in this Universe.  My Motto : Cheap is GOOD, FREE is BETTER !!

Edited by Apple-Tree

When i change tire to Michelin PSS, Mini Habitat told me not to change to non-RFT.

I told them, MIchelin PSS 205/45 17 got BMW STAR le.

The reply was it is not advisable to use non-RFT.

Do the smarter thing. Keep the stock rims.  

Once you think your wheels area got problems, fix back the stock rims and drive bk to AD to complain. 

Settled.