Car Owners Who Chope (Hog) HDB Car Park Lots

Ahchuamoto

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

My colleague brought a van to store his 4 to 5 bicycles. 

Hmm.. this one good idea. 

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

some  time not they want chop the lot.

which person in the right mind buy a car pay cp fee to chop a mscp????

some case they struck with the car. like my bro kenna gantong license 2 years, car cannot sell. forever park there, dust dun know how thick. 

Good point. Or he could be owning a fleet of PHV cars that no one wants to rent. So bobian, park long term in MSCP. 

2 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Chope with what and for what purpose?

Years ago, at my MSCP, there was this parking lot next to the coffee shop.  A stall owner bought a very old van and parked in that lot to store his goods.  So the van was there day in day out for months.  I remember thinking, so smart.  But I think someone complained cos I don't see that van anymore.

How do i know it was owned by the stall owner?  Cos the front of the van was packed with the styrofoam take away containers that only his stall used (and a malay stall as well but the van has Chinese characters so unlikely to be owned by them).  Literally packed so you can't even enter to van to drive it away.

This type i can emphatize...

At the place where i often go to tabao, there is one rather famous shop, biz v good, and they do retail as well as wholesale. Biz do big cos they have a few vans/lorries now and over the years.

There's a market next to the block where the shop is, so the carpark serving the residents and visitors there, is VERY OFTEN full. There have been a few times when i was in a hurry, went in, circled one round, can't find lots, then left and went other places to buy food.

In the nearest lot to the shop, for years, have been parked a (small) lorry. I'v noticed two:

1) for a few years, up till maybe last year, was one lorry whose number plate couldn't be found on onemotoring, so i can only imagine it's deregistered. The windows were also painted over, the cabin was full of cardboards, and there were two trolleys below the lorry, on the ground. All these all ok, as they should have paid for the season parking, like everyone here said (although not sure if dereg car can buy season parking or not...).

What irks me was this: that row only got maybe 5-6 lots, as it's v near the CP entrance, so this "left-most-corner lot", as the cement kerb on the left side, then right side are the other lots, before the right-most lot in that row has a cement kerb on the right.
And this lorry is parked with the right 2 tyres sitting on the edge of the line of the lot, so that the trolley got ample spare to be wheeled in betw the left side of the lorry and the cement kerb! 

This invariably means that any vehicle parking next to it, will have to park more to the right, just so to be able to open the car doors. And then the 3rd car will be affected and have to park right a bit also, for the same reason.

I find this extremely selfish.

2) in the last year, it's another lorry, same size. But this one windows not painted, so it looks like still in use (I didn't check onemotoring), but everything else is the same, even the driver's seat in the cabin, is full of stuff like cardboard... Positioning is the same, and the trolley is still there...

2 hours ago, inlinesix said:

It is cheaper to keep it in storage warehouse.

He is smart. He stay on the ground floor somemore. Open carpark lot right in front of his unit. 

Btw he always boast about his bike add up cost more than the van coe. He is one of those we all hate. ....old uncle in tight cycling suit...hahaha🤭

Edited by Kopites

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

He is smart. He stay on the ground floor somemore. Open carpark lot right in front of his unit. 

Btw he always boast about his bike add up cost more than the van coe. He is one of those we all hate. ....old uncle in tight cycling suit...hahaha🤭

Not smart la.

I have a smart storage for $90/mth.  After 10 yrs, i can only buy 1/3 of COE.

I like how Changi Jewel has different rate parking for short and long term parking.

HDB could also have tiered season parking costs where people who drive infrequently are incentivised to park at the higher decks (e.g. each deck higher is 5% discount) and thus allow the frequent users more convenience and less wasted petrol.

Its also not hard to enforce by parking wardens checking that the car is parked according to its payment group.

4 hours ago, badlammy said:

Aiya I also have neighbour who always monitor the carpark for strategic and solo lots on the lower floors every few hours or so and move his car, all so that he can wash and detail his car.

But I must say his Soul Red paintwork is damn chio and well maintained...oops. 😷

I have a neighbour who does exactly that also. He's always parked in the first lot which also happens to be a solo lot, there are 2 other solo lots beside. 

Whenever his 'lot' is taken up by someone else, he probably suffers from anxiety and panic attacks and will constantly monitor the lot situation till the lot is vacated and he will shift his car, even if he is parked in the solo lot just beside. 

20 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

I like how Changi Jewel has different rate parking for short and long term parking.

HDB could also have tiered season parking costs where people who drive infrequently are incentivised to park at the higher decks (e.g. each deck higher is 5% discount) and thus allow the frequent users more convenience and less wasted petrol.

Its also not hard to enforce by parking wardens checking that the car is parked according to its payment group.

IMHO,  if enforcement by parking warden at my MSCP,  it will be very hard,  got at least one motorcycle free parking there. 

Personally I don't see any issue with that.

If they legally paid for season parking, paid for the cars with their own money, parked nicely without any inconveniences to public, why would we want to meddle and dictate what others should do with their lives

Hogging lots in Level 1 MSCP is still not too bad.

There is even 1 aunty who parks her audi at the void deck, probably thinking  that she is still in the show room.

Does anyone one know this aunty, and btw how do you make someone go to see a psychiatrist to do a mental checkup, voluntarily?

https://mothership.sg/2020/08/audi-hdb-void-deck-parking/

audi.JPG

I am the guilty one for looking to park on solo lots or those isolated corner lots.

It is because I had to park at these lots as my car cannot 100% reverse into the lot, my rear bumper will knock into the wall.

Mostly my car will protrude abit out from the lot so I scare those kuku drivers rip off my front bumper.😂 

2 hours ago, Nyox said:

I have a neighbour who does exactly that also. He's always parked in the first lot which also happens to be a solo lot, there are 2 other solo lots beside. 

Whenever his 'lot' is taken up by someone else, he probably suffers from anxiety and panic attacks and will constantly monitor the lot situation till the lot is vacated and he will shift his car, even if he is parked in the solo lot just beside. 

not only your neighbour,  i am sure alot of bro do that, i raise both hand. i alway go higher to park even if lower level got space, i want park beside middle stairs where its a 2 car lot design, my left side got no car, i can park tight tight, to have alot of space at my driver side😁

I also hog but I only do it on the 4th storey of the MSCP at my house where there are much less cars cos I scare ganna car owners that open car doors like nobody business. 

7 hours ago, Atrecord said:

At the place where i often go to tabao, there is one rather famous shop, biz v good, and they do retail as well as wholesale. Biz do big cos they have a few vans/lorries now and over the years.

There's a market next to the block where the shop is, so the carpark serving the residents and visitors there, is VERY OFTEN full. There have been a few times when i was in a hurry, went in, circled one round, can't find lots, then left and went other places to buy food.

In the nearest lot to the shop, for years, have been parked a (small) lorry. I'v noticed two:

1) for a few years, up till maybe last year, was one lorry whose number plate couldn't be found on onemotoring, so i can only imagine it's deregistered. The windows were also painted over, the cabin was full of cardboards, and there were two trolleys below the lorry, on the ground. All these all ok, as they should have paid for the season parking, like everyone here said (although not sure if dereg car can buy season parking or not...).

What irks me was this: that row only got maybe 5-6 lots, as it's v near the CP entrance, so this "left-most-corner lot", as the cement kerb on the left side, then right side are the other lots, before the right-most lot in that row has a cement kerb on the right.
And this lorry is parked with the right 2 tyres sitting on the edge of the line of the lot, so that the trolley got ample spare to be wheeled in betw the left side of the lorry and the cement kerb! 

This invariably means that any vehicle parking next to it, will have to park more to the right, just so to be able to open the car doors. And then the 3rd car will be affected and have to park right a bit also, for the same reason.

2) in the last year, it's another lorry, same size. But this one windows not painted, so it looks like still in use (I didn't check onemotoring), but everything else is the same, even the driver's seat in the cabin, is full of stuff like cardboard... Positioning is the same, and the trolley is still there...

Write in to complain if it irks you so. 

7 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Yes, very inconsiderate indeed.  Should write in to complain and have the car removed.