Voodooman Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 (edited) Like i said, you know yourself and the job better. You appear to have made up your mind. Suggest you learn to manage your stress a little so that it does not make the decision for you. Maybe you should take a couple of days off work. I usually run a lot during stressful period. Edited August 29, 2020 by Voodooman ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 (edited) Hang on in there. You are unhappy because you are way out of your comfort zone. Just take each task at it comes, read up, ask, and accomplish it to your best. Give it a year before throwing in the towel. I was also like you many many years ago. Loved and good in my engineering job. Then management thinks I'm better off in a new role. Threw me there. Sink or swim. Learn on the job. First presentation was suddenly to the CEO and c-suites to ask them to approve investment in new venture. He threw my papers away and said rubbish quality. I cannot even answer what he thought was his simple questions.... Use equity or loan for the project... I have never used the word equity in my entire life, I only know the engineering part.. lol. Already prepared resignation letter but I thought give it a shot lah, see where this life takes you. Also got kid due. In the end i put my head down, learn quickly and after a year the CEO made me in charge to develop billion dollar projects. But who knows, if I quit then and followed my engineering passion, I could have been a billionaire now.... Haha Or still looking for a job.. Edited August 29, 2020 by Karoon 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 (edited) 1 hour ago, Sunlight said: what if the company cannot find alternate to replace unless i quit? Maybe you could hint to your boss 1st and see what is his/her reaction, then you decide what to do next based on your boss reaction? Edited August 29, 2020 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 4 hours ago, Sunlight said: I have been in engineering industry for many years, but recently the work scope is becoming unbearable. I used to love getting my hands dirty and getting things done, but after promoting to my current position, i now have to face many problems. Nowadays i cannot sleep properly, stressing about work. As i am debt free, I am thinking whether i should quit and move into another industry and start all over again. If you are not happy about your work, get a transfer or quit it. I have never believe in sacrificing happiness for money. Life is too short to live with unhappiness and misery. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 What happened to MCF? The advertisement is Youtube Vevo Bloodhound gang. This is the coolest advert ever. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 7 minutes ago, Jamesc said: What happened to MCF? The advertisement is Youtube Vevo Bloodhound gang. This is the coolest advert ever. Wa.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 12 minutes ago, Yewheng said: Wa.. I clicked on the Youtube and it actually worked. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 25 minutes ago, Karoon said: Hang on in there. You are unhappy because you are way out of your comfort zone. Just take each task at it comes, read up, ask, and accomplish it to your best. Give it a year before throwing in the towel. I was also like you many many years ago. Loved and good in my engineering job. Then management thinks I'm better off in a new role. Threw me there. Sink or swim. Learn on the job. First presentation was suddenly to the CEO and c-suites to ask them to approve investment in new venture. He threw my papers away and said rubbish quality. I cannot even answer what he thought was his simple questions.... Use equity or loan for the project... I have never used the word equity in my entire life, I only know the engineering part.. lol. Already prepared resignation letter but I thought give it a shot lah, see where this life takes you. Also got kid due. In the end i put my head down, learn quickly and after a year the CEO made me in charge to develop billion dollar projects. But who knows, if I quit then and followed my engineering passion, I could have been a billionaire now.... Haha Or still looking for a job.. It must have been stressful but after a while, you pick up their thought process. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 7 minutes ago, Voodooman said: It must have been stressful but after a while, you pick up their thought process. You mean limit can be pushed? It really depends on individual.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 36 minutes ago, Yewheng said: You mean limit can be pushed? It really depends on individual.. Yes.. most people are not aware of their limits till they are stretched. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 (edited) I was in similar situation as you previously, abt 1.5 yrs ago. I did not get any promotion but instead my job scope increased due to manpower cut. One person doing 3 person work and immediate superior expect 4 person result. Everyday was a hectic day. Then I came across WSG's PCP advert for PT. That changed my mind and wondered if I could do a career switch. Attended various talks from WSG and the uni providing the program, SIT. After careful consideration at the course curriculum and speaking to @RadX, decided to give up on PT as the course curriculum is too much for me. Decided to go for Radiographer PCP path. In 3 days, it is my 1 year studying in the Uni now!!! Looking back of the past 1 year, have not yet regretted my decision!!! Looking forward to my clinical attachment mid next month. Everything is very new to me, from my previous lifestyle till now. Just to let you know, to be able to enter any healthcare program by SIT is not simple at all. There are limited places with overwhelming applicants. PT course is abt 200 slots per academic year but there are 3,000+ applicants. For Radiographer, there are 80 slots and about 1,000+ applicants. You will need to go thru essay writing and four interviews, testing your teamwork with stranger, scenario role playing, situational reaction and lastly 1 to 1 interview with a senior Radiographer from one of the many hospitals. To be a practising PT, OT, DR, RT, Dietitian, Speech therapist, etc, you need a degree now and be registered with AHPC. If you would like to know more, can PM me. https://conversion.mycareersfuture.gov.sg/portal/ProgramDetails.aspx?ProgID=P00000435 https://www.healthprofessionals.gov.sg/ahpc If you really interested and no other commitments, go for it!!! Edited August 29, 2020 by Adrianli 15 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 5 minutes ago, Adrianli said: I was in similar situation as you previously, abt 1.5 yrs ago. I did not get any promotion but instead my job scope increased due to manpower cut. One person doing 3 person work and immediate superior expect 4 person result. Everyday was a hectic day. Then I came across WSG's PCP advert for PT. That changed my mind and wondered if I could do a career switch. Attended various talks from WSG and the uni providing the program, SIT. After careful consideration at the course curriculum and speaking to @RadX, decided to give up on PT as the course curriculum is too much for me. Decided to go for Radiographer PCP path. In 3 days, it is my 1 year studying in the Uni now!!! Looking back of the past 1 year, have not yet regretted my decision!!! Looking forward to my clinical attachment mid next month. Everything is very new to me, from my previous lifestyle till now. Just to let you know, to be able to enter any healthcare program by SIT is not simple at all. There are limited places with overwhelming applicants. PT course is abt 200 slots per academic year but there are 3,000+ applicants. For Radiographer, there are 80 slots and about 1,000+ applicants. You will need to go thru essay writing and four interviews, testing your teamwork with stranger, scenario role playing, situational reaction and lastly 1 to 1 interview with a senior Radiographer from one of the many hospitals. To be a practising PT, OT, DR, RT, Dietitian, Speech therapist, etc, you need a degree now and be registered with AHPC. If you would like to know more, can PM me. https://www.healthprofessionals.gov.sg/ahpc If you really interested and no other commitments, go for it!!! I thought you are in NUS. So your campus is at Dover road. My daughter will be starting her yr 1 Physiotherapists in one week time and like most of the class are home base. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 (edited) 18 minutes ago, Tohto said: I thought you are in NUS. So your campus is at Dover road. My daughter will be starting her yr 1 Physiotherapists in one week time and like most of the class are home base. We go to NUS Science Faculty for Anatomy practical. NUS and SIT has this collaboration. In fact most of our anatomy lecturers are from NUS. Same lecturers who are teaching the doctors too. Tell your daughter, that we are using both Martini and Sherwood text book. PT also need to have good physics knowledge especially for law of moments. Need to know where the pivot points of the body and how to calculate them. Too chim for me. Hear my PT classmates, I sweating liao. Edited August 29, 2020 by Adrianli 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 32 minutes ago, Adrianli said: We go to NUS Science Faculty for Anatomy practical. NUS and SIT has this collaboration. In fact most of our anatomy lecturers are from NUS. Same lecturers who are teaching the doctors too. Tell your daughter, that we are using both Martini and Sherwood text book. PT also need to have good physics knowledge especially for law of moments. Need to know where the pivot points of the body and how to calculate them. Too chim for me. Hear my PT classmates, I sweating liao. Thanks for your information. I will share with my daughter. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear August 29, 2020 Author Share August 29, 2020 55 minutes ago, Adrianli said: I was in similar situation as you previously, abt 1.5 yrs ago. I did not get any promotion but instead my job scope increased due to manpower cut. One person doing 3 person work and immediate superior expect 4 person result. Everyday was a hectic day. Then I came across WSG's PCP advert for PT. That changed my mind and wondered if I could do a career switch. Attended various talks from WSG and the uni providing the program, SIT. After careful consideration at the course curriculum and speaking to @RadX, decided to give up on PT as the course curriculum is too much for me. Decided to go for Radiographer PCP path. In 3 days, it is my 1 year studying in the Uni now!!! Looking back of the past 1 year, have not yet regretted my decision!!! Looking forward to my clinical attachment mid next month. Everything is very new to me, from my previous lifestyle till now. Just to let you know, to be able to enter any healthcare program by SIT is not simple at all. There are limited places with overwhelming applicants. PT course is abt 200 slots per academic year but there are 3,000+ applicants. For Radiographer, there are 80 slots and about 1,000+ applicants. You will need to go thru essay writing and four interviews, testing your teamwork with stranger, scenario role playing, situational reaction and lastly 1 to 1 interview with a senior Radiographer from one of the many hospitals. To be a practising PT, OT, DR, RT, Dietitian, Speech therapist, etc, you need a degree now and be registered with AHPC. If you would like to know more, can PM me. https://conversion.mycareersfuture.gov.sg/portal/ProgramDetails.aspx?ProgID=P00000435 https://www.healthprofessionals.gov.sg/ahpc If you really interested and no other commitments, go for it!!! Thanks bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 Just now, Tohto said: Thanks for your information. I will share with my daughter. There is google drive for the various textbooks that were shared. If your daughter's seniors never shared with her, PM me. I can share the link with you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 2 minutes ago, Adrianli said: There is google drive for the various textbooks that were shared. If your daughter's seniors never shared with her, PM me. I can share the link with you. Thank you, thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 29, 2020 Share August 29, 2020 (edited) 8 hours ago, Turboflat4 said: Very good. I was about to mention the Peter Principle myself. Funny how many eponymous principles operate in the workplace. Murphy's Law - why your office photocopier/printer/email server must conk out exactly in time for your big presentation to the bigwigs. Peter Principle - why your boss is not qualified to do his job and you're barely qualified to do your own. Parkinson's Law - why extended deadlines always mean expanded work and why your project expenses will never, ever come within any predetermined budget. Pareto Principle - why 80 percent of the screws up in your office happen because of 20 percent of staff. As to why that 20 percent also happen to be management favourites and therefore un-fire-able, see Peter and Murphy above. I was never trained in professional mismanagement, yet I picked up all these things. 😁 I learn management from Dilbert series one, especially one great one: The boss rewards above average performers with more work until their performance becomes average..... https://dilbert.com/strip/2004-04-05 So don't wipe those tables too quickly - you will be assigned more tables till you can't finish your work! Edited August 29, 2020 by Volvobrick ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...