CK Tangs is damm stupid to disallow malay promoters wearing headscarf

Jusnel

Walau this year 2020 already. Still running the company like a Chinese towkay with "traditional values" tsk tsk tsk...

President also buay songz liao

Discrimination has no place in S’pore society, says President Halimah; Tangs to allow staff, promoters to wear hijab
Read more at https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/discrimination-has-no-place-spore-society-says-president-halimah-tangs-allow-staff

20170911_halimah01_0_0_0.jpg?itok=v1iITw

1 hour ago, Jusnel said:

Our President is still wearing her headscarf from her first govt position to President position.  She not part of civil service?

And u look at MOE schools, those muslim teachers, how many are wearing headscarf? Every single one..... 

Perhaps you didn't know there is a policy on this matter  for the civil service.

Go read these:

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/allowing-hijab-problematic-some-jobs-yaacob

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/govts-stance-tudung-issue-evolving-says-pm-lee

Both are published around 2013-2014 when there was a debate on this matter.

52 minutes ago, Jusnel said:

I couldn't rem this policy coz I have been seeing civil servants wearing headscarf for as long as I rem since young.  Unless it's for safety or operational reasons, they shld not be denied this right. 

Tangs problem is they ban it due to professionalism reason. This one sure kena left right centre because they are indirectly saying our President is not professional in her duty as the President?  Can they prove that our President is not professional in her job?

If they dare to admit this repercussion, then good luck to them.

What "job" does our president do ah?

Kindly enlighten us

I would not be so quick to jump on the fact that CK Tang is a "Chinese" business, when the issue is more about religion.

The older ones among us will remember it was unique among all large department stores in staying shut every Sunday, up until 1994, and the owner had stated the reason for it why this was a practice up to that point.

I leave you to make your own theories why this situation may have arisen. 

14 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

Perhaps you didn't know there is a policy on this matter  for the civil service.

Go read these:

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/allowing-hijab-problematic-some-jobs-yaacob

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/govts-stance-tudung-issue-evolving-says-pm-lee

Both are published around 2013-2014 when there was a debate on this matter.

I actually discussed this with my wife when i first heard she was the one going to get nominated (instead of abdullah Tarmugi who was my expected candidate). But forgot about this issue along the way.

3 minutes ago, Macrosszero said:

I would not be so quick to jump on the fact that CK Tang is a "Chinese" business, when the issue is more about religion.

The older ones among us will remember it was unique among all large department stores in staying shut every Sunday, up until 1994, and the owner had stated the reason for it why this was a practice up to that point.

I leave you to make your own theories why this situation may have arisen. 

Actually sometimes this kind of outdated practices may have not been reviewed until stuff like this happens.

Its hypocrisy coz they dont allow staff to wear religious attire, but they allow customers with religious attire to come in freely. 

So what's their reason behind it?  

They want money from all kinds of customers but they don't allow all kinds of people to work for them. 

It doesn't gel.... everything must work both ways.

19 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

I actually discussed this with my wife when i first heard she was the one going to get nominated (instead of abdullah Tarmugi who was my expected candidate). But forgot about this issue along the way.

I knew about this policy after reading LKY's book, the Hard truth on page 231.  Wonderful book that reveals a lot.

Edited by Icedbs

7 minutes ago, Icedbs said:

I knew about this policy after reading LKY's book, the Hard truth on page 231.  That was way back in 2011 I think.

I only know you  read the book like a Bible. Respect respect.

59 minutes ago, mikk123 said:

Tang is private business right? they can't decide what their staff uniform should be? i don't think it is racist. 

Yes.. People and businesses are free to make choices. In free market, if people or business make bad decisions, it will come and hunt them. No need government to step in or set what anti discrimination law or what. 

Like for this Tang case, it come back to hunt them as their reputation now affected, so they have to make to do correct to gain back the reputation. No need law to do that. 

I think that time when I brought my kid to KKH was most funny. Cos the nurses and admin staff dont wear the tudung during working hours (I dunno the reason behind it). When it's knock off time they "transform" into another person cos some look Chinese to me and it turns out they are Malay Muslim. They say "bye" to me and I was like wondering who these women are. LoL...I gave the puzzled look and they laughed and walked away.

Only then I notice nurses and the staff at KKH none of them wear the head scarf while at work. For Tangs I think it's old news.Their work policy has been like that for ages. I think it's the same reason for air stewardess. Whatever it is.

I think it's not stupid. It's just a company policy. Just like wherever you go there are rules to follow. Ppl do have a choice. If it really matters to them they can choose not to work in these companies or organisation. Not need to kick up a big fuss.

• Praise 10

All this is because of growing religiosity in societies. Growing up in the 80s, there was never an issue. People just seemed more liberal and more accepting then. Not just here, but regionally even in our neighbouring countries.

But suddenly as the 90s progressed to the 00s, we see more and more such "form/appearance" taking precedence and religion became something to wear on your sleeve and something very important for others to see. Of course, not everybody has this motive, but we can't deny that there are some people who think along these lines, that "appearance of adherence" is very very important.

Don't believe - just take a glance through those old movies produced by cathay / keris film studios here in the 50s and 60s ..... in those days, wear figure-hugging kebaya and displaying immaculately coiffed hair is okay, so what happened since then? We have to be honest with ourselves.

Edited by Sosaria

1 hour ago, Watwheels said:

I think that time when I brought my kid to KKH was most funny. Cos the nurses and admin staff dont wear the tudung during working hours (I dunno the reason behind it). When it's knock off time they "transform" into another person cos some look Chinese to me and it turns out they are Malay Muslim. They say "bye" to me and I was like wondering who these women are. LoL...I gave the puzzled look and they laughed and walked away.

Only then I notice nurses and the staff at KKH none of them wear the head scarf while at work. For Tangs I think it's old news.Their work policy has been like that for ages. I think it's the same reason for air stewardess. Whatever it is.

I think it's not stupid. It's just a company policy. Just like wherever you go there are rules to follow. Ppl do have a choice. If it really matters to them they can choose not to work in these companies or organisation. Not need to kick up a big fuss.

Can work in semiconductor wafer fab ... everyday in clean room, expose only the eyes. Best. We learned to recognize all the staff and expressions by reading the eyes alone [laugh] And the "bunny suit" is very baggy, no curves shown.

But funny thing is, after seeing everyone covering up like that, exposed ankles suddenly look very arousing 

Edited by Sosaria

51 minutes ago, Sosaria said:

Can work in semiconductor wafer fab ... everyday in clean room, expose only the eyes. Best. We learned to recognize all the staff and expressions by reading the eyes alone [laugh] And the "bunny suit" is very baggy, no curves shown.

But funny thing is, after seeing everyone covering up like that, exposed ankles suddenly look very arousing 

I usually hear with a handful of salt when it comes to religious belief of the DOs and Donts.

I mean many of you are like me as well, curious then go ask colleagues and friends. "Really, really cannot?" Where? Which book which verse? When they cant give me a definitive answer I go to Google. "Where in the Qxxxxxx say must wear the hajib?". Or "what Axxxx say about hajib?". There is no specific answer. Just want the women to properly cover their body.

Other religious belief like cannot eat beef lah blah blah blah...So again being curious I ask where they heard it from. Which monk which temple? Hahaha....Again mostly vague answers like come from hearsay or rumour. Google my best friend. Cant find. But came across a video on what a Buddhist monk say about the cannot eat beef belief. Knn who say cannot eat beef wan come out and slap yourself in the face. LoL...

Then they are those who force their own fear or belief on others. When a guide dog is refuse entry at one of the Subway branch. One of the boy staff say no dogs allowed into the restaurant. But when the blind woman complain the  F&B establishment and MUIS say it's ok.

So I find it funny when ppl do not have in depth knowledge on their own religious belief and yet they go around telling ppl of the DOs and Donts. Wtf man. That's why I say listen with a handful of salt. I believe in Google more than what others say. Haha...

3 hours ago, Jusnel said:

Its hypocrisy coz they dont allow staff to wear religious attire, but they allow customers with religious attire to come in freely. 

So what's their reason behind it?  

They want money from all kinds of customers but they don't allow all kinds of people to work for them. 

It doesn't gel.... everything must work both ways.

You ever see any Malay food stalls employ chinese helper?  

You got see Malay food stalls sell food to Chinese? 

You ever see Malay food stalls allow their helpers eat pork in their stalls? 

You got see Malay food stalls sell food to Chinese who ate pork in front of their stalls? 

Like that can gel?  Why must everything work both ways? 

Without fail,  and always,  those asking for both ways are usually the ones in the receiving way,  the upper hands tell you, my way or the high way.... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

3 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

You got see Malay food stalls sell food to Chinese who ate pork in front of their stalls? 

Without fail,  and always,  those asking for both ways are usually the ones in the receiving way,  the upper hands tell you, my way or the high way.... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I got see Indian Muslim cafe sell Mui-fan and Horfun.😂

No pork of course.

9 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Yes, I have seen malay stall employ Chinese leh. U never see before ah?

Even got indian stall or restaurant employ Chinese workers. U never see before?