Columbian78 6th Gear August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) Below is an accident video captured from my rear view camera. A car was exiting carpark service road onto main road and collided with an oncoming bicycle carrying an adult and a child. I believe the accident occurred because both the driver's view to whatever is coming from the left and also the cyclist's view of car exiting are blocked by a cluster of plants. So I wrote an email to the town council to suggest removal of the plant cluster hazard. The above photos and the accident video were attached. The next day, the plant cluster was gone. I just want to share this case with MCF. If you observe hazards on your daily drive, do feedback to the relevant authority to take action. Our HDB estates have similar pattern so this type of hazards could be common. If you are aware please do feedback. I am sorry that the accident happened but I think it had an impact to push people to take action. I myself am guilty of that. I should have taken action earlier. I am ok if you want to use my video and photos as ref to feedback for your own cases to take action. Edited August 19, 2020 by Columbian78 ↡ Advertisement 18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 think the TC more open to suggestions and feedback than LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 But the car has to come to a full stop at the white line, right? There's a "stop" signage but the line of sight is blocked I have to agree. The cyclist should slow and stop to look as well. Accidents usually takes two to make it happen unfortunately. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 2 hours ago, Ysc3 said: think the TC more open to suggestions and feedback than LTA. Yes. LTA is worst of the worst. I reported similar situation at Bukit Buttocks area (plants next to an unnecessary guard rail just before the zebra crossing at a left turning slip road) to LTA, asking then to remove both the plants and the guard rail as it obstructs driver's view, especially of small kids waiting to cross. LTA just passed the problem to NParks to trim the plants instead of a permanent solution. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 27 minutes ago, Volvobrick said: Yes. LTA is worst of the worst. I reported similar situation at Bukit Buttocks area (plants next to an unnecessary guard rail just before the zebra crossing at a left turning slip road) to LTA, asking then to remove both the plants and the guard rail as it obstructs driver's view, especially of small kids waiting to cross. LTA just passed the problem to NParks to trim the plants instead of a permanent solution. Goes to show that lta has more educated scholars that the tc. Cannot take feedback from public. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 Driver also not defensive driving, when the view is block have to stop or go at a very slow speed to make sure is clear. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 We overplant junctions, car park exits/entrances. All in the name of greening. Sometimes the view is blocked by those big blue recycling bins. 2 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 1 hour ago, Volvobrick said: Yes. LTA is worst of the worst. I reported similar situation at Bukit Buttocks area (plants next to an unnecessary guard rail just before the zebra crossing at a left turning slip road) to LTA, asking then to remove both the plants and the guard rail as it obstructs driver's view, especially of small kids waiting to cross. LTA just passed the problem to NParks to trim the plants instead of a permanent solution. The "not our purview" syndrome that's rampant across public service. Mosquito breeding in roadside drains is one example. LTA owns the road, NEA owns the mosquito problem, water draining comes under PUB, NParks owns the trees overhanging the drain. The trick is to cc all related agencies and your MP when emailing complaints. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Kklim said: The "not our purview" syndrome that's rampant across public service. Mosquito breeding in roadside drains is one example. LTA owns the road, NEA owns the mosquito problem, water draining comes under PUB, NParks owns the trees overhanging the drain. The trick is to cc all related agencies and your MP when emailing complaints. Use 1service lo. A few clicks DONE. What you said will not change until civil servants understand Customer Centric Edited August 20, 2020 by inlinesix Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 47 minutes ago, Kklim said: The "not our purview" syndrome that's rampant across public service. Mosquito breeding in roadside drains is one example. LTA owns the road, NEA owns the mosquito problem, water draining comes under PUB, NParks owns the trees overhanging the drain. The trick is to cc all related agencies and your MP when emailing complaints. From their perspective, "hit a cyclist/pedestrian?", "aiya, car insurance settle lo". "Dont come and bother me."😂 LTA gotto send ppl down, Nparks got to send their landscape contractor down to quote. Maybe cost a few thousand taxpayer dollar to migrate the plants to somewhere. Gotto write report, get approval for funding, blah blah blah.... Sua lah. Let car insurance coy settle. 😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear August 20, 2020 Author Share August 20, 2020 11 hours ago, Ysc3 said: think the TC more open to suggestions and feedback than LTA. Yes, at least my TC is quite responsive to my feedback over the years. 1. The above mentioned plants cluster was promptly removed 1 day after feedback. However I did not give them much compliment as I feel they have some responsibility in the first place when they allowed those plant hazards to be placed there without some safety assessment. 2. When i first moved into my flat, one of the rooms was leaking in water from outside whenever there is heavy rain. Feedback and TC sent workers to apply some sort of sealant to plug the leak from outside. They had to build scaffold externally to my flat (not high level) to do it. I was told if high floor they have to bring in the gondola. The leak was solved permanently. 3. Water pipe outside my home was creating hammering noise. Feedback and they get plumber to come and changed some fitting. Problem solved. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 Yes they need to do a Brazilian and trim the bush. Anyway this is a blind corner and the onus is on the cyclist to stop, check its clear before crossing. Some buildings have a brick wall at the entrance and anyone walking or cycling needs to slow down and make sure no car coming out before moving IF they don't want to get hit. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 20, 2020 Share August 20, 2020 (edited) All plays a part in this accident, the bush the driver the cyclist. But the driver is a screw up, hit someone still can drive forward to stop his car properly. He cannot even see if anyone roll underneath his car or any limbs under his wheels. It is a rule that one cannot move the vehicle if there are injuries and if not sure must stop to confirm before moving the vehicle. I will never forget my driving instructor scolding when i hit a pole during parking and never brake straight away, he say wah you hit something never stop ah. If its someone's leg it will be broken. Edited August 20, 2020 by Xers007 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 21, 2020 Share August 21, 2020 8 hours ago, Xers007 said: All plays a part in this accident, the bush the driver the cyclist. But the driver is a screw up, hit someone still can drive forward to stop his car properly. He cannot even see if anyone roll underneath his car or any limbs under his wheels. It is a rule that one cannot move the vehicle if there are injuries and if not sure must stop to confirm before moving the vehicle. I will never forget my driving instructor scolding when i hit a pole during parking and never brake straight away, he say wah you hit something never stop ah. If its someone's leg it will be broken. Maybe trained in China. If run over someone must run over a few times. Because dead is cheaper than pay people injured. Its logical so people do it to save money. People say China mad but its not mad. Its the cheaper thing to do. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 21, 2020 Share August 21, 2020 14 hours ago, Columbian78 said: Yes, at least my TC is quite responsive to my feedback over the years. 1. The above mentioned plants cluster was promptly removed 1 day after feedback. However I did not give them much compliment as I feel they have some responsibility in the first place when they allowed those plant hazards to be placed there without some safety assessment. In General, TC staff don't walk the estate that much. They will not see what you see. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Columbian78 6th Gear August 21, 2020 Author Share August 21, 2020 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: In General, TC staff don't walk the estate that much. They will not see what you see. This brings me back to my intention in creating this thread. I have no comments about driver or pavement user is right or wrong. I am familiar with that junction and i know it is a lose lose junction. My mistake is not doing something about it early. We as the daily road user sees the problem and we have the responsibility to tale action on it. For ourselves. We or our family could be the victims since we are often there. I am sure you guys face something hazardous like this in your estate so just feedback. Does not hurt to take a few photos and send an email. No need to shout or bang table, you only do that when something happen on yourself. Take my video or case as an example to emphasize if you need to. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 Bicycle went against the flow of traffic; Driver must be have a stiff neck (which many drivers have), failing to keep a look out to the front! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 24, 2020 Share August 24, 2020 On 8/20/2020 at 6:11 PM, Columbian78 said: Yes, at least my TC is quite responsive to my feedback over the years. 1. The above mentioned plants cluster was promptly removed 1 day after feedback. However I did not give them much compliment as I feel they have some responsibility in the first place when they allowed those plant hazards to be placed there without some safety assessment. 2. When i first moved into my flat, one of the rooms was leaking in water from outside whenever there is heavy rain. Feedback and TC sent workers to apply some sort of sealant to plug the leak from outside. They had to build scaffold externally to my flat (not high level) to do it. I was told if high floor they have to bring in the gondola. The leak was solved permanently. 3. Water pipe outside my home was creating hammering noise. Feedback and they get plumber to come and changed some fitting. Problem solved. Still must depend on the area you feedback. If the area belongs to LTA, TC still cannot do anything and maybe just help you to cc to LTA, and then depends on LTA if they want to do anything about it liao. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...