RadX Moderator August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/singapore-enters-worst-recession-55-years-mti-downgrades-growth-forecast ↡ Advertisement 2 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 11, 2020 Author Share August 11, 2020 Brace up all its gonna be a long road ahead 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 Recession? Where got? See outside many people still spend like no tomorrow and property and coe still high?! Lol. 1 12 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 2 minutes ago, 13177 said: Recession? Where got? See outside many people still spend like no tomorrow and property and coe still high?! Lol. Good lah! importantly those can afford to spend DO CONTINUE to spend.. if not the economy really tanked.. 11 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 13 minutes ago, 13177 said: Recession? Where got? See outside many people still spend like no tomorrow and property and coe still high?! Lol. it show how big our gap between top and btm is. 4 2 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 26 minutes ago, Beregond said: it show how big our gap between top and btm is. Gap is always there.. just that this pandemic is different in a way that not all companies/industries are affected in the same way.. some grew stronger.. look at Apple.. look at Top Glove/UG Healthcare etc..these companies employees you would be doing better.. even for freight mover they are doing better than before.. so with this promising salary/bonus they will be in a much better position to spend.. and PLEASE DO SPEND.. If they don spend the gap be even wider.. 14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 Q2 was our CB. I think it's not unexpected that our economy is worse performing than expected. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 If u post this before GE ppl will say you pap fearmongering 1 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 Hopefully those retrenched in Q2 can find job soon....not easy, but hang in there. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 After elections, all the bad news coming out.... But never adjust those ministars celery lei.. Really WTF.. 2 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 49 minutes ago, Ody_2004 said: Gap is always there.. just that this pandemic is different in a way that not all companies/industries are affected in the same way.. some grew stronger.. look at Apple.. look at Top Glove/UG Healthcare etc..these companies employees you would be doing better.. even for freight mover they are doing better than before.. so with this promising salary/bonus they will be in a much better position to spend.. and PLEASE DO SPEND.. If they don spend the gap be even wider.. ya i know, the gap is alway there. just that this cov 19 make the gap more prominent for all to see. i remember some years back, there is a thread on average wages of singaporean. the figure given is about 5-6k. i was really stun, how many ppl is earning below average their whole life 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Beregond said: ya i know, the gap is alway there. just that this cov 19 make the gap more prominent for all to see. i remember some years back, there is a thread on average wages of singaporean. the figure given is about 5-6k. i was really stun, how many ppl is earning below average their whole life Recession time all those with $$$ will come out to buy. BUT also not everyone has been hit yet becos of Gahmen support and JSS. The next few months will see the real inpact, even I also worried. Edited August 11, 2020 by Mockngbrd 5 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 17 minutes ago, Beregond said: ya i know, the gap is alway there. just that this cov 19 make the gap more prominent for all to see. i remember some years back, there is a thread on average wages of singaporean. the figure given is about 5-6k. i was really stun, how many ppl is earning below average their whole life If the thread on average wages of sporean is 5-6k some years back, then i assume the average wages now should be higher than 5-6k liao? Anyway, i really curious to know how many sporean is earning 5-6k wages and what is the average age of this group of people? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said: Gap is always there.. just that this pandemic is different in a way that not all companies/industries are affected in the same way.. some grew stronger.. look at Apple.. look at Top Glove/UG Healthcare etc..these companies employees you would be doing better.. even for freight mover they are doing better than before.. so with this promising salary/bonus they will be in a much better position to spend.. and PLEASE DO SPEND.. If they don spend the gap be even wider.. Even F&B has been affected unevenly. Those F&B outlets based in CBD or Business parks are badly hit. While those F&B based in suburban shopping centers / neighborhood centers are doing a roaring trade with business from WFH folks. Car sales holding steady. AD asking those who bought during CB promotions to top up COE. Private property market moving aggressively. Even HDB resale is booming. Those BTO that just MOP-ed, $800k+ for circuit road 4-roomer. $700k+ for Sengkang 5-roomer. An acquaintance doing freight forwarding is doing so well that her company is hiring aggressively. Different mileage for different folk. But no matter what, we've got to get through this together as a country or else someone else is going to steal our lunch! 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 Today have to announce part one of cost cutting measure for my coy... Clear annual leave. Coz the coy previously would buy unconsumed leave from the staff... But this year Coy cannot buy liow... 😩 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 (edited) 15 minutes ago, 13177 said: If the thread on average wages of sporean is 5-6k some years back, then i assume the average wages now should be higher than 5-6k liao? Anyway, i really curious to know how many sporean is earning 5-6k wages and what is the average age of this group of people? The key word is average not medium. . There will sure have many super high earners like earn 100k per month, 200k per month, 300k per month and more.. Even though these percentage is low, but because the number is so high, even with small %, it could push up average Singaporeans salary figure to be higher then medium Singaporeans salary. So the one we should look at is at the halfway point which is medium salary.. Edited August 11, 2020 by Yewheng 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 2 hours ago, 13177 said: Recession? Where got? See outside many people still spend like no tomorrow and property and coe still high?! Lol. Those who buy now will regret greatly 😁 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
noobcarbuyer 5th Gear August 11, 2020 Share August 11, 2020 (edited) 38 minutes ago, Beregond said: ya i know, the gap is alway there. just that this cov 19 make the gap more prominent for all to see. i remember some years back, there is a thread on average wages of singaporean. the figure given is about 5-6k. i was really stun, how many ppl is earning below average their whole life Quite common. There are many single bread winners on $2k to $3k, supporting a family of 4 or 5. 3-rm HDB. Small motorbike or public transport. Hand me downs for furniture / clothing. Require budgeting and having a clearly defined margin between needs and wants. In my line of work, I have met many. Most are doing ok but some do fall through the cracks and we have to get them the assistance they need. Edited August 11, 2020 by noobcarbuyer ↡ Advertisement 6 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...