inlinesix Hypersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 1 minute ago, Victor68 said: Our government agencies tend to engage these FT as consultants or speakers especially on subjects such as environmental, lighting consultant, security, webinar, etc. I have opportunity to attend some of their talks but honestly, I didn't find any value added stuff. 1 thing for sure, they are much more vocal than our locals. Maybe our uni need to focus on this aspect. Speaking up vocally is NOT Asian culture. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 (edited) 13 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Our government agencies tend to engage these FT as consultants or speakers especially on subjects such as environmental, lighting consultant, security, webinar, etc. I have opportunity to attend some of their talks but honestly, I didn't find any value added stuff. 1 thing for sure, they are much more vocal than our locals. Maybe our uni need to focus on this aspect. Our singaporean is towards do what you say and hence do not wish to boastful about what they will do in case the outcome leads to a undesirable outcome. while the others will speak more than work and commit on the locals behalf. As you have rightfully mentioned. Consultant. As in advisory model . Can advised. Doing is really up to the individuals . and from my observations. The more vocal singaporean will get shot down by the peers because it will require everyone to Chip into the work . bad for the working landscape because will end up with even more work. Yet the management will hire more senior to manage the workers as they will not want to risk the bonding of the workers and cause a issue with why promote him and not me situation I wonder for the discrimination, what is the workers union opinion and where do they stand on such issues? I am sure in other countries like UK, the company will be slap with boycotting of their products. But I don’t relished the idea of causing more pain. More of a resolution to make good of the situation Edited September 6, 2020 by Sdf4786k 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 2 hours ago, inlinesix said: Speaking up vocally is NOT Asian culture. I know and definitely have witnessed this over the years but our colonial past and western aspirations tell us these are talents. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 These expats are certainly very appreciative of Asian girls and the low tax environment here. They are not here for charity you know? There is no need to treat them like colonial masters... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 (edited) 37 minutes ago, Weez911 said: These expats are certainly very appreciative of Asian girls and the low tax environment here. They are not here for charity you know? There is no need to treat them like colonial masters... yalor ... for a sporean to go amdk land to become FT ... you know how hard it is but amdk want it to be sleazy easy for amdk to become FT here? they better show they worth it and not TCSS here .... Edited September 6, 2020 by Wt_know 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 3 hours ago, inlinesix said: Speaking up vocally is NOT Asian culture. You speak up, you get slap 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 (edited) 11 hours ago, Atonchia said: Singaporeans are self entitled bunch.... Funny leh. Then why UK have Brexit? Why hah? Thought they love cheap foreign labours? Thought they love highly mobile professionals from other EU countries??? Why they come SG think they very TK? I am gonna disagree with you here. UK wants a Brexit. LONDON does not want a Brexit so yes they welcome cheap labour. And for apple to apple comparison we should be comparing London and Singapore and not UK and Singapore. When I was in London last year, the people there were dead set against Brexit. But its only London. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Results_of_the_2016_United_Kingdom_European_Union_membership_referendum And probably the ones working in London are the same people making noise here. Edited September 6, 2020 by Philipkee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 1 hour ago, Mustank said: You speak up, you get slap Our parliament shows you how we treat people who speaks up when you are not part of them or imported to speak. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 (edited) 3 hours ago, Philipkee said: I am gonna disagree with you here. UK wants a Brexit. LONDON does not want a Brexit so yes they welcome cheap labour. And for apple to apple comparison we should be comparing London and Singapore and not UK and Singapore. When I was in London last year, the people there were dead set against Brexit. But its only London. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Results_of_the_2016_United_Kingdom_European_Union_membership_referendum And probably the ones working in London are the same people making noise here. https://www.forbes.com/sites/reenitadas/2016/06/27/what-does-brexit-mean-for-uks-nhs-and-healthcare-in-europe/#72a3c9086448 I recall it was the promised of healtcare savings that never materialised as one of the key financial benefits. The United Kingdom’s decision to leave the European Union has sent shock waves across the world. The economic fallout is widely expected to result in a recession in the UK along with reduced GDP growth across several European countries. The United Kingdom Independent Party (UKIP), which has championed the cause for “Brexit,” has indicated that funds sent to the EU can be recovered and used to invest in the NHS, thereby improving quality of care provision; the facts, however, say otherwise. By 2020, UK’s National Health Service (NHS) is expected to face a shortage of around 16,000 primary care physicians. By 2022, nurse shortages are expected to be in the vicinity of 100,000. The UK has traditionally tried to fill the gap by recruiting both doctors and nurses from foreign countries, especially other EU countries. The guarantee of stable, long-term contracts is a huge draw for a broad range of care providers across different EU countries. With the UK voting to leave the European Union, citing immigration as one of the key reasons, the NHS will struggle in recruiting manpower from these countries. The biggest impact on manpower is expected to be in social care provision. The NHS has sought to recruit 100,000 social care workers to help manage chronically ill and elderly patients outside hospital settings. This is considered a critical aspect of healthcare transition as the UK seeks to reduce the spending on secondary care, which accounts for 78% of the total health budget, and place greater emphasis on primary and long term care, which currently account for around 22% of the total health budget. Most of these social workers are recruited from the EU, and the Brexit is set to guarantee continued vacancies for social care jobs. Some experts predict an exodus on existing social care workers back to their native countries, thereby making a bad situation worse. The NHS also seeks to bring about efficiency savings of £22 billion over the next few years. These savings are contingent upon transition of care away from hospital-based episodic care models to primary and long-term care based managed care models. Creation of integrated care solutions, linking the entire spectrum of care providers, is also necessary to improve efficiency of care provision. The lack of trained manpower will pose severe challenges to this transition. A key campaign promise made by the UKIP was the reallocation of £350 million sent to the EU by the UK every week towards NHS funding. With senior party leadership now backtracking away from this commitment, the NHS continues to remain as vulnerable as ever. The Economic Intelligence Unit predicts that by 2020, the UK NHS will spend £135 less per head if the UK leaves the EU. With rising healthcare costs, this will most certainly result in lower quality of care provision. Edited September 6, 2020 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 9 hours ago, Victor68 said: Our government agencies tend to engage these FT as consultants or speakers especially on subjects such as environmental, lighting consultant, security, webinar, etc. I have opportunity to attend some of their talks but honestly, I didn't find any value added stuff. 1 thing for sure, they are much more vocal than our locals. Maybe our uni need to focus on this aspect. Consultants ah? A lot of hog wash. Even fresh grads can be hired as consultants. Hahhaha. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 On 9/5/2020 at 2:45 PM, Playtime said: Wow.... 🤯 All the while mention 40plus... now suddenly 400???? Can it be suddenly so many new companies spring up? How's that possible? They transferring people from home countries here to avoid Corona??? Or all the while was so many but someone was hiding the figures???... that's why cry cry 😭😭in guilt?? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 7 hours ago, Weez911 said: These expats are certainly very appreciative of Asian girls and the low tax environment here. They are not here for charity you know? There is no need to treat them like colonial masters... It's kind of odd why some Asian girls cannot tell the difference between a handsome AMDK and one that is way below average. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 6, 2020 Author Share September 6, 2020 On 9/5/2020 at 12:20 PM, Wt_know said: wow ... 400 companies under MOM watch list? like CASE watching the ah beng and ah seng used car dealers? It tells me three things when there are 400 in the watch list. 1. Those who approved EP and SP have been sleeping. 2. The watcher is likely to be overwhelmed, therefore, not watching any more. 3. Those who have been telling us all is fine have been bulls**ting us. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 6, 2020 Author Share September 6, 2020 On 9/5/2020 at 6:02 PM, Throttle2 said: MOM = Fail in the private sector, the CEO would not just cry but step down or be dismissed by the board. Hhhmmmmmm....... when you have to watch here watch there until 400 over cases , it tells us that you either got no teeth to bite or you have teeth but dare not bite. So which is which? MOM fail ? MOM runs by who? From where ? 😀 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 1 hour ago, Windwaver said: It's kind of odd why some Asian girls cannot tell the difference between a handsome AMDK and one that is way below average. Angmoh can liao la. Full of beard, tummy, rude, arrogant, etc doesn't matter. AMDK syndrome ma. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 (edited) 3 hours ago, yishunite said: Brexit was the stupidest thing a nation has ever done to itself But i fear that if gahmen dont wake up their idea here in sg, ppl who have lost out of the sg dream will also vote for a stupid self harming govt that will make Brexit look like a success story Thats why we "free riders" needed to give them a tight slap. If they had "strong mandate" u think any of this labour issues would have surface? My UK friend based in London told me a lot doesn't want Brexit BUT because everyone assume the others will go and vote NO to Brexit, in the end no one went to vote or rather small numbers actually went to vote. Then it turned out those not living in London and who voted for YES is more than those who bothered to go vote NO. Damn...what syndrome is this ah? Hahaha...Free rider? Edited September 6, 2020 by Fcw75 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 11 minutes ago, Fcw75 said: My UK friend based in London told me a lot doesn't want Brexit BUT because everyone assume the others will go and vote NO to Brexit, in the end no one went to vote or rather small numbers actually went to vote. Then it turned out those not living in London and who voted for YES is more than those who bothered to go vote NO. Damn...what syndrome is this ah? Hahaha...Free rider? Free rider againnnnnn hahahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged September 6, 2020 Share September 6, 2020 25 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: It tells me three things when there are 400 in the watch list. 1. Those who approved EP and SP have been sleeping. 2. The watcher is likely to be overwhelmed, therefore, not watching any more. 3. Those who have been telling us all is fine have been bulls**ting us. There is pressure from top to be lenient to foreigner hiring. In the name of free market and so as to continue to make SG attractive to foreign companies to operate in, which holistically is not a wrong goal, the question is how open-legs you need to be before you become TOO attractive. I have seen one company - is literally a small shop of 3 CECAians, I believe probably at least 1 or 2 of them are PR. They are bidding for govt projects. They rent a small office in one of the new industrial buildings as office. Whenever they need certain expertise consultant, they fly someone down from CECAland whom I believe is just a 3rd party that they pay time for. This is the type of company which I feel is strange that it even exists here. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...