MOM takes action against 47 firms & investigating 240 others for possibly favouring foreign job applicants over S'poreans

Ct3833

12 hours ago, Mustank said:

The people has voted 

take it as that

please accept the people choice

No no, I am only asking for them to respect  my choice 😅

wow ... 400 companies under MOM watch list?

like CASE watching the ah beng and ah seng used car dealers? [sly] 

2020-09-05_121819.jpg

• Sad 1

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

2020-09-05_121819.jpg

If 400 is not a “cry” for help I don’t know what is. 

perhaps the WP should suggest on what tier of discrimination should be adjusted to be allowed to be on the watchlist .

Perhaps the responses learned from the interview of those 400 can be collated and shared. Other then those 400, how many of those are on providers for professional services to the Govt .

And is there a KYC for those vendors and consultants and contractors?. Obviously we don’t want another situation of I don’t know, HQ say one . You want to talk , talk to HQ. I only work here.

how was the whole work space manipulatied till we arrive at this state of numbness that we just have to suck it up because it’s a necessary to be beholden 

no wonder we keep saying no data. But what’s the point of the question? As if we can do anything about it.

i somehow wonder if my expectations is too intense. To think that mom and ica has a role to play as guardians of our new arrivals as well as mom as gatekeeper. Not just from a safe border approach but a collaborative dialogue for both areas to balance the working landscape.

Edited by Sdf4786k

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

2020-09-05_121819.jpg

Wow.... 🤯

All the while mention 40plus... now suddenly 400????

Can it be suddenly so many new companies spring up? How's that possible? They transferring people from home countries here to avoid Corona???

Or all the while was so many but someone was hiding the figures???... that's why cry cry 😭😭in guilt??

27 minutes ago, Playtime said:

Wow.... 🤯

All the while mention 40plus... now suddenly 400????

Can it be suddenly so many new companies spring up? How's that possible? They transferring people from home countries here to avoid Corona???

Or all the while was so many but someone was hiding the figures???... that's why cry cry 😭😭in guilt??

based on thread title ... 47 take action liao and 240+ possibly

113 ... still watch here watch there ... lol

Take action against 47, 247 under investigation and now 400 in watch list. Few thousands more let go close one eye they yet to review lah. News got to slowly release and test market mah. Haha 

MOM = Fail

in the private sector, the CEO would not just cry but step down or be dismissed by the board.

Hhhmmmmmm.......

when you have to watch here watch there until 400 over cases , it tells us that you either got no teeth to bite or you have teeth but dare not bite.   So which is which?

Edited by Throttle2

35 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

MOM = Fail

in the private sector, the CEO would not just cry but step down or be dismissed by the board.

Hhhmmmmmm.......

when you have to watch here watch there until 400 over cases , it tells us that you either got no teeth to bite or you have teeth but dare not bite.   So which is which?

I told my boss, i will help him watch but he say if you cannot produce result we cannot pay you whether you watch or sleep. 

On 9/2/2020 at 9:48 AM, No_worries said:

For Our education system , you just take a look at the textbooks being sold at Popular bookstore these days.

For example and I apologise in advance if my example is very simplistic , even till this day , the Sec 3 Additional maths curriculum still don’t explain well enough the fundamental of differential and integration and how calculus can be applied to say a practical problem, perhaps even using it to explain rates of change of the number of infected persons due to Covid 19 and past pandemics like the Spanish flu. What I see is endless drilling of problems and sums you having to memorise and drill sums in different permutation with no practical applications. Perhaps that’s when private tuition comes in handy.

I would be so brave as to say, when I was in Sec3, I almost drop my A maths as I couldn’t cope as the teachers got no time to explain to you. My parents hired a tutor and I eventually manage to score well enough to make it through O levels .

You can actually memorize the A Maths. Those in my same boat with mediocre Mathematical skills managed to do very well in A Maths after using the memorizing methodology, which I refused. Naturally, I did very badly in A Maths and they managed to pass very decently by memorizing. LOL

The only questions I managed to do and get some marks are statistics which the teacher will not want to teach since they are optional and very difficult to teach for the teacher.

Edited by Kangadrool

6 hours ago, Throttle2 said:

MOM = Fail

Hhhmmmmmm.......

2020-09-06_003056.jpg

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/b2bsocialmarketing_minimum-qualifying-salary-to-rise-by-s600-activity-6705264946063671296-Hm6K

Wah... AMTK not happy that Gov make changes to ensure locals can get jobs from major MNC..... 

Singaporeans are self entitled bunch.... 

Funny leh. 

Then why UK have Brexit? 

Why hah? 

Thought they love cheap foreign labours? 

Thought they love highly mobile professionals from other EU countries??? 

Why they come SG think they very TK? 

Not happy, they can leave.... Aiyah... Got pandemic as excuse to stay as leaches on our great personal income tax differences from their home country. 

Edited by Atonchia

2 hours ago, Atonchia said:

https://www.linkedin.com/posts/b2bsocialmarketing_minimum-qualifying-salary-to-rise-by-s600-activity-6705264946063671296-Hm6K

Wah... AMTK not happy that Gov make changes to ensure locals can get jobs from major MNC..... 

Singaporeans are self entitled bunch.... 

Funny leh. 

Then why UK have Brexit? 

Why hah? 

Thought they love cheap foreign labours? 

Thought they love highly mobile professionals from other EU countries??? 

Why they come SG think they very TK? 

Not happy, they can leave.... Aiyah... Got pandemic as excuse to stay as leaches on our great personal income tax differences from their home country. 

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-52660591

How many people are unemployed?

The number of people claiming unemployment benefits surged to 2.7 million between March and July, according to official figures.

3 hours ago, Kopites said:

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-52660591

How many people are unemployed?

The number of people claiming unemployment benefits surged to 2.7 million between March and July, according to official figures.

Don't forget, there is a very big group that doesn't know how to claim and probably another few other groups that decided to just call it a day and accept the situation. Many of those so called 're-employed' are on temporary jobs. So data are there to confuse depending how you wish to show.

44 minutes ago, Victor68 said:

Don't forget, there is a very big group that doesn't know how to claim and probably another few other groups that decided to just call it a day and accept the situation. Many of those so called 're-employed' are on temporary jobs. So data are there to confuse depending how you wish to show.

The expat of today is not the expat of yesteryear that came here. Many would be under the unemployment classification back in their own country. 

I linked the BBC article to show how bad is the unployment in UK. Hope they can adopt a more appreciative attitude toward us. 

• Sad 1

Our government agencies tend to engage these FT as consultants or speakers especially on subjects such as environmental,  lighting consultant, security, webinar, etc. I have opportunity to attend some of their talks but honestly,  I didn't find any value added stuff. 1 thing for sure, they are much more vocal than our locals. Maybe our uni need to focus on this aspect. 

18 minutes ago, Kopites said:

The expat of today is not the expat of yesteryear that came here. Many would be under the unemployment classification back in their own country. 

I linked the BBC article to show how bad is the unployment in UK. Hope they can adopt a more appreciative attitude toward us. 

I know a Brit who works in Asia almost his entire career.

Retrenched last year. Can’t a job in UK as his experience is not relevant in UK.

Similarly, there are Singaporean who wants to return but cannot.

Their overseas experience not relevant in Singapore