MOM takes action against 47 firms & investigating 240 others for possibly favouring foreign job applicants over S'poreans

Ct3833

On 8/15/2020 at 5:11 AM, Playtime said:

Quote.

"In its statement, Temasek said its hiring practices are based on values such as meritocracy, excellence and integrity."

End quote. 

To dear temasek. 

"Meritocracy"... now ... considering its temasek we're talking about..that word

Expand  

I say it right now. I don't want meritocracy in terms of hiring.

If it is level playing field for all and sundry, including billions of foreigners, then why should we citizens be patriotic? Why should our sons serve NS?

On 8/15/2020 at 1:39 AM, Lethalstrike said:

Nice to see such article being published. At least an opinion piece which doesn't avoid the elephant in the room. 

Expand  

I believe in all parts of Singapore and not just in banks, the final say is the hiring manager who has a accountability on the results.

worst is the fact that Singapore May be Easily intemidated to choose between having a higher Than usual single source Of worker , else they will invest in the near by region and setup shop else where.

that does not mean that once they get what they want and find that SG is no longer viable business environment, they will commit to be here. 

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 8/17/2020 at 7:25 AM, ToyotaShuttle said:

But he has been labor chief for a long time right?

Just started working?

Expand  

Just started "full time" la...🤣

Better late than never though. Stil got Many part timers spend years dunno doing what. 

On 8/17/2020 at 8:51 AM, ToyotaShuttle said:

do we know how much salary ntuc chief is paid?

Expand  

Part time MP already $15K and the going price for a 'retired' general is above $30K. So, it is a very costly team that failed to protect our workforce. Better farm out this job to FT lah

On 8/14/2020 at 1:48 PM, Yewheng said:

Eh.. It depends, if there is enough people that decide to not to put money with standard chartered Bank due to they hire whole bunch of Indian people that affect their revenue. Then they will hire more locals. So social media actually is a very power tool. It's even more powerful then what mas encourage or what and at the same time no need what discriminate law or what. It is the people who has the power to do things that make it happen. 

Expand  

i gave up on std chart long time ago. poorly run.

Folks that were retrench spark the scb n temaseek scandals 😜😜

Quote from HR mod and how they fudge the matter

After some insiders came out of Temasek and Standard Chartered they blew the whistle on how these two (and others) are basically fudging their local hire numbers. They bring in certain nationalities and and push them to quickly get SPR then they don't count as foreign hires. This of course has caused a huge stink with Ho Ching claiming it's BS. Well, Ho Ching, I challenge you to release an employee / contractor list of Temasek with just the first 4 digits of their NRIC. That will tell us how many are F NRIC but also how many are SPR or new citizens. OF course she won't

Edited by Staff69

On 8/17/2020 at 3:30 PM, Staff69 said:

After some insiders came out of Temasek and Standard Chartered they blew the whistle on how these two (and others) are basically fudging their local hire numbers. They bring in certain nationalities and and push them to quickly get SPR then they don't count as foreign hires. 

Expand  

Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm, 6838 0969....maybe they can help 

https://www.mom.gov.sg/employment-practices/good-work-practices/fair-employment-practices

On 8/17/2020 at 3:30 PM, Staff69 said:

Folks that were retrench spark the scb n temaseek scandals 😜😜

Quote from HR mod and how they fudge the matter

After some insiders came out of Temasek and Standard Chartered they blew the whistle on how these two (and others) are basically fudging their local hire numbers. They bring in certain nationalities and and push them to quickly get SPR then they don't count as foreign hires. This of course has caused a huge stink with Ho Ching claiming it's BS. Well, Ho Ching, I challenge you to release an employee / contractor list of Temasek with just the first 4 digits of their NRIC. That will tell us how many are F NRIC but also how many are SPR or new citizens. OF course she won't

Expand  

But PR also start with S NRIC leh. 

Base on my understanding,  some big cooperation will use manpower outsourcing companies to recruit employees to be deployed into their own company. 

That means the workers work for a company but the manpower quota is under another company 

So that  when auditors come and  check , everything is fine and dandy.

That why she can shout saying the percentage of employees are at x% but, what she didn't say is how many extra employees are under outsourcing agreements 

That's why he ask for employee and contractor list 

Edited by Staff69
  • Angry 1

On 8/18/2020 at 1:05 AM, inlinesix said:

You think Jo Teo dare to grill boss wifey meh

Expand  

Don't assume and accuse her or anyone unless we know it to be fact.. before a proper check conducted....if there is a loophole then it needs to be closed..Blowing the whistle should be a logical extension of an employee's duty of loyalty.

Edited by Odyssey2011

My wife recently showed me a DXX bank dept group photo that has over 50 staff who are all Indian. She told me to spot the only local in the group. It's like finding "Where's Wally?". The current CEO is born in India although the nationality says "Singapore". I wonder if this is one of the companies?

• Sad 1

On 8/18/2020 at 1:47 AM, Watwheels said:

My wife recently showed me a DXX bank dept group photo that has over 50 staff who are all Indian. She told me to spot the only local in the group. It's like finding "Where's Wally?". The current CEO is born in India although the nationality says "Singapore". I wonder if this is one of the companies?

Expand  

That picture is DBS India office. If this is SG office, all is lost. Wahaha

Edited by Voodooman

On 8/17/2020 at 4:53 PM, Staff69 said:

Base on my understanding,  some big cooperation will use manpower outsourcing companies to recruit employees to be deployed into their own company. 

That means the workers work for a company but the manpower quota is under another company 

So that  when auditors come and  check , everything is fine and dandy.

That why she can shout saying the percentage of employees are at x% but, what she didn't say is how many extra employees are under outsourcing agreements 

That's why he ask for employee and contractor list 

Expand  

Thats still not how it works.

So in the IT world, a bank or financial institution will outsource certain headcount to a IT contractor aka the top8 ceca IT firm.

You have 8 IT firm to again outsource to 6 subcontractors.

Thats why need to show how deep the rabbit hole is.

And if thats not enough, lets assume they take action against the 47 firm by not allowing renewal for 3 years. (Doubt will happen).

How about those company that hire on fair practice . Those pass holder who brought their dependents and uprooted maybe 3 or 9 of them here will also have their pass revoke?.

That certainly food for thought and a very risky move . So definantely ,the best option is not to create an international incident of epic proportion of repatriatiing àll the 47 firms over committed breach of hiring and 240 additional one.

If MOM was the one to rubber stamp the work permit. Who then is accountable?. Or joint accountability?

One would imagine all of MOM would need to review closely on where the process gaps have failed and stop all those single source of detrimental reliance.

My take is sg will continue to watch as in the case of the previous 1200s before this case.

Only lesson learnt is watch until how long and continue to erode the singaporean job 

Even now with the huge number of imported cases of covid from certain country, we contine to be vigalant instead of stopping them from returning.

Edited by Sdf4786k