MOM takes action against 47 firms & investigating 240 others for possibly favouring foreign job applicants over S'poreans

Ct3833

When people on top classify issues raised on CECA as racist,  it shows how ignorance they are. Do they admit CECA is different from the rest, even our closest neighbour,  Malaysia? Please tell us how they will rectify this mistake. 

On 8/15/2020 at 9:04 PM, Wt_know said:

eat salty fish, must tahan thirsty ... there is no other way ... 

I am more inclined to think that the career of many is ruin and is like salted fish.. there is no resurrection for those in the 45  to 65 

by sugar coating a saying of when life gives you lemon, go make lemonade is admirable sprit but is an irresponsible consoling 

Edited by Sdf4786k

12 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Agreed.

They “trying” their best Liao to provide a level playing field.. maybe later will see how the 240 additional to 47 will be handled?

Key highlights of the announcements centred around government programmes and grants which would provide support for employers, in preparation for the challenges that lie ahead, including the COVID-19 situation.

One key area of the COS announcement was ensuring fair opportunities through empowering mid-career workers in their 40s and 50s to take charge of their careers by refreshing their skills through the SkillsFuture Mid-Career Support Package and through supporting employers to redesign jobs through the Productivity Solutions Grant and SkillsFuture Enterprise Credit.

Another area was stiffer penalties meted for companies who do not practice fair employment announced in the recent COS announcement and earlier in Jan 2020.

Under the expanded Fair Consideration Framework (FCF), which sets out requirements for all employers in Singapore to consider the workforce in Singapore fairly for job opportunities, employers submitting Employment Pass applications must first advertise on MyCareersFuture.sg and fairly consider all candidates. From 1 May 2020, the job advertising requirement will cover job positions paying a fixed monthly salary of less than $20,000. This is so that more jobs are made available to local PMETs as part of a fair hiring process, and not be restricted to “closed circles of friends”. MOM will take action against employers and key personnel who make false declarations that they have considered all candidates fairly.Other announcements included schemes to ensure fair hiring, fair competition and provide fair support. The key goal of these schemes is to enable workforce transformation and increase productivity. During the Q&A session moderated by Professor Annie Koh from SMU, key issues brought up pertain to how companies should respond in managing the business impact and operational issues relating to COVID-19. Mr Zaqy shared that engagement and communication with employees is essential during this period. Significant investments have been made in wage and training support, to help businesses retain their workers, and companies should consider using this period to train and upgrade their skills.

Mr Zaqy shared that if need be, companies may refer to the Tripartite Advisory on Managing Excess Manpower and Responsible Retrenchment for clearer guidance. However, they should bear in mind that there are many alternatives to retrenchment and that MOM’s current focus is on preventing large-scale job losses, helping businesses stay afloat and helping workers stay employed.

As shared in Mr. Zaqy’s presentation, some alternative solutions include training and skills upgrading, a flexible work schedule and adjustments to salary and work arrangements. FWA grants such as the Enhanced Work-Life Grant are available, especially during this period and companies are encouraged to offer flexible work arrangements for employees. Under implementing a flexible work schedule, companies can consider time banking where employers can consider reducing weekly working hours, creating a “timebank” of unused working hours. These can then be used to offset the increase in working hours in subsequent periods. In offsetting future overtime pay, the employee (or union if company is unionised) and employer may agree on the rate at which the accrued hours are to be valued.

In the current situation, employers should also take note that they must notify MOM within 7 days if cost-cutting measures taken during the current slowdown have affected workers’ salaries and indicate that they have done so fairly. This notification requirement encourages a sense of responsible implementation, prevents downstream salary disputes and enables tripartite partners to provide appropriate support.

Mr.Zaqy encouraged companies to leverage on schemes to innovate, transform and change the way they work to build long term capabilities and consistencies, and therefore emerge stronger and more resilient.

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 8/16/2020 at 6:43 AM, Wind30 said:

One evidence that nobody has mentioned about is, how does Indian movies and shows get into Singapore local Netflix TOP 10 regularly 

i am really surprised because if u think about it, you need a lot of Indian viewers.... mathematically I thought it is impossible for a minority race to get any programmes into TOP 10... 

... all the fw under quarantine in dorms are watching Netflix?

Ok this one I want to say something liao

knn all my fav streaming websites all default got Indian origin movie one 

tmd 

:grin:

20 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Ok this one I want to say something liao

knn all my fav streaming websites all default got Indian origin movie one 

tmd 

:grin:

The Indian market is huge so it’s an opportunity if you speak one of the over 250 more popular dialects.

And hence the CECA framework is untapped by many 

look at the telecom industry... 

oops din make money .. scratch that

err .. 

look the the Indian banks where DBS invested in ...

oops 

din make money ..,

but I am hopeful something in future will be good 

it’s like a race punter that goes and analyse the jockey , go early morning to watch the horse practice 

capture on video analytics 

look at the weights and odds 

and listen to the bookies 

and bet.. 

if loose there’s always Sunday and then the next weekend and the next till you win

Edited by Sdf4786k

12 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

What it's like for a S'porean fresh grad, 22, who found herself working for a funeral parlour

Soft truths to keep Singapore from stalling.

Mothership |  August 16, 2020, 06:34 PM

Events

PERSPECTIVE: It is a tough market for job seekers in Singapore, as many companies have implemented hiring freeze policies, amid the current Covid-19 pandemic.

Natasha Wee, a recent graduate from Nanyang Technological University (NTU), spoke to Mothership about how she landed a job as a funeral director assistant, and how she values the unexpected opportunity that she was given to work in an industry that is far from a conventional one.

Wee has been working at Harmony Funeral Care since July, 2020.

By Natasha Wee

It was the last few days of March, when Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced the implementation of the circuit breaker.

I was just finishing up my last few weeks of university, and I started to panic because I did not know what the circuit breaker would mean for the job market.

Would I be able to find a job at all? How would I even apply, and how would interviews even be carried out, if we cannot go anywhere?

Being a communications student, I naturally wanted to apply for media-related jobs.

However, many companies began implementing hiring freeze policies, which made it difficult for me to find anything that matched my area of study.

A chance encounter led to this opportunity

With my impending job hunt in mind, I recalled a chance encounter I had in early March.

My grandfather passed away during that time, and I met the founder of the funeral service company we engaged at the wake.  Back then, she asked if I would consider a career in the bereavement industry.

It had not occurred to me that jobs like that existed, so I decided, why not try something like this?

Being a funeral director is pretty recession-proof, and to me, this was also a way of giving back to society.

So, I made the decision to join Harmony Funeral Care as a funeral director assistant.

I was asked to handle a body on my first day

On my first day of work, I was already thrown into the melee of everything - we had two cases to handle that day, so I was pretty much learning everything on the job.

It was also on the first day when I first came into contact with a body. I was immediately asked to put on shoes for a lady who had passed away.

We were in a bit of a rush, so I did not have time to process what I was about to do - it was kind of an "act now, react later" sort of situation.

So I did it, and it only hit me a couple hours later that, wow, that was my first prolonged contact with a body.

But the really interesting experience was when I had to change a full set of clothes for a deceased person, also known as a decedent in the funeral industry.

I did not expect the whole body to be so cold and stiff, and the whole time I was being as gentle as I could, as the body seemed so fragile.

Surprisingly, it did not feel scary or anything like that;  in fact I felt like I was doing a good deed for the man, since I was sending him off looking his best!

We can get called up for work at any time

Of course, beyond funerals, I also do social media management, HR and content production for the company.

So a typical day might see me running around from hospitals, to wake venues, to the crematorium, and then back to the office to finish up work.

In the bereavement industry, there are definitely plenty of tough moments because you never know when someone is going to die.

I could be halfway through dinner when a call comes through, and I have to rush down to the hospital.

Physically, I am quite small, so I also struggled a little at the start with the menial jobs.

But at the same time, these moments are memorable because I form bonds with my colleagues, and there is so much to learn from being on the ground.

This is something I never imagined myself doing

Every day is an adventure with a job like this.

As a funeral director assistant, my role covers quite a large area. I liaise with many people throughout the day.

Between the clients, the people in the industry and the staff at Mandai crematorium, it did not take long before I called the same few people so often that they start to recognise me.

I also help with the hands-on stuff like carrying bodies, changing of the decedents' clothes and the setting up and tearing down of wake venues - which is something I would have never imagined myself doing.

Yet here I am, and it’s honestly pretty enlightening.

I feel a strong sense of fulfilment

After more than a month on the job, I think one of the most memorable moments for me was stepping into the embalming room for the first time.

Seeing all these processes firsthand - it isn't something anyone and everyone would come across in their lifetime. So I feel grateful for opportunities like these.

It can also get quite hectic, especially when we have multiple cases back to back in a day. But this is to be expected with a job like this.

Once again, you never know when someone might die. But I also feel a strong sense of fulfilment, having helped people give their loved ones a dignified farewell.

When the families of the deceased tell you that you did a good job, and that you helped them through one of the toughest periods of their lives, I think that feeling is indescribable.

Knowing that we are able to be a pillar of sorts for them as they are grieving is something that we always strive to do, and I think that the job is unique in how meaningful it is.

Not the most conventional route

This is definitely not the most conventional route for someone like me, who has spent the last four years studying film and communication theories.

But I have no regrets, because an experience like this is not something anyone and everyone would come by in their lifetime.

However, I do see myself wanting to try out a corporate job at some point, as I want to put what I have learned into practice.

But who knows? Maybe in 10 years, I might find myself gravitating towards the bereavement industry once again.

Untitled-design.png

Edited by Fcw75

1 hour ago, Fcw75 said:

What it's like for a S'porean fresh grad, 22, who found herself working for a funeral parlour

Soft truths to keep Singapore from stalling.

Mothership |  August 16, 2020, 06:34 PM

Events

PERSPECTIVE: It is a tough market for job seekers in Singapore, as many companies have implemented hiring freeze policies, amid the current Covid-19 pandemic.

Natasha Wee, a recent graduate from Nanyang Technological University (NTU), spoke to Mothership about how she landed a job as a funeral director assistant, and how she values the unexpected opportunity that she was given to work in an industry that is far from a conventional one.

Wee has been working at Harmony Funeral Care since July, 2020.

By Natasha Wee

It was the last few days of March, when Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced the implementation of the circuit breaker.

I was just finishing up my last few weeks of university, and I started to panic because I did not know what the circuit breaker would mean for the job market.

Would I be able to find a job at all? How would I even apply, and how would interviews even be carried out, if we cannot go anywhere?

Being a communications student, I naturally wanted to apply for media-related jobs.

However, many companies began implementing hiring freeze policies, which made it difficult for me to find anything that matched my area of study.

A chance encounter led to this opportunity

With my impending job hunt in mind, I recalled a chance encounter I had in early March.

My grandfather passed away during that time, and I met the founder of the funeral service company we engaged at the wake.  Back then, she asked if I would consider a career in the bereavement industry.

It had not occurred to me that jobs like that existed, so I decided, why not try something like this?

Being a funeral director is pretty recession-proof, and to me, this was also a way of giving back to society.

So, I made the decision to join Harmony Funeral Care as a funeral director assistant.

I was asked to handle a body on my first day

On my first day of work, I was already thrown into the melee of everything - we had two cases to handle that day, so I was pretty much learning everything on the job.

It was also on the first day when I first came into contact with a body. I was immediately asked to put on shoes for a lady who had passed away.

We were in a bit of a rush, so I did not have time to process what I was about to do - it was kind of an "act now, react later" sort of situation.

So I did it, and it only hit me a couple hours later that, wow, that was my first prolonged contact with a body.

But the really interesting experience was when I had to change a full set of clothes for a deceased person, also known as a decedent in the funeral industry.

I did not expect the whole body to be so cold and stiff, and the whole time I was being as gentle as I could, as the body seemed so fragile.

Surprisingly, it did not feel scary or anything like that;  in fact I felt like I was doing a good deed for the man, since I was sending him off looking his best!

We can get called up for work at any time

Of course, beyond funerals, I also do social media management, HR and content production for the company.

So a typical day might see me running around from hospitals, to wake venues, to the crematorium, and then back to the office to finish up work.

In the bereavement industry, there are definitely plenty of tough moments because you never know when someone is going to die.

I could be halfway through dinner when a call comes through, and I have to rush down to the hospital.

Physically, I am quite small, so I also struggled a little at the start with the menial jobs.

But at the same time, these moments are memorable because I form bonds with my colleagues, and there is so much to learn from being on the ground.

This is something I never imagined myself doing

Every day is an adventure with a job like this.

As a funeral director assistant, my role covers quite a large area. I liaise with many people throughout the day.

Between the clients, the people in the industry and the staff at Mandai crematorium, it did not take long before I called the same few people so often that they start to recognise me.

I also help with the hands-on stuff like carrying bodies, changing of the decedents' clothes and the setting up and tearing down of wake venues - which is something I would have never imagined myself doing.

Yet here I am, and it’s honestly pretty enlightening.

I feel a strong sense of fulfilment

After more than a month on the job, I think one of the most memorable moments for me was stepping into the embalming room for the first time.

Seeing all these processes firsthand - it isn't something anyone and everyone would come across in their lifetime. So I feel grateful for opportunities like these.

It can also get quite hectic, especially when we have multiple cases back to back in a day. But this is to be expected with a job like this.

Once again, you never know when someone might die. But I also feel a strong sense of fulfilment, having helped people give their loved ones a dignified farewell.

When the families of the deceased tell you that you did a good job, and that you helped them through one of the toughest periods of their lives, I think that feeling is indescribable.

Knowing that we are able to be a pillar of sorts for them as they are grieving is something that we always strive to do, and I think that the job is unique in how meaningful it is.

Not the most conventional route

This is definitely not the most conventional route for someone like me, who has spent the last four years studying film and communication theories.

But I have no regrets, because an experience like this is not something anyone and everyone would come by in their lifetime.

However, I do see myself wanting to try out a corporate job at some point, as I want to put what I have learned into practice.

But who knows? Maybe in 10 years, I might find myself gravitating towards the bereavement industry once again.

Untitled-design.png

I suspect the parents did not expect such a quick return on investment for the kid.

First job already assitant director. And so untypical of selective job applicant.

Let hope they dont short change her under 10k.

Anyway tax and death are 2 unavaiodable things in life. Thats why doctors and iras are sort after careers.

Edited by Sdf4786k

On 8/15/2020 at 10:00 PM, Voodooman said:

At least he is acting like a labor chief. Unlike the faster better cheaper chap, which did nothing to protect local jobs during the heydays of our open leg policy. 

Lim_Swee_Say_cry_2.gif

On 8/15/2020 at 8:59 PM, Freeder said:

Let’s see..

Too early to comment..

But knowing them, it will be hard to change ..

His job at stake .... u dont see him saying that for the past 4 yrs 😆

3 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

I suspect the parents did not expect such a quick return on investment for the kid.

First job already assitant director. And so untypical of selective job applicant.

Anyway tax and death are 2 unavaiodable things in life. Thats why doctors and iras are sort after careers.

during bad times recession  depression  .... more biz will come . 🍻🍻🍻 their shares rocket up ? 

4 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

D I R E C T O R

A S S I S T A N C E

On 8/15/2020 at 1:11 PM, Playtime said:

Quote.

"In its statement, Temasek said its hiring practices are based on values such as meritocracy, excellence and integrity."

End quote. 

To dear temasek. 

"Meritocracy"... now ... considering its temasek we're talking about..that word

unnamed (2).jpg

Thats how i read it "Marry to Crazy"

On 8/15/2020 at 10:00 PM, Voodooman said:

At least he is acting like a labor chief. Unlike the faster better cheaper chap, which did nothing to protect local jobs during the heydays of our open leg policy. 

But he has been labor chief for a long time right?

Just started working?