MOM takes action against 47 firms & investigating 240 others for possibly favouring foreign job applicants over S'poreans

Ct3833

12 hours ago, Hyde333 said:

Been there, Done that! And that was almost 6 years ago.

At least 10 meetings a week that last for hours each time. Do not know what they were mumbling most of the time but everyone has to be there.

Working lunches with Indian food only.

When I left, ratio of FT:local............40:2! How fun? *%$#&^*% :veryangry:

So you must be expert on Indian food liao 🤣

Presumably you were playing mobile games during those meetings.. or surfing sammyboy 😁

40:2...  it seems you're the "cultural diversity quota" might as well do part time.. maybe take course... and tell boss you work from home.. win win. 👌

1 minute ago, Playtime said:

So you must be expert on Indian food liao 🤣

Presumably you were playing mobile games during those meetings.. or surfing sammyboy 😁

40:2...  it seems you're the "cultural diversity quota" might as well do part time.. maybe take course... and tell boss you work from home.. win win. 👌

:secret-laugh:Acquired phobia at the sight of Indian food instead. 

Skype was my saviour during those meetings.

Working for Indians leh..... still practiced clocking in and clocking out even for senior management! Dream on to work from home.

13 hours ago, Hyde333 said:

At least 10 meetings a week that last for hours each time. Do not know what they were mumbling most of the time but everyone has to be there.

Glad that u have been through this ordeal..

Currently, I’m going through a rite of passage dealing with all these snakes..

Really iNCREDIBLE INDIA ... Why so many MNCs like them? Coz they are cheap n they can really polish the bosses balls till immaculate shine... 

Hard n Sober Truths...

• Sad 1

56 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

And MOM actually have to go after companies for not employing locals.

MOM is the govt agency that can restrict and control but they failed.

A2424CB8-6AA6-4F2E-9039-5AA1CB4BF080.png

walao ehh ... 824K PMET FT (exclude maids and fw in construction)

and the 800K also excluded newly minted PR and SC ... 😬

7 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Really iNCREDIBLE INDIA ... Why so many MNCs like them? Coz they are cheap n they can really polish the bosses balls till immaculate shine... 

Hard n Sober Truths...

You joined a new company?

Or they sneaked in?

1 minute ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

You joined a new company?

Or they sneaked in?

No... my HQ wants them to lead the SEA region.. 

All the region heads also KPKB..

If not for the pandemic, they would be here months ago...

So will continue to shake head with them at moment..

14 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Hard n Sober Truths...

[laugh] Have fun! Didn't quite like them in my dealings with them since the 80's as their signatures were usually not worth the paper they were written on.

However, after working for them in the most recent stint, I can't help but think that no good ones but the only less harmful one is a dead one!

39 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

walao ehh ... 824K PMET FT (exclude maids and fw in construction)

and the 800K also excluded newly minted PR and SC ... 😬

Numbers don’t lie.

GDP. 😬

Edited by Fcw75

15 hours ago, Hyde333 said:

don't anyhow said , there will be serious implication when a company is put into watch list...😀😀

Edited by Ct3833

2 minutes ago, Ct3833 said:

don't anyhow said , there will be serious implication when a company is out into watch list...😀😀

Think they've been watched for few years already but still nothing done. They can all perish and none will be deserving of empathy.

2 hours ago, Freeder said:

Hard n Sober Truths...

talk and talk. if they can do 10% of what they say. then india wont be what india is now.

Edited by Mkl22

4 hours ago, Weez911 said:

A lot of excellent posts here.

@Fcw75 posted - Why are Singaporeans being discriminated in their own country?

Why are many HR functions filled by foreigners to abuse our system?

@Voodooman raised a fantastic point - so we will continue to import real foreign talents but CECA can't be that template.

@Freeder raised another fantastic point - But in India, they can suka suka renege on deals signed Between the 2 gov.

====================

While I'm somewhat fine with Malaysians because they have very similar languages, culture, religions and customs as us, we should really reduce the number of foreigners from one particular country to Singapore. They don't fit well in our meritocratic system as they impose their own version of "meritocracy" here. Culturally and socially, they tend to mix with their own because of their sheer numbers here. In one of the earlier post, they have meetings in their own language, which I think is unacceptable here. While some say they spend and pay tax here, other FT also spend and pay tax. The crux of the matter is not having so many of the same kind here. This felt like an invasion to me. The irony is I can foresee our "NS Square" being awash with them when it is finally completed. In fact, many places in Singapore are already populated by them, and these places appear foreign to me. I'm not talking about GDP in this post (will discuss that in another thread); I'm talking about having so many from the same country on a tiny island like ours. 

As we celebrated SG55, I'm pondering how Singapore ends up like this. This certainly felt like a betrayal of trust by the pap.

Felt like an invasion because we don't have the land mass to spread everyone out. We see them everywhere in our daily interactions. 

Felt like an invasion because the sheer number of imports had intruded some of us trying to make living, instead of enhancing  livelihoods. 

Felt like an invasion because the very people whom the majority trusted and voted for, did not do their due diligence to consider the long term interests of the people who had entrusted them in blind faith. 

Felt like an invasion because some of the young are no longer optimistic about the future, the middle-aged pessimistic about the future and the old adamant on how they can help to change things for the future generations. 

52 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Felt like an invasion because we don't have the land mass to spread everyone out. We see them everywhere in our daily interactions. 

Felt like an invasion because the sheer number of imports had intruded some of us trying to make living, instead of enhancing  livelihoods. 

Felt like an invasion because the very people whom the majority trusted and voted for, did not do their due diligence to consider the long term interests of the people who had entrusted them in blind faith. 

Felt like an invasion because some of the young are no longer optimistic about the future, the middle-aged pessimistic about the future and the old adamant on how they can help to change things for the future generations. 

A bit late joining this thread...but personally Im a bit hesitant bringing a kid into this world...I cant even imagine the next 5 years ahead for me..what more the next 20-30 years for my next generation...honestly I do appreciate Singapore for being a safe country and more importantly, for the time being, free from ecological, geographical or climate type disasters...other than these I really dun have much to look forward to in this place anymore...seeing how it is over-run by foreigners who seem to have more say in running the country/workplace and how we have failed to put forth a clear signal to the country's leaders in the recent GE..if my fellow countrymen loves to be bullied by foreign trash..then so be it..I will not care more or less then....I WILL JUST BE...APATHETIC....from now moving forward.

Two examples I have seen:

certain condo management committee over-run by Indians who wanted to demolish a recreational space for kids in order to build a cricket court

Chinese hokkien huay kuan overrun by PRCs who have their own agenda (sometimes political)

Good luck everyone.

20 minutes ago, Kyrios said:

A bit late joining this thread...but personally Im a bit hesitant bringing a kid into this world...I cant even imagine the next 5 years ahead for me..what more the next 20-30 years for my next generation...honestly I do appreciate Singapore for being a safe country and more importantly, for the time being, free from ecological, geographical or climate type disasters...other than these I really dun have much to look forward to in this place anymore...seeing how it is over-run by foreigners who seem to have more say in running the country/workplace and how we have failed to put forth a clear signal to the country's leaders in the recent GE..if my fellow countrymen loves to be bullied by foreign trash..then so be it..I will not care more or less then....I WILL JUST BE...APATHETIC....from now moving forward.

certain condo management committee over-run by Indians who wanted to demolish a recreational space for kids in order to build a cricket court

Chinese hokkien huay kuan overrun by PRCs who have their own agenda (sometimes political)

Good luck everyone.

Don’t worry, quite a few here no kids one including me. No way harming them in the future competing with the foreign trash.

41 minutes ago, Kyrios said:

Good luck everyone.

Maybe, I should l send my kids to India?

Remember, CECA was supposedly signed for us to tap into the bigger India market.   

1 hour ago, Kyrios said:

Good luck everyone.

This sounds like lackey of United Front Work