Albeniz Turbocharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 1 hour ago, Weez911 said: I'm very concerned why ST Forum becomes so active with letters on FT after July 2020, especially when the floodgates were opened substantially since 2004. 1 hour ago, Freeder said: Just wondering. Who are the 140 who were recently retrenched from SPH? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) more coming? Edited August 19, 2020 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 MOM not policemen in Blue, Thy are in White, oneself slap oneself meh !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey2011 5th Gear August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) 20 minutes ago, Meanmachine said: MOM not policemen in Blue, Thy are in White, oneself slap oneself meh !! 2020 Singaporean general election votes drop to 61.23%, hope they figure out what Singaporean want and need Edited August 19, 2020 by Odyssey2011 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 7 minutes ago, Odyssey2011 said: 2020 Singaporean general election votes drop to 61.23%, hope they figure out what Singaporean want and need Have they acknowledged after the election that this is a problem? I only read defensive statements. I will feel better only when the minister acknowledged and promised. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 5 hours ago, Lethalstrike said: Basically, we bend over backwards for CECA and had thoroughly screwed ourselves over the last 15 years, with our international standing & reputation being put at risk if we made drastic moves now... It’s like bad going to worst .. unless there is a legality involved and process to correct it, it’s like giving the keys to a drunk person . to the bartenders , it may not be his business to interfere. Yo the bouncers outside the door, it’s not his JD to make sure the drunk person gets home safely. and to everyone else who watch the drunk person drive away, the thoughts could be the driver knows best as it none of their business. so when something goes bad, it’s none of their business unless it happens to them. and so we go one full circle. Unless some one owns the problem, it will continue to be monitored , just like the Covid until it’s too late to recovered , we call it a pandemic. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) 27 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Have they acknowledged after the election that this is a problem? I only read defensive statements. I will feel better only when the minister acknowledged and promised. If this is IT world, it’s not a problem, it’s a feature. what is good for Singapore May not necessarily be true for singaporean.. by going hard ,what are the advantages and with every thing that’s going to happen like retrenchment, will mom have a say in all those organisations to only correct the problem and not retrench locals. Edited August 19, 2020 by Sdf4786k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) 16 hours ago, Mockngbrd said: Ya so the actual company using these ppl don't have to spend $$$ hiring locals and just fill up jobs with outsourced "contractors". Base on cost or base on ability? If base on cost , you hire a program director at age 25 and give that opportunity to grow bigger. Yes cost is cheap. But base on quality and ability. No, you need to hire more people to do the same job. But you still get the work done base on what the outsource services Budget is required. and later on when the people grow with experience, there is no rule for them to be transferred to a perm headcount on the client side. And that’s how the process fly under the radar. And the company has every right to do what they want because now , you don’t have a single iotas to say anything by MOM because they hired base on skill and the company owns their own PNL as well prerogatives to hire who they wish. and you rinse and repeat the cycle. If you do what you always did. You get what you always got. how do you argue on experience if I give you this response? I can tell you , local don’t have the experience I am looking for. You can be train on blue prism Or selenium or even certified on AWS. But as Long as you are not experience, you just a paper general who never been to war and can only express strategic positions but not able to produce the desired outcome like the veteran. so no matter what we do in the re education of the people, it’s going to be a big Ask or begging to people to hire that candidate Edited August 19, 2020 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 52 minutes ago, Odyssey2011 said: 2020 Singaporean general election votes drop to 61.23%, hope they figure out what Singaporean want and need Still a mandate le Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 2 hours ago, Albeniz said: Just wondering. Who are the 140 who were recently retrenched from SPH? Marketing executives? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) if mas says 43% held by Singaporeans that means 57% is held by ......😜😜😜 the beautiful thing about Internet, you cant hide anything https://www.onlinecitizenasia.com/2020/08/19/mas-57-of-senior-management-positions-in-banking-industry-held-by-foreigners/ Edited August 19, 2020 by Staff69 2 1 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 1 hour ago, Odyssey2011 said: 2020 Singaporean general election votes drop to 61.23%, hope they figure out what Singaporean want and need Frankly, I was hoping to see less than 60% and the fall of East and West coast. That will be a really clear signal and not confusing. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 On 8/18/2020 at 2:18 PM, Voodooman said: That picture is DBS India office. If this is SG office, all is lost. Wahaha No wonder I find it strange. How is it not following the quota given by MOM. It's also sad to know we have only one talent to go there while they have so many to come here. 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Odyssey2011 5th Gear August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 (edited) 40 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said: Still a mandate le Let‘s hope they don‘t end up “一锅熟” someday. Maybe someone will uproot all the “rubber stamps“ those remaining ones.... All that i can do is wish them well .... Edited August 19, 2020 by Odyssey2011 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 Is it true that once you turn Pr, you have 3 years period to work before you need to contribute CPF?. if that’s the case, then during this high risk of retrenchment, the work permit holder would want to rapidly apply for OR and then subsequently perform tour of duty to other countries for expat perks and subsequently give up the PR so as to avoid having the kid join NS. Win win situation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 7 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Frankly, I was hoping to see less than 60% and the fall of East and West coast. That will be a really clear signal and not confusing. Their jobs..their lives..their future....all secured liao..at least for 6 years......you really think they give a damn about what some poor folks wrote in ST? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 8 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Frankly, I was hoping to see less than 60% and the fall of East and West coast. That will be a really clear signal and not confusing. If we look at the contests between pap and wp only, wp actually won... the 61% win was really not what it was. I'm sure pap is aware of this, that's why we suddenly see so many ST forum letters and pap ministers "I'm with Singaporeans" speeches now. I have never seen MAS play politics until recently. Things have indeed changed. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic August 19, 2020 Share August 19, 2020 16 hours ago, Sdf4786k said: It’s like bad going to worst .. unless there is a legality involved and process to correct it, it’s like giving the keys to a drunk person . to the bartenders , it may not be his business to interfere. Yo the bouncers outside the door, it’s not his JD to make sure the drunk person gets home safely. and to everyone else who watch the drunk person drive away, the thoughts could be the driver knows best as it none of their business. so when something goes bad, it’s none of their business unless it happens to them. and so we go one full circle. Unless some one owns the problem, it will continue to be monitored , just like the Covid until it’s too late to recovered , we call it a pandemic. When I hear sound bites like "all hands on deck", "whole of government approach", "cabinet decision"...I don't know who is accountable to that problem. ↡ Advertisement 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...