Fcw75 Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 (edited) https://mothership.sg/2020/07/kevryn-lim-mothership-interview/ “However, the weakness is that too many Singaporeans are afraid of a change if the oppositions get voted in. Many fail to understand that change cannot be done overnight, but only progressively." Kevryn Lim, the chio bu. Got Masters Degree from NTU one and definitely more matured. 😁 Edited July 4, 2020 by Fcw75 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said: Tan Cheng Block 😂 Nice one bro. The best way to make them pay is to vote him into Parly so he can really make them miserable. 🤣 Make them "repent". 😂😂😂 I think he meant to type tan ji eh Cheng Hu block translate into singlish is - wait later garment blocks 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 Since Nomination Day, Lim Tean didn’t place any poster in my estate. This morning, found some of its banner. Really Cham. Boh $$$ 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 7 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Since Nomination Day, Lim Tean didn’t place any poster in my estate. This morning, found some of its banner. Really Cham. Boh $$$ Poor thing. Being sued till pants drop difficult to reach up and put poster. Sekali charged with indecent sexposure. 😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 42 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said: I can never forget the look on CCS's face when he said Mdm President, no matter it's a Freudian Slip or on purpose. It's made a lot worse when you have the rest of the parliament laughing together in unison, instead of being ashamed of him. I believe the video clip is still floating around on the internet. The constitution is a joke to them, they know it and they can change it anytime with a supermajority, thus we have this sham of a PE which is in fact highly racist in nature. It's meant to do a Tan Cheng Block, and you marginalise the Malays by saying that without skewing the rules, you can't qualify for presidency through meritocracy. Yes I am really peeved at this. to put in my own words (and in the process maybe paraphrasing others) what that guy (was it Joel) mentioned in his Facebook post.. Vote because of macro issues at country level, not because of micro issues at constituency level. Why? PAP will win this elections for sure because even if all the Oppo wins their contests, PAP will still have >50% Since PAP sure win, voting Oppo won’t affect any normal policymaking, since only a simple majority is required (50%) which they already have. the aim is to prevent PAP from having a “blank cheque”, which is a supermajority (>66.7%) that allows constitutional change to be done easily without rigorous debate. so our vote counts to avoid constitutional change “at whim” - take note of the quote, I’m not accusing the Govt of making frivolous decisions, it’s to liken it to be something that can be suka suka changed just becase they can and are able to do it - but to Ensure that events (like the elected presidency “fiasco”) doesn’t happen so easily based on a unilateral decision of a single party that makes up the supermajority in parliament. so vote because you want to have proper governance. Not because you think the Oppo will ruin your town and let them become slums so you’re gonna play it safe and just vote white. Ministers are not irreplaceable. It’s a collective effort of all Singaporeans. For everyone that’s gone, someone can and will step up. bring back the power of the people, people. 16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 1 hour ago, Wind30 said: Ncmp has full voting rights next term. Thanks. PAP is so so generous. When the NCMP is triggered, it means they have supper majority, so it won't matter anyway. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 1 hour ago, Wind30 said: I can usually understand the justification of most PAP policies even very unpopular ones. Examples GRCs. Many people are against it but I do feel it is a very clever way of making sure the minorities get represented in the government without segregating the population. Singapore is great because all the races mix together and I feel GRCs is the best way to safeguard minority representation. Without it, you cold end up with a parliament with zero malays or indians and whether or not it is because people vote along racial lines, there is bound to be racial tensions. CECA. I did read about the history behind it. We did get something like access to the indian market, the local banks tried to expand to India and such. I can see why we did the CECA. I am not saying it is a good deal. I think it is probably a bad deal partly because PAP has given up trying to defend it. However, I do feel that the motivation behind it is pure. Presidential elections. No matter how I look at it, I don't understand why PAP introduced the racial requirement. The president has certain powers but prettty limited. He/she can't formulate policies and direction unlike the parliament/government. There will be no risk that a certain race will be marginalised because of it. The office being a SINGLE person is more easily accepted that he or she is of ONE race. The introduced bill ask for a certain race when it is not represented for THIRTY years... I mean 30 years.... do anyone even care after 30 years we get a Malay president. I mean it is ok to live for 24 years without a Malay president but not 30 years. It just does not make sense. It is like asking the USA president to be black every 30 years... and the USA president has far far more power. Fiinally the LAST STRAW was starting count from Wee Kim Wee instead of Ong Teng Cheong. That was when I decided there is no justification whatsoever as OTC obviously is the first elected president. If your motivation is pure and really for racial harmony, surely there is no issue implementing it in the next election. By using the racial card, I believe that PAP has caused harm to the country for its own interest. That to me is unforgivable. Just wanna comment on the minority part.. why do we need a minority to represent minority rights? just like do we need a poor man to be MP to champion for the lower income group? must it be an old person to champion for issues concerning the elderly? and with 90 over seats, I’m pretty sure that there will surely be people of caliber from the minority races being elected to parliament. The odds are just there. unlike the “elected” presidency which is only a single seat, whereby minorities need “protection” in order to get a shot at being elected. that’s subtly implying that without such a constitutional law, minorities won’t be able to get in on their own calibre and it’s a slight to the minorities isn’t it? 10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 21 minutes ago, inlinesix said: Since Nomination Day, Lim Tean didn’t place any poster in my estate. This morning, found some of its banner. Really Cham. Boh $$$ Same same lah. They only put posters and banners at where ppl congregate, market and hawker centre. There were none of PV posters at my estate also. Only see his posters at Whampoa Market and Hawker centre. Also got two guys carry their posters on their backpack and walk around the hawker centre. The safe distancing ambassadors no where in sight liao. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 6 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said: Just wanna comment on the minority part.. why do we need a minority to represent minority rights? just like do we need a poor man to be MP to champion for the lower income group? must it be an old person to champion for issues concerning the elderly? and with 90 over seats, I’m pretty sure that there will surely be people of caliber from the minority races being elected to parliament. The odds are just there. unlike the “elected” presidency which is only a single seat, whereby minorities need “protection” in order to get a shot at being elected. that’s subtly implying that without such a constitutional law, minorities won’t be able to get in on their own calibre and it’s a slight to the minorities isn’t it? Unfortunately all humans are visual animals. Like walking into a local company and only see single race of managers and directors. The same thoughts there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 1 hour ago, Freeder said: Bro next time can use a picture with some nice things that actually bounce can... 🤣 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 1 hour ago, Lethalstrike said: I can never forget the look on CCS's face when he said Mdm President, no matter it's a Freudian Slip or on purpose. It's made a lot worse when you have the rest of the parliament laughing together in unison, instead of being ashamed of him. I believe the video clip is still floating around on the internet. The constitution is a joke to them, they know it and they can change it anytime with a supermajority, thus we have this sham of a PE which is in fact highly racist in nature. It's meant to do a Tan Cheng Block, and you marginalise the Malays by saying that without skewing the rules, you can't qualify for presidency through meritocracy. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 (edited) 7 minutes ago, Adrianli said: Same same lah. They only put posters and banners at where ppl congregate, market and hawker centre. There were none of PV posters at my estate also. Only see his posters at Whampoa Market and Hawker centre. Also got two guys carry their posters on their backpack and walk around the hawker centre. The safe distancing ambassadors no where in sight liao. Maybe the 2 guys work as safe ambassadors previously. But now carry the posters walking around per hour rate is better. Edited July 4, 2020 by Tohto 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 9 minutes ago, Adrianli said: Same same lah. They only put posters and banners at where ppl congregate, market and hawker centre. There were none of PV posters at my estate also. Only see his posters at Whampoa Market and Hawker centre. Also got two guys carry their posters on their backpack and walk around the hawker centre. The safe distancing ambassadors no where in sight liao. This morning, PAP knock on my door. My wife ignores them. 3 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 29 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said: Just wanna comment on the minority part.. why do we need a minority to represent minority rights? just like do we need a poor man to be MP to champion for the lower income group? must it be an old person to champion for issues concerning the elderly? and with 90 over seats, I’m pretty sure that there will surely be people of caliber from the minority races being elected to parliament. The odds are just there. unlike the “elected” presidency which is only a single seat, whereby minorities need “protection” in order to get a shot at being elected. that’s subtly implying that without such a constitutional law, minorities won’t be able to get in on their own calibre and it’s a slight to the minorities isn’t it? I fully agree with you. I feel that TCB (Chinese) better represents my interests than Shanmugam (Indian). Besides which, I would trust most Singaporeans to be ready and willing to vote able minorities into parliament. Supposing otherwise would be a prejudice against the majority. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 18 minutes ago, inlinesix said: This morning, PAP knock on my door. My wife ignores them. Should shout out "Our Lives, Our Jobs, Our Future...Our Vote, Our Door, Our Business!" 😂😂😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 22 minutes ago, Tohto said: Maybe the 2 guys work as safe ambassadors previously. But now carry the posters walking around per hour rate is better. At least no need to take people to task and deal with unforgiving culprits , so now Masagos can “Lepak “ a little and not make PM name mistakes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 22 minutes ago, inlinesix said: This morning, PAP knock on my door. My wife ignores them. No PAP MP come knock door here. Only got lorry from PAP come and blast broadcast yesterday afternoon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic July 4, 2020 Share July 4, 2020 19 minutes ago, inlinesix said: This morning, PAP knock on my door. My wife ignores them. Did she practice on you first?😅 Anyway looking at the calibre of the PAP new candidates vs oppos, you can see pappies are really scrapping the bottom of the barrel, maybe even dig through it and to get some soil. In 5 years, Tharman, maybe Shamugan, Vivienne retires, who would they have left to run the country? The same bunch that cockuped the Covid response. They may not even be able to send someone for TV debate. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...