GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Maxus-MIFA9

15 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

PAP thief spotted with stolen Ikea bag. Report police! 

Maybe such is their mentality - anything in Sillypoor is theirs to take. 

Lucky I never kenah spot check yet... Else ppl will find the big blue Ikea bag under my rear seats also.

11 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Talking about CECA, there is this idea bring up by my friend.. 

Rather then let many forginers in with EP.. Why not bring them in with need basis. Like say for example this company need a specialist skillset worker and need bring in forginers. Why not allow to bring them in based on in need basis for say 2 yrs for the forginers to train up Singaporeans. Once Singaporeans is trained up and could fulfil the job, that forginers would then return back to his home country. Then of coz with that government will provide rebate for the company that spend time and money to train up Singaporeans. The rebate could be tax rebate. This is to encourage companies to do that. So this will solve 2 problems. 1. Companies would be still able to have specialised skillset working to work in that company, 2. Singaporeans are hired for that specialised skillset job. 

Workable? 

Actually, by my reckoning, that's exactly how it was happening right at the outset. Highly skilled sought after people being hired to build up our own skill base. 

But then they started importing more foreigners. And while everyone loves to blame CECA, realise that the rot actually began with the mass importation of PRCs. This was mainly done for demographic reasons - to keep the racial balance intact in the face of low fertility in the majority race. A highly cynical motive that lays bare the hypocrisy of harping on our supposed multiracial, multicultural egalitarianism.

It began with HK professional types, but quickly devolved into "simi sai also can". Why else do you think we had a whole slew of pei du mamas and other miscellaneous dregs being allowed in? 

The imports were leavened with AMDK who were the truly skilled type, and who actually contributed. Indian FTs weren't even a significant phenomenon at the outset. It was mainly PRCs, and low tier ones at that. 

But in one respect, this grand racially based importation blew up in the gahmen's face. Someone I know personally talked to a few of these imports, and the story was most commonly that they were using this (SG open door/open legs policy) as a springboard to facilitate transmigration to AMDK countries that (at the time) had an open door policy to us but not to China. Basically, the gahmen was using these imports to mess with us local born Sinkies but they were ultimately getting played by their chosen ones. How's that for ironic poetic justice?

Anyway, after all that, CECA was signed and you know the rest. There are certainly a few extremely able Indians, Chinese and Ang Mohs coming here but the proportion of true talents to mediocre jokers has always been on the decline. And, yes, that applies to the vaunted AMDK as well. Apart from the MNC true expats (who never intended to stay here for the most part), we're bringing in riff raff from Eastern Europe etc. now. Often the same demographic that the hardcore Brexit types wanted to kick out of the UK, even before the South Asians, whom they viewed as more economically productive. Even about 15+ years back I remember being stunned when I placed an order for some supplies at my workplace and a Brit with a strong cockney accent came driving the delivery van. Talent? Positions that cannot be filled by the locals? Capable of training locals in amazing new ways. I think not!

By the way, you can read more about the early phase foreign immigration and the speculated reasons for it here (obviously I never wrote it): https://mustsharenews.com/singapore-ethnic-demographic/amp/

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

https://www.eld.gov.sg/elections_past_parliamentary2015.html

https://graphics.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/Interactives/singapore-general-election/2015-live-election-results/index.html

SPOILT VOTE will be MISSING in the percentage.

Look at Alljunied GRC in 2015:

PAP: 69,929 (50.95%)

WP: 67,317 (49.05%)

Total Valid Vote: 137,246 (100%).

===========================================

Total Valid Vote: 137,246

Rejected Vote: 1,638

Do not vote: 9,258

Total voters: 148,142

It may be missing official statistics wise but PAP being the meticulous and kiasu party they are do look at the numbers but as i said, it has to be significant. Your example of 1,638 spoilt votes forms only 1.19% of total votes cast which is insignificant. When u have an obviously weaker Opposition like RP in AMK GRC and if u get so much spoilt votes, u won't question why?

Anyway I'm not advocating spoiling for the sake of spoiling, Confronted with a choice of 2 devils, I think there is a 3rd choice in my opinion. As I have posted previously, give me a credible Opposition and I'm sure the swing voters which I count myself to be one, will vote for them.

11 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

After reading all the comments on ceca, plus all the questions in mind.  It is not so simple as that... It is what it is now.. Really need a very good businessmen to speak to India side to hopefully able to outsmart them. Indian people are very intelligent.. They outsmart us.. 

Don't think we need India that much. If u talk about IT talents, you can get them from China and even eastern Europe like Russia.

Investments, can try Vietnam. They are coming up and many have the headstart there already.

Commodities and supplies, again, China and from the region.

Perhaps the gov is afraid of China screwing us like the terrex incident, and afraid USA being unreliable. Need a backup big brother.. India?

Don't know what are they thinking..

22 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

PAP thief spotted with stolen Ikea bag. Report police! 

Maybe such is their mentality - anything in Sillypoor is theirs to take. 

Use this picture can Poh Mata or not?

Just now, Solar said:

Don't think we need India that much. If u talk about IT talents, you can get them from China and even eastern Europe like Russia.

Investments, can try Vietnam. They are coming up and many have the headstart there already.

Commodities and supplies, again, China and from the region.

Perhaps the gov is afraid of China screwing us like the terrex incident, and afraid USA being unreliable. Need a backup big brother.. India?

Don't know what are they thinking..

Possible.. Like trying to make as many friends as possible.. But then among the friends they each buay gum with each other. 

1 minute ago, Mockngbrd said:

Your fav. let you cup

80q6matkQGni3QaOYCQnANdCY5-xM9AQBNBtJrsK

her bday today...go wish her

7 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

the in-store one is yellow la. Buy one is blue. 

Ok noted thanks for clarification if not I go Poh Mata later Malu myself only.

2 hours ago, Yewheng said:

Okay get you.. So it still need to have FT to come in because of some specialised skillset is really needed.. Then that bring another question. Cannot be SO MANY of these FT come in because they are just super specialised right? So there seems to be able to further tighten to look into is the FT that bring in is that really specialised that only they have in view of the company trade secret or technology is so new that Singaporeans do not have? Guess many ft that bring in are just work that can be done by Singaporeans in fact, where only very little of ft that bring in is of really very special needs. 

There's a lot of loopholes in which Solar has mentioned. Such as sub contracting the headcounts for foreigners out. And the culture of bringing in their own kakis from the same hometown, village or country whatever as mentioned by Turboflat4. 

Do you know how the gravy train works on the ground? I am foreigner working as a HR manager. One of my kakis from the same village want to work here. I have a vacancy and I manipulated the hiring process. Things are even easier if his direct report is from the same country as me, I just file paperwork for EP. The first few months of salaries from this new guy that I helped to recruit, I receive a certain amount as kickback under the table between both of us. There you go, silly Singaporean competing unfairly against a foreign working culture that was brought in. 

27 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Easy one lah... Just don't pass their pre-employment medical tests. No need to cancel. Just use administrative measures. 

ya lor, and reject those with "qualifications" from degree mills ... [;)]

1 minute ago, Lethalstrike said:

There's a lot of loopholes in which Solar has mentioned. Such as sub contracting the headcounts for foreigners out. And the culture of bringing in their own kakis from the same hometown, village or country whatever as mentioned by Turboflat4. 

Do you know how the gravy train works on the ground? I am foreigner working as a HR manager. One of my kakis from the same village want to work here. I have a vacancy and I manipulated the hiring process. Things are even easier if his direct report is from the same country as me, I just file paperwork for EP. The first few months of salaries from this new guy that I helped to recruit, I receive a certain amount as kickback under the table between both of us. There you go, silly Singaporean competing unfairly against a foreign working culture that was brought in. 

Or hire as "contractor" from another "company",  ownself quota no counted.