GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Maxus-MIFA9

2 minutes ago, RadX said:

Well and good thta you would do that BUT my only consideration is 'would they bother?'

With the high handed way of looking at things, i have reservations if they will look at the spoilt votes with any consideration...

My personal take.

I've heard PAP even breaks down the voting trends of districts in each constituency as they have the data and it's legal cos whilst individual voting is secret, data on how each polling district votes is available.

Case in mind was that in Aljunied GRC 2011, PAP fared badly in Serangoon Gardens (the alleged reason given for the poor show was due to the foreign dorm built there) whilst they actually fared better in Bedok Reservoir/Kaki Bukit if I remember correctly. 

So my point is that given the fact that they dissect the results, I'm sure spoilt votes will get scrutiny as well but admittedly it has to be of a reasonable %

2 hours ago, Albeniz said:

That also makes me wonder. 

Is there anything wrong with the content of our tertiary education?  How come we are not producing graduates with the skillsets to meet the needs, so much so that we have to keep importing, over the many years?

From what I know, IT companies in India take in a lot of new graduates like an unspoken national service.

From there they get trained and gained experience. This is one edge they get vs Singaporeans.

1 minute ago, Spring said:

I've heard PAP even breaks down the voting trends of districts in each constituency as they have the data and it's legal cos whilst individual voting is secret, data on how each polling district votes is available.

Case in mind was that in Aljunied GRC 2011, PAP fared badly in Serangoon Gardens (the alleged reason given for the poor show was due to the foreign dorm built there) whilst they actually fared better in Bedok Reservoir/Kaki Bukit if I remember correctly. 

So my point is that given the fact that they dissect the results, I'm sure spoilt votes will get scrutiny as well but admittedly it has to be of a reasonable %

That's a gamble IMO....

2 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Look like no matter which opposition party that get voted in, say want to remove ceca.. It seems like it is almost impossible to remove not because of not enough opposition party member to vote to remove ceca.. But more towards relationship with India, more towards the complication of workforce and so on. So forsee that psp want to remove ceca later get voted in if they are in charged might end up change tune. This CECA thing, I think need to be gradual process to reduce reliance and not totally eliminate in next 5 years.. 

Easy one lah... Just don't pass their pre-employment medical tests. No need to cancel. Just use administrative measures. 

1 minute ago, Spring said:

That's probably the reason Sengkang get split into AMK GRC to dilute the opposition votes. 

2 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said:

The way I vote is very simpur. I vote for whoever I dislike less. 

not CUP size meh?

3 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Look like no matter which opposition party that get voted in, say want to remove ceca.. It seems like it is almost impossible to remove not because of not enough opposition party member to vote to remove ceca.. But more towards relationship with India, more towards the complication of workforce and so on. So forsee that psp want to remove ceca later get voted in if they are in charged might end up change tune. This CECA thing, I think need to be gradual process to reduce reliance and not totally eliminate in next 5 years.. 

I am making my stand and casting my vote as a citizen, for or against policies I feel strongly about.

why you keep worrying about India un-friending us ? [:p]

seriously ... grow some balls lah. [laugh]

3 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Easy one lah... Just don't pass their pre-employment medical tests. No need to cancel. Just use administrative measures. 

After reading all the comments on ceca, plus all the questions in mind.  It is not so simple as that... It is what it is now.. Really need a very good businessmen to speak to India side to hopefully able to outsmart them. Indian people are very intelligent.. They outsmart us.. 

Edited by Yewheng

Just now, Blueray said:

I am making my stand and casting my vote as a citizen, for or against policies I feel strongly about.

why you keep worrying about India un-friending us ? [:p]

seriously ... grow some balls lah. [laugh]

I am just saying about the PSP want to remove ceca.. This is like almost impossible task to do in next 5 years.. 

5 minutes ago, boonhat_91 said:

quick question, does spoilt vote count toward the final tally?

Example if a constituency has 5 voters.

1) 3 of them vote A and 2 vote B. So A wins with 60% vs B with 40%

2) 3 of them vote A, 1 vote B, and 1 spoils vote. Since only 4 votes are valid, does A win with 75% (looks better than the 60% in scenario 1)?

https://www.eld.gov.sg/elections_past_parliamentary2015.html

https://graphics.straitstimes.com/STI/STIMEDIA/Interactives/singapore-general-election/2015-live-election-results/index.html

SPOILT VOTE will be MISSING in the percentage.

Look at Alljunied GRC in 2015:

PAP: 69,929 (50.95%)

WP: 67,317 (49.05%)

Total Valid Vote: 137,246 (100%).

===========================================

Total Valid Vote: 137,246

Rejected Vote: 1,638

Do not vote: 9,258

Total voters: 148,142

Just now, Solar said:

That's probably the reason Sengkang get split into AMK GRC to dilute the opposition votes. 

Exactly! I stayed in Lorong Chuan previously which was under Braddell Heights SMC in very old days. PAP consistently won by 50%+ only. Always one of the worst performing winning wards. It was absorbed to be Marine Parade GRC later on which I nvr felt part of cos how can an area which is in North East/Central be part of a predominantly East District? There are many other examples as well.

Serangoon Gardens would have been hived off if not for the fact that they are now in an Opposition held ward.

Just now, Yewheng said:

I am just saying about the PSP want to remove ceca.. This is like almost impossible task to do in next 5 years.. 

first question, are you or Singaporeans EVEN prepared to give PSP an opportunity to call for CECA review ?

to you, everything is cannot or impossible ... wait for 9% GST lor ... [laugh]

10 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

PAP thief spotted with stolen Ikea bag. Report police! 

Maybe such is their mentality - anything in Sillypoor is theirs to take. 

Alamak bro, the bag can buy one leh.

• Haha! 8

2 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Alamak bro, the bag can buy one leh.

I always use the big trolley.... Never know can buy. If she bought it I retract my post! 

Just now, Volvobrick said:

I always use the big trolley.... Never know can buy. If she bought it I retract my post! 

Haha can la. At the counters. Got a few sizes. 

3 minutes ago, Blueray said:

first question, are you or Singaporeans EVEN prepared to give PSP an opportunity to call for CECA review ?

to you, everything is cannot or impossible ... wait for 9% GST lor ... [laugh]

Ya the 9% gst.. Darn it.. How we wish government to reduce government expenditure and less direct and indirect tax to individuals and companies so that they will have more money to grow their companies. If everything direct and indirect tax keep increase, they need to set aside more and more money just to pay off these taxes.. How does it help to grow their companies?