GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Maxus-MIFA9

11 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

My friend was saying.. Those that we need FW, government tax gao gao.  Like FW levy.. Those that in higher management post, its free flow in.. Like ceca.. Like that buay swee leh.. 

I suspected it.. Also, foreigners pay full tax without any rebate if I'm correct.

Just now, Solar said:

I suspected it.. Also, foreigners pay full tax without any rebate if I'm correct.

Don't know... 

1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said:

I won’t be happy being called a lite version of others.

to me that’s actually an insult.

This shows theIr condescending attitude to alternative voices to improve SINGAPORE..

How can a country improve when they are deaf to suggestions...

No wonder talented Singaporeans felt suppressed and finding ways to leave and replaced by FTs with dubious education backgrounds...

Can see that Sgp is becoming irrelevant to the world in terms of stature and existence  unless we do away with incompetence people still hanging on to their jobs..

JT is currently the most mediocre ministar at the moment .. 

Worry for the next generation..

5 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Talking about CECA, there is this idea bring up by my friend.. 

Rather then let many forginers in with EP.. Why not bring them in with need basis. Like say for example this company need a specialist skillset worker and need bring in forginers. Why not allow to bring them in based on in need basis for say 2 yrs for the forginers to train up Singaporeans. Once Singaporeans is trained up and could fulfil the job, that forginers would then return back to his home country. Then of coz with that government will provide rebate for the company that spend time and money to train up Singaporeans. The rebate could be tax rebate. This is to encourage companies to do that. So this will solve 2 problems. 1. Companies would be still able to have specialised skillset working to work in that company, 2. Singaporeans are hired for that specialised skillset job. 

Workable? 

Easily abused bro. I have seen it for myself when I dealt with a CECA company years ago. 

Anyway, I believe WSG is currently doing this now, hiring Singaporeans and train them and they give subsidy.

I find this is a slow and painful process. We need a quick fix now, as the unemployment is expected to skyrocket, especially when the Gov salary subsidy ends in Aug.

Fastest way is to review those EP and revoke them. Companies will be given 6 months to comply and get replacements from the Singaporean PMETs.

If deemed not experienced/skillful 'enough', like a bro said earlier, hire the Singaporean and use a portion of his salary for WSG training.  You will be able to fast-track 

1. Singaporean employment

2. Singaporean experience and skillset that was lost due to manpower mismanagement due to CECA over the past 15 years 

• Praise 12

14 minutes ago, Freeder said:

This shows theIr condescending attitude to alternative voices to improve SINGAPORE..

How can a country improve when they are deaf to suggestions...

No wonder talented Singaporeans felt suppressed and finding ways to leave and replaced by FTs with dubious education backgrounds...

Can see that Sgp is becoming irrelevant to the world in terms of stature and existence  unless we do away with incompetence people still hanging on to their jobs..

JT is currently the most mediocre ministar at the moment .. 

Worry for the next generation..

This is what tends to happen when you value yes-men/yes-women more than honest, independent-minded, courageous and intelligent people. 

Every organisation will atrophy over time if such a mindset becomes fixed in upper and even middle management. 

The gahmen is no exception. Yes, during a certain stage of our development, hand-picked scholars and technocrats might have been the best choices to drive the country forward. But this is becoming less and less the case, and compounding the issue is that the "brains" going to the PAP are no longer as large on average as they used to be, and some of the biggest brains (in my estimation) have started going to the oppo. It's no longer slim pickings for an honest concerned citizen who wants an alternative voice in Parliament. In very real terms, voting for the Opposition should not be viewed as purely dissent against the status quo but a genuine desire to explore alternative government, even in its most rudimentary, nascent stage.

21 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Talking about CECA, there is this idea bring up by my friend.. 

Rather then let many forginers in with EP.. Why not bring them in with need basis. Like say for example this company need a specialist skillset worker and need bring in forginers. Why not allow to bring them in based on in need basis for say 2 yrs for the forginers to train up Singaporeans. Once Singaporeans is trained up and could fulfil the job, that forginers would then return back to his home country. Then of coz with that government will provide rebate for the company that spend time and money to train up Singaporeans. The rebate could be tax rebate. This is to encourage companies to do that. So this will solve 2 problems. 1. Companies would be still able to have specialised skillset working to work in that company, 2. Singaporeans are hired for that specialised skillset job. 

Workable? 

Already done that by PAP. During the 1970s to 1990s, foreigners brought in are expected to train up the locals before returning home. That's been the case when our policies is to make it attractive for MNCs to set up base here, in return they train up the locals.  Fast forward today, this policy has been b**tardised and at the expense of the locals. Heard of the narrative that foreigners create jobs for Singaporeans? 

2 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

See how JBJ handled GCT and LHL on a live debate in 1988. Wonder how come LKY never attended this?

Feel sorry for JBJ in his later years. 😣

JBJ really didn't give face and mince his words. 

He said ,"Brigadier General Lee, would you please answer my question?!" 

Edited by Lethalstrike

9 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

Already done that by PAP. During the 1970s to 1990s, foreigners brought in are expected to train up the locals before returning home. That's been the case when our policies is to make it attractive for MNCs to set up base here, in return they train up the locals.  Fast forward today, this policy has been b**tardised and at the expense of the locals. Heard of the narrative that foreigners create jobs for Singaporeans? 

Why abolished? Get forginers to train up Singaporeans is a good thing what.. 

11 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

I can only answer by quoting Lee Hsien Yang, " The PAP has lost its way." 

• Sad 1

14 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Sure but that's not happening. 

1. To train Singaporeans up you need a really high level of FT. Instead, you're getting mid level jokers from the third world with dubious qualifications who have the shakiest of grasps on their own claimed skillset. How are they going to train anyone else up if they're barely competent themselves? 

2. Look at the way some FTs in key positions in organisations operate. When they have influence on hiring decisions, they'll quickly give preference to fellow countrymen, especially relatives and friends. That's not even close to "training up Singaporeans" unless you count the new citizens this biased hiring policy generates, which further cheapens our citizenship and negates the birthright of our children to a stable future here.

• Praise 11

4 minutes ago, Lethalstrike said:

I can only answer by quoting Lee Hsien Yang, " The PAP has lost its way." 

There must have reason for that to abolished? Like many companies complained that it is very time consuming to train up specialised people? When they are done with training, it might not be relevant by then? Coz training need time say 2 years and that 2 years things can change very fast? There sure have reason, need to know the reason and see how can it be further be improved. 

Just now, Turboflat4 said:

Sure but that's not happening. 

1. To train Singaporeans up you need a really high level of FT. Instead, you're getting mid level jokers from the third world with dubious qualifications who have the shakiest of grasps on their own claimed skillset. How are they going to train anyone else up if they're barely competent themselves? 

2. Look at the way some FTs in key positions in organisations operate. When they have influence on hiring decisions, they'll quickly give preference to fellow countrymen, especially relatives and friends. That's not even close to "training up Singaporeans" unless you count the new citizens this biased hiring policy generates, which further cheapens our citizenship and negates the birthright of our children to a stable future here.

So this is the shortfall.. In fact very big hole that trade industry not able to noticed it? Seems weird.. 

Just now, Yewheng said:

So this is the shortfall.. In fact very big hole that trade industry not able to noticed it? Seems weird.. 

Heh. I've made a post quite recently to the effect that it's hard to get someone to notice something if their salary depends on their *not* noticing it.

Besides which, new citizens mostly vote for guess-who? 

9 minutes ago, Turboflat4 said:

Heh. I've made a post quite recently to the effect that it's hard to get someone to notice something if their salary depends on their *not* noticing it.

Besides which, new citizens mostly vote for guess-who? 

This remind me of those so call experts keep spinning its good time to buy property no matter when, then always want to try to influence government to want government to remove tdsr, loan kerb and etc.. Seems like its happening everywhere that when people want to do something to benefit them, they would want to try the best to say everything good or to try to influence hopping government to give in or what. Lucky government never give in to those so call experts.. 

Anyway back to election.. My friend decided to split vote for amk grc.. He initially wanted to vote opposition, but seeing reform party like this.. He can't see to vote rp. Looks like there might have situation that there will have a lot of split vote.. 

10 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

This remind me of those so call experts keep spinning its good time to buy property no matter when, then always want to try to influence government to want government to remove tdsr, loan kerb and etc.. Seems like its happening everywhere that when people want to do something to benefit them, they would want to try the best to say everything good or to try to influence hopping government to give in or what. Lucky government never give in to those so call experts.. 

Anyway back to election.. My friend decided to split vote for amk grc.. He initially wanted to vote opposition, but seeing reform party like this.. He can't see to vote rp. Looks like there might have situation that there will have a lot of split vote.. 

Normally I'm not highly sympathetic to those who claim to want to vote oppo but decided to vote PAP cos oppo not good etc. but in this case, I see your friend's point. RP has put in a poor showing so far. What the hell are they thinking? Deposit paid with monopoly money? 

Screenshot_20200708_005454_com.facebook.katana.thumb.jpg.baca1cdabc919040a4be7967a5c8beca.jpg

Screenshot_20200708_005638.thumb.jpg.2a0fe42ef12c6743328dcd9ece774d62.jpg

Look like sengkang grc a lot of pmd riders will vote WP.. See la.. Go change policy with no much lead time given to pmd riders.. Make them pissed off.. Maybe its these vote that is very critical for pap if the vote count is very close.. 

Next time when want change policy, please give enough lead time for people to adjust.. Also don't just change policy and then few weeks later change again.. Like that make people more pissed off.. Plus this shows lack of planning. 

Edited by Yewheng