Blueray Hypersonic September 29, 2020 Share September 29, 2020 10 hours ago, Cs11 said: Hi anyone can advise if it’s worthwhile to trade in the new car tyre after collect of vehicle? I have done that before as I did not want to use the stock tyres. arranged with tyre shop the following - will buy new set of tyres from them - drive straight from collection centre to tyre shop, should be less than 50kms done so colour lines on tyres still intact top up the difference in cash ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged September 29, 2020 Share September 29, 2020 10 hours ago, Cs11 said: Hi anyone can advise if it’s worthwhile to trade in the new car tyre after collect of vehicle? better off use for the first 2 year first, mod other parts, then slowly change the rims/tyres Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 Need help and advice here. I am driving 2017 Mazda 3 stock rims and tires. Time to replace the tires and I am looking for best deal. Main request is quiet tire and of course cheap. Any recommendation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 5 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Need help and advice here. I am driving 2017 Mazda 3 stock rims and tires. Time to replace the tires and I am looking for best deal. Main request is quiet tire and of course cheap. Any recommendation? Tourador. 🤣 cheap for sure. Not sure if quiet or not 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 6 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Need help and advice here. I am driving 2017 Mazda 3 stock rims and tires. Time to replace the tires and I am looking for best deal. Main request is quiet tire and of course cheap. Any recommendation? Wah your tyres.last for 4 years 😱😱😱? I think cheap and fairly good will be Yokohama? otherwise pay more for conti or michelin . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 2 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Wah your tyres.last for 4 years 😱😱😱? I think cheap and fairly good will be Yokohama? otherwise pay more for conti or michelin . Actually still fairly decent condition because only covers 30k plus km. It is basically home to office and weekends market. Under utilise lah. Good loyang anywhere? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 17 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Wah your tyres.last for 4 years 😱😱😱? I think cheap and fairly good will be Yokohama? otherwise pay more for conti or michelin . yokohama is a good choice. its cheaper then other branded now, make in japan somemore. for small size tyre conti and michelin lose out in quietness compare to japan tyres. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 1 hour ago, Victor68 said: Need help and advice here. I am driving 2017 Mazda 3 stock rims and tires. Time to replace the tires and I am looking for best deal. Main request is quiet tire and of course cheap. Any recommendation? my current set of tyres (GY Assy 5) were from Tyre Track at Northpoint Bizhub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 38 minutes ago, Beregond said: yokohama is a good choice. its cheaper then other branded now, make in japan somemore. for small size tyre conti and michelin lose out in quietness compare to japan tyres. Somehow I never had a good impression of Yokohama. Tried a few tires over the years and was always disappointed by the wet performance. And they weren’t much quieter than the rest of the competition too. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 4 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: Somehow I never had a good impression of Yokohama. Tried a few tires over the years and was always disappointed by the wet performance. And they weren’t much quieter than the rest of the competition too. their blue earth series quiet ba the 552 also 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 1 minute ago, Beregond said: their blue earth series quiet ba the 552 also Used 551 many years back. Bleeeh. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 My standard is Michelin but they are more pricey than the competition. Thus if almost equivalent performance can be obtained with F1A5 and the likes for less money, then the value proposition of bread and butter range becomes less. You do get a huge jump in levels of performance for just $10-$20 more. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 19 minutes ago, Mkl22 said: My standard is Michelin but they are more pricey than the competition. Thus if almost equivalent performance can be obtained with F1A5 and the likes for less money, then the value proposition of bread and butter range becomes less. You do get a huge jump in levels of performance for just $10-$20 more. I m bias towards Michelin. It cut through water especially water ponding in the middle of road. It gives me confidence to drive at the same speed when the road is dry 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic April 26, 2021 Share April 26, 2021 2 hours ago, Victor68 said: Need help and advice here. I am driving 2017 Mazda 3 stock rims and tires. Time to replace the tires and I am looking for best deal. Main request is quiet tire and of course cheap. Any recommendation? GY Efficient Grip Performance 2 is very quiet and good wet performance and enough dry grip for me. To me about 135 bucks for 225R17 each is reasonable. Don't need to save 1 tank of petrol to go cheaper. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 On 4/26/2021 at 8:25 AM, Ct3833 said: Wah your tyres.last for 4 years 😱😱😱? I think cheap and fairly good will be Yokohama? otherwise pay more for conti or michelin . What is the appropriate period to change tyres even if the tyres have not been used up the the specified mileage? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DOBIEMKZ Turbocharged June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 On 4/26/2021 at 10:04 AM, inlinesix said: I m bias towards Michelin. It cut through water especially water ponding in the middle of road. It gives me confidence to drive at the same speed when the road is dry Which model of Michelin are you using now? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 (edited) 17 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said: What is the appropriate period to change tyres even if the tyres have not been used up the the specified mileage? depends on if you go by manufacturer advise or the street advice. manufacturer claims that tires can easily last 10years. some street advice says 2years from Date of manufacture. https://www.michelin.com.sg/auto/tips-and-advice/advice-auto/when-should-i-change-my-car-tyres @inline6 will you follow michelin advice? since you biased towards michelin. 😁 michelin also claims that using till wear indicators for wet is ok, but other manufacturers says 3mm. https://www.automotiveworld.com/news-releases/michelin-changing-tyres-3mm-unnecessary-costly-harmful-environment/ Edited June 4, 2021 by Mkl22 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 4, 2021 Share June 4, 2021 19 minutes ago, DOBIEMKZ said: What is the appropriate period to change tyres even if the tyres have not been used up the the specified mileage? personally i try not to use more then 5 year from the dom. mean if make in 2019 i wont use longer then 2024 no matter how long i install the tyres already. some weird size u wont find the freshest tyres. like now its still common to find tyres make in 2019 if the tyres are already install on my vehicle, i try not to use more then 3 years from the day i install them. dun rely on mileage to check if need to replace. instead check the thread indicator. if your finger can touch them mean can get ready to change liao. if the indicator already flush with the tyres, mean its already dangerous. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...