Boon Lay Job Fair 18 July today for those who need help

VteckiCk

23 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Let's just say that this *is* targeted at the workforce *including* the ones who think they should be PMETs. 

Right now, there's a local (Chinese) Singaporean girl delivering our ST. She spoke to someone else in my family - said she's an NUS grad (don't know what degree) but couldn't find any job except newspaper delivery girl. This is a stark contrast to the situation even a year back, when it used to be Malaysian Indians on bicycles and the occasional PRC ATB coming to deliver our papers. 

The point is: moderate (and that means lower) your expectations. Be prepared to get your hands dirty. And PMETs are not immune. You're probably much better off in these circumstances if you have a highly sought-after professional qualification (especially medical, but legal is probably OK, though I'm not sure). And as for technical jobs, biomedical technicians remain in high demand in this setting. As for the rest, well...things are rocky and likely going to get rockier.

Mm.... newspapers delivery is mainly local, at least during my growing up days. Do you know you can make sgd4-6k delivering newspapers 30 years ago?? Assuming you have a couple of workers... last time newspapers delivery Rights to various addresses are given out by sph. 
I must be getting old, reminiscing old days

31 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

Mm.... newspapers delivery is mainly local, at least during my growing up days. Do you know you can make sgd4-6k delivering newspapers 30 years ago?? Assuming you have a couple of workers... last time newspapers delivery Rights to various addresses are given out by sph. 
I must be getting old, reminiscing old days

4 to 6k per month delivering newspapers? And 30 years ago, which means inflation adjusted would be from 6.5k to just shy of 10k in today's dollars?

I'm no economist but wtf?

On 7/18/2020 at 11:45 AM, kobayashiGT said:

Well. I don't think we should hiam. Every job had its value. A computer programmer can bring joy to the customer by making the customer journey online more pleasant, A cashier can do the same too.

It is how we perceive the job and how what we want from the job. 🙂

For those who are going to the job fair today, All the best! 👨‍🍳👩‍🚀🕵️‍♀️👨‍🏫👨‍🏭👨‍🔧

Agree...between being jobless or a job you used to look down on...the choice is obvious. Mindset, keeping an open mind and willingly to adapt is important during difficult time. Better to get the job now then when the situation gets worse later on.

Delivery newspaper?

Are you referring to the logistics company boss himself earning 4k to 5k?

Delivery itself can earn that high. One copy of strait times only cost 30 or 35 cents plus if I remember correctly.

• Angry 1

14 minutes ago, Kopites said:

Delivery newspaper?

Are you referring to the logistics company boss himself earning 4k to 5k?

Delivery itself can earn that high. One copy of strait times only cost 30 or 35 cents plus if I remember correctly.

Bro I guess you have not buy for a very long long time liao  its now $1.10 on weekday and $1.20 for Saturday paper.

5 hours ago, Jamesc said:
Spoiler

Its all that stupid computer lah kill so many jobs.

Last time need manager to sign on paper and if travelling need to come back to sign. Have to wait a long time.

Now with electronic approval he can be anywhere in the world with internet and he can do approvals.

Now everything can do on computer so much faster. Planning supply chain, planning budgeting, planning manpower, even doctors can see the whole patient's history if online.

Last time go meeting one guy will start reading his proposal, now he can submit and everyone can read BEFORE going to the meeting.

Last time go court the poor judge have to hear both side lawyer now he can read both sides submission before going to court.

So much time saved means what?

Now I have to sit in office and clock watch lah because can do so much more work in less time.

So many manager just waiting for time to pass in office before can go home.

In a way all these jobs are well - redundant. As long as a company is profitable we keep these people and then economic crisis cut cost.

The only good thing is we always cut the muscle and not the fat.

Decisions are made by management and we not going to cut ourselves so we cut staff lah.

10 staff cut 5 and make the other 5 do double work.

The best thing is we cut the 5 that is less productive and pay them 1 month per year.

So stay 20 years doing nothing and 20 months retrenchment benefit.

The other 5 work hard for 20 years and now need to do double work.

So you see it pays to work long time and do nothing. You will get the better deal.

:grin:

Jamesc - MCP (Management Consultant & Principle)

Founder of the FACK U theory of Management

(Financial Associates Core Kpis Understanding) 

giphy.gif

2 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

4 to 6k per month delivering newspapers? And 30 years ago, which means inflation adjusted would be from 6.5k to just shy of 10k in today's dollars?

I'm no economist but wtf?

Husband and wife together... if I remember correctly, it’s 10cents per paper delivered. That includes collecting subscription money every month, last time no giro? To get 4k, u need to deliver 1.2k papers a day. If u have workers, you can get more profit by exploiting them....

hours are not Long but no mc, 2 holidays a year, Chinese New Year and Christmas?

I just realised my parents never ever took a single day of mc... don’t talk about holidays... not even cruise to nowhere or Penang... My mum used to tell me, she delivered newspapers very soon after giving birth to me... 

life is actually pretty unfair... same amount of time, labour but remuneration is so different. Funny thing is my parents has 3 children and I can say, the next generation has much better jobs. 

everybody wants good jobs... if u lockdown a country, no mnc will start a branch here. U need access to good labour which means ft, and technology which mnc will have. I read so many posts about asking for good jobs for pmets without knowing how to attract those jobs.
or you can deliver newspapers, be shopkeepers, delivery staff, etc. 

2 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Husband and wife together... if I remember correctly, it’s 10cents per paper delivered. That includes collecting subscription money every month, last time no giro? To get 4k, u need to deliver 1.2k papers a day. If u have workers, you can get more profit by exploiting them....

hours are not Long but no mc, 2 holidays a year, Chinese New Year and Christmas?

I just realised my parents never ever took a single day of mc... don’t talk about holidays... not even cruise to nowhere or Penang... My mum used to tell me, she delivered newspapers very soon after giving birth to me... 

life is actually pretty unfair... same amount of time, labour but remuneration is so different. Funny thing is my parents has 3 children and I can say, the next generation has much better jobs. 

everybody wants good jobs... if u lockdown a country, no mnc will start a branch here. U need access to good labour which means ft, and technology which mnc will have. I read so many posts about asking for good jobs for pmets without knowing how to attract those jobs.
or you can deliver newspapers, be shopkeepers, delivery staff, etc. 

Workers? Subscription?

In case it wasn't clear I was referring to the actual door to door delivery person on a route. Not the chap who buys the papers, organises the logistics and pays workers.

The NUS grad was a drone delivering papers in the morning to my house. 

So let's assume 10c a paper, nett, in her pocket. 

1.2k/day papers sounds wildly optimistic. Remember, the hours aren't long cos they only have a narrow window to execute the delivery before complaints start streaming in. Let's say they start at 5am and finish at 8am. That's 3h = 10,800 sec. For landed properties, I think a very conservative lower bound on accomplishing one delivery would be 15s. That includes walk up time and either throwing paper inside the house or stuffing into the receptacle. In many estates, I expect this time to be a gross underestimate. I can't tell how long deliveries take for HDB (never owned one) or condo (always rented mine out) so I'll stick to landed, where I know the model somewhat.

At that rate, that's only 720 papers delivered per morning. Nothing close to 1200/day.

To achieve 1200/day you need 4 hours (starting work consistently at the ungodly hour of 4am) and cut your mean delivery time per household to 12s. Then you just hit your 1200/day mark.

None of this sounds very feasible to me. At least, it's not sustainable day in, day out. At 10c a paper delivered, your 1200/day still only grosses $3650 a month without any breaks at all. For my slightly more realistic 720/day, it's just $2190/mth.

Even allowing for $3650/mth, that still doesn't hit the lower range of your claim (4k). You mean they pocket a proportion of subscription fees as well (or could do so in the past before GIRO became ubiquitous)?

In any case, even allowing for what I would consider unrealistic assumptions, I still don't see how to get close to the 6k upper limit. 

By the way, we're talking single person here, not a combined household income (husband-wife). So please stop introducing confounding assumptions you didn't mention at the outset.

Anyway, the NUS grad girl apparently also had a second job that started after her paper delivery hours. That doesn't sound like a satisfactory income can be achieved from paper delivery alone. And that was my point. Some graduates are forced to work in these jobs, and take multiple jobs just to keep their heads above water these days. 

9 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

Workers? Subscription?

In case it wasn't clear I was referring to the actual door to door delivery person on a route. Not the chap who buys the papers, organises the logistics and pays workers.

The NUS grad was a drone delivering papers in the morning to my house. 

So let's assume 10c a paper, nett, in her pocket. 

1.2k/day papers sounds wildly optimistic. Remember, the hours aren't long cos they only have a narrow window to execute the delivery before complaints start streaming in. Let's say they start at 5am and finish at 8am. That's 3h = 10,800 sec. For landed properties, I think a very conservative lower bound on accomplishing one delivery would be 15s. That includes walk up time and either throwing paper inside the house or stuffing into the receptacle. In many estates, I expect this time to be a gross underestimate. I can't tell how long deliveries take for HDB (never owned one) or condo (always rented mine out) so I'll stick to landed, where I know the model somewhat.

At that rate, that's only 720 papers delivered per morning. Nothing close to 1200/day.

To achieve 1200/day you need 4 hours (starting work consistently at the ungodly hour of 4am) and cut your mean delivery time per household to 12s. Then you just hit your 1200/day mark.

None of this sounds very feasible to me. At least, it's not sustainable day in, day out. At 10c a paper delivered, your 1200/day still only grosses $3650 a month without any breaks at all. For my slightly more realistic 720/day, it's just $2190/mth.

Even allowing for $3650/mth, that still doesn't hit the lower range of your claim (4k). You mean they pocket a proportion of subscription fees as well (or could do so in the past before GIRO became ubiquitous)?

In any case, even allowing for what I would consider unrealistic assumptions, I still don't see how to get close to the 6k upper limit. 

By the way, we're talking single person here, not a combined household income (husband-wife). So please stop introducing confounding assumptions you didn't mention at the outset.

Anyway, the NUS grad girl apparently also had a second job that started after her paper delivery hours. That doesn't sound like a satisfactory income can be achieved from paper delivery alone. And that was my point. Some graduates are forced to work in these jobs, and take multiple jobs just to keep their heads above water these days. 

I am talking about career progression.. I don’t think my parents started earning 4K a month. I never verified the $4K number until today,my parents could be inflating the numbers to save face, but I am pretty sure it was 10cents per paper 30 years ago. I do think the Your numbers are reasonable, one person cannot hit 1.2k a day. We had workers Plus husband and wife so I think my parents estimation is about right. 

When I was young, we only had a motor cycle. Pretty sure we started out as a drone. The main point was during my growing up years, even seemingly dead end jobs like newspaper delivery had a decent career progression... my parents did papers delivery all their lives and brought up three kids into university. Sometimes, people have to make do with the cards life as dealt them... newspaper delivery, grab Drivers, from outside looking in, u might think it’s a dead end but it is not.

Relax lah, since u used newspaper delivery as an example, and I am probably the best expert in newspaper delivery in mcf, i jus chimed in. Although, I suspect the business model of paper delivery might have changed. 

btw, newspaper delivery in my time start work at 2am... you need to combine the various sections of the paper together manually, like life, classified and main. Ends at 7am usually, 5 hours a day and then u are free rest of the day. Other than the lack of holidays, it is short hours and good exercise 🙂

Edited by Wind30

5 hours ago, Wind30 said:

I am talking about career progression.. I don’t think my parents started earning 4K a month. I never verified the $4K number until today,my parents could be inflating the numbers to save face, but I am pretty sure it was 10cents per paper 30 years ago. I do think the Your numbers are reasonable, one person cannot hit 1.2k a day. We had workers Plus husband and wife so I think my parents estimation is about right. 

When I was young, we only had a motor cycle. Pretty sure we started out as a drone. The main point was during my growing up years, even seemingly dead end jobs like newspaper delivery had a decent career progression... my parents did papers delivery all their lives and brought up three kids into university. Sometimes, people have to make do with the cards life as dealt them... newspaper delivery, grab Drivers, from outside looking in, u might think it’s a dead end but it is not.

Relax lah, since u used newspaper delivery as an example, and I am probably the best expert in newspaper delivery in mcf, i jus chimed in. Although, I suspect the business model of paper delivery might have changed. 

btw, newspaper delivery in my time start work at 2am... you need to combine the various sections of the paper together manually, like life, classified and main. Ends at 7am usually, 5 hours a day and then u are free rest of the day. Other than the lack of holidays, it is short hours and good exercise 🙂

Last time when I used to go for my morning walks, at around 5 am, you can see the lorries dump the stacks and stacks newspapers along the road for the delivery personnel to pick up. You don't see that any more now.

27 minutes ago, Davidklt said:

Last time when I used to go for my morning walks, at around 5 am, you can see the lorries dump the stacks and stacks newspapers along the road for the delivery personnel to pick up. You don't see that any more now.

Now you need to insert coin yourself to get newspaper.

4800266888001_5384660098001_538449457600

7 hours ago, Wind30 said:

Last time they also delivered "sister"..TV magazine, shoot etc...as well.😁

Not dragon tiger leopard though. High profit margin magazine must get it from mama shop. 😁

Edited by Kopites

1 hour ago, Davidklt said:

I still see that in my estate.

2 hours ago, Davidklt said:

If anyone is interested, the papers gets sent out from the printing press to local collection Centers at around 2-3am. Vendors will collect their papers and start merging the various sections together and packing them up to individual blocks For delivery according to what is subscribed, like 20 st, 17 Zaobao, 3 Wanbao, etc. 
Then we send out these sorted stacks to workers at around 5am. That is when the actual delivery starts and ends before 7am on most days. 

On 7/20/2020 at 12:47 PM, Kopites said:

.😁

Not dragon tiger leopard though. High profit margin magazine must get it from mama shop. 😁

very important for our human and social biology lesson 🤫🤫🤫🤭🤭🤭🤣🤣🤣

34 minutes ago, Inlinefour said:

very important for our human and social biology lesson 🤫🤫🤫🤭🤭🤭🤣🤣🤣

Don't throw vocab at me. 

DIY....say diy ....😬

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

Don't throw vocab at me. 

DIY....say diy ....😬

Sec dun noe how to diy leh 

vhs betamax can then master it 🤫🤫🤫

On 7/20/2020 at 11:14 AM, Davidklt said:

Cos  now the subscription  for physical newspaper getting lesser and lesser. My whole block like got 10 only. U can see from the letter box how many is open.

I suspect at new hdb for young family even lesser