Looking for a car on a tight budget

Shinylord

4 minutes ago, Angcheek said:

Running cost is the killer ......   cheap car , cheap insurance , later any thing happen , how to answer . 😶 better dont buy  

Ya. U cannot plan your burget zhun zhun with a car. U count everything countable in.

Monthly installment parking. Insurance .road tax. 

U still got bomb coming. Tyres. Battery.  Repair and mainteance.cost very very hard to predict

1 hour ago, Carbon82 said:

@Shinylord most of us learnt through experiences and advices shared by fellow MCF members. Glad that you have given the purchase a serious thought and make your final choice.

It is now time to enjoy your fatherhood and most importantly, set a good example for your young one. Save whatever you can, so that you can provide more for him/her in times to come.

And before I sign off, congratulations and welcome to the forum. MCF is not just about cars, we can share about parenting experience as well as many other topics, cooking and selection of household appliances inclusive. :D

Thx for the congrats and welcome 🙂

2 hours ago, Watwheels said:

Whoa, this offers manual(for the 1.0L). So rare.

But insurance for a newbie, this car is also not going to be affordable?

It's pretty decent as a first car on a budget.

I didn't really read up initially for his situation, his financial capability is not very feasible to own a car now. 

But others who are reading this as they wanna reference what car to buy, I think Bezza offers alot for the amount you are paying. They definitely don't drive like a driver car, but it get the job done.

48 minutes ago, Vinceng said:

@Shinylord,

Based on your monthly take home pay of $1,600 , advisable to go for 10 year COE cars, so that there is low outlay & minimal loss if you sell since these cars are near paper value. 3rd party insurance is cheaper than comprehensive insurance too.

Can you drive manual?

Kia Rio - $30K / dep $3,500/yr
https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=883114&DL=1000

If not, opt for this very spacious Nissan Latio, in automatic

Nissan Latio - $37K / dep $4,400/yr
https://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.php?ID=890951&DL=1368

Yes i could but after reading the advice post here, i decided to not get a car due to the finance and other etc problem it will bring and i choose to focus on providing for my family with the money instead and also able to spend more time with my incoming newborn child 🙂

• Praise 10

8 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Starts with a 5 - 8 year old small car such as Honda Jazz / Fit, Suzuki Swift, Perodua, Kia Picanto, etc. to have a feel of car ownership experience. Budget aside, how much down-payment are you prepared to make? 

I am not belittling you, but a take home pay of $1.6K nett is barely enough to cover vehicle related expenses, which includes but not limited to the following:

• Monthly installment (~$500)
  • Road tax (~$500 p.a.)
  • Motor insurance (~$1500 p.a.)
  • Petrol bill (~$150 p.m.)
  • Parking charges (~$150 p.m.)
  • ERP charges (~$50 p.m.)
  • Routine preventive maintenance (~$500 p.a.)
  • Adhoc repair and replacement (~$500 p.a.)

The above are just a very high level estimate for your consideration. I would suggest taking grab or taxi for your wife's medical appointment. Save the hard earned salary for your child. 

No worries 🙂 , i totally get where u coming from and it is a great advice for me to hear since i was in a state of just rushing to make everything nicely without giving much of a second thought 😅

4 hours ago, Cheefarn said:

Not to be a wet blanket bro, but based on what you've stated, even a 9 yr old beat up clunker will be beyond your financial means. Please see below

-   A new child put alot of financial strain to both your finances. With the wuhan virus not going away anytime soon, and SG economy will tank even further once companies finishes burning handouts from gov. And that can be as soon as next month. I am sure u can see how many shops have went belly up since the beginning of Phase 2, esp shops and biz in the town area.

-  There is a distinct possibility that we will be forced to Lock-down again after the election. The number of infections has shot up noticeably these few days due to the relaxed measures, and they are all in the community! We have even inter transmission in schools. You have to realize the current false sense of optimism was created by MIW so that they can shove the election thingy down our throat. The COVID 19 infection rate and scale has yet to subside in SG, and not by a long shot. And when we enter Lockdown 2.0, do u think our MIW will continue to give rebates and $$ to us and biz? Think about it. It is projected that up to 200000 sinkies may be out of job by the end of the year. 

-   Back to cars. Best guess is you can only afford those 8-9 yr old cars. Unless you know any friends or relatives who are selling theirs, buying these clunkers off any random used car dealers is a really bad idea. Buying a mileage altered car is almost a given. There are no laws in SG to deal with this scam, so its very popular among used cars dealers. And then there is a danger that u may pick up a hastily repaired crashed car, flooded cars etc.

-  It is very likely you'd need to fork out a sizable sum of money to repair the car before u can drive it on the roads safely. Mind u, at such age, things such as engine mounts, shocks/springs, gearbox would be worn out. And these parts are expensive to replace! 

-  You have to factor in fuel cost, parking, insurance, road tax and other misc costs in addition to your car repayment. Sorry bro, but your $1600 salary can't get u anywhere. 

Please consider taxis and PHV rides if you are not comfortable with taking public transport. You need all the $$ u can find for your new child. The 1st 10 yrs will be the most crucial time for a child upbringing.  You can always buy a new car after that. Hopefully you will have a better job that offers better pay at that time 

From my experience, you need to have a monthly household income of at least $10k to be able to afford a new 1L-1.6L econo box comfortably, and I stress the word comfortably . This is SG for you bro. 

Nah u not being a wet blanket 🙂, its a good advice and wake up call for me to not rush throught stuff and yes this covic situation plus the way out govt handle it, im just 🤨🤐

Edited by Shinylord

15 hours ago, Shinylord said:

Which used dealer might u suggest to get it from , been going through the forum seem like is hard to find a trusted one 😞

How much would the maintenance cost and if possible may i know roughly hw much will an insurance cost to owning such a car

Well im bringing a stable income of ard 1.6k after cpf deduct if that helps but yes gotta keep some spare for baby power, diapers etc 😅

Bro, your baby arriving is the start of your new life. Not the end of it. Why spend that kinda money on convenience when the lifes of your spouse and child are your priorities? You might wanna re-evaluate whether you truly need a car? 

25 minutes ago, Buadongdong said:

Bro, your baby arriving is the start of your new life. Not the end of it. Why spend that kinda money on convenience when the lifes of your spouse and child are your priorities? You might wanna re-evaluate whether you truly need a car? 

Yup and that what i did , decided on not getting a car and spend my time and money on my new family 🙂

56 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I didn't really read up initially for his situation, his financial capability is not very feasible to own a car now. 

But others who are reading this as they wanna reference what car to buy, I think Bezza offers alot for the amount you are paying. They definitely don't drive like a driver car, but it get the job done.

Yes yes its a driver's car.

See how fast he take the corners in Genting?

If car no good then fall off the mountain already.

:grin:

28 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Yes yes its a driver's car.

See how fast he take the corners in Genting?

If car no good then fall off the mountain already.

Uncle Khong skilled leh. hahhahaha.

2 hours ago, Angcheek said:

@Carbon82 has many gf , abt 10 . Each ask for a car . Very jialiat 😄

Wah lau, since when I got 10 gf? I only have 1 ex-gf (my wife) and 1 前世情人 (my daughter) leh... Wait I POFMA you then you know. :D

j9nxRNx.gif

• Haha! 8

2 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Uncle Khong skilled leh. hahhahaha.

In MY on the NSH can see Axia, Bezza and Myvi doing 170, 180.

Flying pass the cars doing 100 as if they were standing still.

Just sharing my experience many yrs back. I managed to earn in excess of 3k before CPF deduction then. Got a Coe car for some 14k. Because of my spending habit, l'm left with very little every month even I'm single. But I need to work 6 days back then from 8-7. If you are taking back less than 2k, pls don't buy if you can bear with it. You will be taken aback by the "unforeseen" costs. Used car that is out of warranty coverage can be a time bomb. Many bros before me have given you the details so I shan't bore you further.

Edited by Fuelsaver

5 hours ago, Shinylord said:

Yes i could but after reading the advice post here, i decided to not get a car due to the finance and other etc problem it will bring and i choose to focus on providing for my family with the money instead and also able to spend more time with my incoming newborn child 🙂

Good on you bro. Sorry I didn't read every post and posted my experience. Wishing you and your family good health and prosperity. Enjoy your parenthood and stay safe 👍

2 hours ago, Carbon82 said:

Wah lau, since when I got 10 gf? I only have 1 ex-gf (my wife) and 1 前世情人 (my daughter) leh... Wait I POFMA you then you know. :D

j9nxRNx.gif

You got authority to impose pofma meh 🤭

5 hours ago, kobayashiGT said:

Maybe something to spur TS to work harder for, besides his family 😁

Jiayou! Ganbatte!