Toyota Corolla Cross

Stratovarius

There are some lesser brands which play the warranty game. Sure got warranty…. But tell you have to wait 2months to get parts in. And sorry they don’t provide a courtesy car. Please wait.
But if you go outside and pay $2000, can be done within 1-2days. 

On 4/19/2024 at 1:37 PM, Unclepigpig said:

The tailpipe is kind of low, anyone hit it while going over massive humps?

IMHO.
So far so good. 

On 4/19/2024 at 1:42 PM, Mkl22 said:

There are some lesser brands which play the warranty game. Sure got warranty…. But tell you have to wait 2months to get parts in. And sorry they don’t provide a courtesy car. Please wait.
But if you go outside and pay $2000, can be done within 1-2days. 

IMHO.
If need to change the battery air filter,  may be a bit difficult because the stockist I checked, no stock because the car is "new". 

On 4/19/2024 at 4:06 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
If need to change the battery air filter,  may be a bit difficult because the stockist I checked, no stock because the car is "new". 

Hahah. Order online from japan. That’s what I do now. Some of the local stockist don’t deserve my business. 
everything now is so easily available. I saved so much ordering online vs local. 
Local stockist always give me the run around. Say need to order. Then when I want to order they quote me a ridiculous price. Really KNN! 

On 4/19/2024 at 4:40 PM, Mkl22 said:

Hahah. Order online from japan. That’s what I do now. Some of the local stockist don’t deserve my business. 
everything now is so easily available. I saved so much ordering online vs local. 
Local stockist always give me the run around. Say need to order. Then when I want to order they quote me a ridiculous price. Really KNN! 

what is a reliable site for jap? a lot of fake parts online

On 5/4/2024 at 10:55 AM, metalstream said:

My ex Alfa 156 was at the agent for 2 months while waiting for the part to be shipped in from Italy.

And if you say you want to pay for the part. Magically it appears from their store. Warranty claims, they have to get the part from the manufacturer. Most of the dealers will not want to take from their ex stock as it means extra paperwork and accounting. So let you wait long long lor. 

On 5/4/2024 at 11:03 AM, metalstream said:

You are right. Borneo Motors is very sticky on warranty claims.

If you don't send your car or wallet in to be chopped (servicing) every 6 months, give and take a month or two, warranty is void.

It's not cheap to service at Borneo Motors. Continental car rate.

From personal experience, I don't like the upsell tactics at Borneo Motors. The Service Advisor will ask you to upgrade to Motul Toyota Racing Development engine oil with a package of other additives  at an additional $150 when the standard  Castrol works just as well.

IMHO.
I believe the TRD EO have ester. On and off I use it to deeper clean the engine. 

On 5/4/2024 at 11:03 AM, metalstream said:

You are right. Borneo Motors is very sticky on warranty claims.

If you don't send your car or wallet in to be chopped (servicing) every 6 months, give and take a month or two, warranty is void.

It's not cheap to service at Borneo Motors. Continental car rate.

From personal experience, I don't like the upsell tactics at Borneo Motors. The Service Advisor will ask you to upgrade to Motul Toyota Racing Development engine oil with a package of other additives  at an additional $150 when the standard  Castrol works just as well.

If they give you 5 years warranty, mean you need to get chopped for 5 years for the warranty to be valid. 😅 I think maybe almost ADs also like this.

On 5/4/2024 at 6:39 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
I believe the TRD EO have ester. On and off I use it to deeper clean the engine. 

Ester is not cleaning agent.

It is a stable base oil as compared to POA

On 5/4/2024 at 9:15 PM, inlinesix said:

Ester is not cleaning agent.

It is a stable base oil as compared to POA

IMHO.
One source. 

"Esters and alkylated naphthalenes have a great deal of solvent power. This allows them to dissolve sludge, varnish, and other carbonous deposits slowly and safely at the right concentrations. If you're looking for good cleaning, you'll want an oil with either one but preferably both."

On 5/5/2024 at 1:30 PM, Unclepigpig said:

@metalstream dun find motul impressive from the last 8 years experience. Esso (green bottle) 0w16/20 lasts longer on my current hybrid. Motul around 7k will feel the engine getting rougher

IMHO.
For my use,  most EO will last about 7k except those with higher TBN.  
Will you be using BM regular service?  BM is not using 0w16/20. 

yeah since it’s 3 years free might as well. This engine is pretty robust , prob more than my previous ride. Is there any special considerations when running in engine ? Like stay below certain speed. Can’t help it when the power delivery is so quick and smooth lol

On 5/6/2024 at 10:22 AM, Unclepigpig said:

yeah since it’s 3 years free might as well. This engine is pretty robust , prob more than my previous ride. Is there any special considerations when running in engine ? Like stay below certain speed. Can’t help it when the power delivery is so quick and smooth lol

Doubt it. Many Prius taxis are whacked from day 1. Go speak the a few and you will know that 400-500k km still all good. 

On 5/6/2024 at 12:52 PM, Unclepigpig said:

IMHO.
After my "experience",   I will draft something and post it in the technical thread for the 1st 10k.
Don't be too pedal happy. 🤣

You ride in already?

On 5/6/2024 at 4:15 PM, inlinesix said:

IMHO.
I watch half-way,  will continue later.
But right now, I would say please do not follow this video because it is not a hybrid. 

Edited by Kklee

On 5/6/2024 at 4:29 PM, Kklee said:

IMHO.
I watch half-way,  will continue later.
But right now, I would say please do not follow this video because it is not a hybrid. 

Toyota engine from Japan is not fully run-in.  It is still shredding metal up to 5k km.

Edited by inlinesix