Expats feeling the heat in Sinkapore

StreetFight3r

  On 6/14/2020 at 6:40 AM, RadX said:

Eh you dun DICKcriminate me cos I bangladeshi worker hor 😂

Expand  

Your dorm ah gong declare no covid oredi boh?

On 6/14/2020 at 6:40 AM, Wt_know said:

i just want to share some "insights" that i personally have 

very very very difficult to hire spore engineers because

1. need to work on weekend for projects

2. need to work midnight especially for shutdown, scheduled maintenance and capex projects

3. working environment is not the best that need to wear safety helmet and ppe

4. need to supervise FW and FT ... need to roll up sleves and get hands dirty instead of sitting in airocn office and shoot emails

5. with little engineer experience ... talk good, do not so but already asking $6K-$8K ... a bit more experince or come out from GLC companies ... no $10K no talk ... yes it's fair to ask for high salary but the business operating cost cannot sustain

6. last but not least ... work 2 years want promotion or resign because GLC companies said pay good for local U grads

Expand  

Well said

tht is indeed the issue, entitlement and mismatched expectations 

How many locals wanted to collect the rubbish at hdb but the job went to a foreigner?

How many locals wanted to be a nurse but the job went to a foreigner?

:grin:

More importantly how many male locals wanted to be a massage therapist to handsome male celebrities but the job went to a foreigner?

Edited by Jamesc

On 6/14/2020 at 6:42 AM, Jamesc said:

How many locals wanted to collect the rubbish at hdb but the job went to a foreigner?

How many locals wanted to be a nurse but the job went to a foreigner?

Expand  

Interestingly enuf , in other countries, you see their own natives doing the construction work, like Aus, UK, etc

More of a face issue I believe as well as monetary to a big extent

On 6/14/2020 at 6:43 AM, RadX said:

Interestingly enuf , in other countries, you see their own natives doing the construction work, like Aus, UK, etc

Expand  

In HK & TW also le

  On 6/14/2020 at 6:43 AM, RadX said:

Expand  

In those places, what the tradies earn sometimes more than the professional

But realistically, how many MCFers here have been angrily frustrated that their children are missing out on being construction workers.....?

  On 6/13/2020 at 3:35 AM, Wt_know said:

articulation is a life long learning ... school environment and peers are a big factor

look at tv variety show when people on screen and on street kena interview ie. the hkee, taiwanese, prc, on the street

the way they talk vs sinkies at orchard road or the tv local artist speak ... boomz

Expand  

I agree that articulation is a product of the education system and the environment.

Many of us are probably educated in the 80s or 90s and those days were about memory work in passing exams. Not so much interactive assignments/group work. Not sure how is the system now.

Recently, I sign up for an professional certification course from an Ivy-league University from US. Being just a certification course, I thought it is all about  watching some videos and doing a few quizzes. How wrong I was! Every week I need to do assignment writing a 1500 words research paper and I have 7 of them to do over 10 weeks. As if not enough, there is a platform for digital marketing  hands-on exercises which put 300 of us  under competition mode with a ranking board for all to see. The written assignments really force articulation of thoughts and the hands-on exercises forces meaningful discussion to learn from each other and so that we can get a better ranking in the scoreboard. Every week I am cracking my head thinking how to outrank these very brilliant students, not through exams, but through assignments and hands-on exercises.

And this is only a simple certification course. Now I can understand why people pays $$$ to get a degree or masters at these top tier Universities in addition to the access to the alumni and network.

So yes, the education system and the peers environment plays a huge part in building up the articulation capability

Edited by Icedbs

I also got mismatched expectations.

I also want to work in aircon office, 9-5 no weekends

high pay, no standing up long hours, hand covered in massage oils

listening to bitchy gossip who sleep with who, who cheong,

who kenna pregnant. Work till late at night, work weekends

times up still ask for massage here more lah, very soo fu you know.

Of course I know lah, I am the one massaging.

On 6/14/2020 at 6:46 AM, Soya said:

In those places, what the tradies earn sometimes more than the professional

But realistically, how many MCFers here have been angrily frustrated that their children are missing out on being construction workers.....?

Expand  

agreed

imagine ur great grandkid, come say he wants to be a construction worker

you will disown them and chnage your will immediately😀

  On 6/14/2020 at 6:26 AM, Enye said:

wah... go 1 big round to ownself praise ownself high iq

but i admit i peasant storeman...low iq, stay in ah beng infested slum, take public transport 

sibeh no dignity to talk to elites

😬😅

Expand  

Honestly, iq can be measured just like tall and short. Not that much to be proud about... esp in mcf, there are much more people with bigger.... egos, paycheck, houses, cars, etc

honestly, in terms of own self praise own self, in mcf I read until I don’t want to read, what store man, table wiper, cigars, watches. Until I have to set to ignore... Sigh...

it is just a trait that is essential in my field of job. People here think locals  can and want to do everything. Just like construction work, you need endurance strength. 

Edited by Wind30

  On 6/14/2020 at 6:13 AM, Weez911 said:

If that IB troll is GEP, then I'm President of the USA!

Expand  

Donald Trump is a great man and I find him highly inspirational.

He has inspired me to try applying for jobs which I don't qualify for.

Edited by Albeniz
  • Haha! 7

  On 6/14/2020 at 6:52 AM, RadX said:

agreed

imagine ur great grandkid, come say he wants to be a construction worker

you will disown them and chnage your will immediately😀

Expand  

LOL...

Simi dangerous, dirty and demanding construction work? Many ppl can't even tahan 2 hours of manual labour to polish their own car in a covered MSCP once a year

very very very difficult to hire spore engineers (contruction, M&E, safety, building management, transportation, etc) because

2. need to work midnight especially for shutdown, scheduled maintenance and capex projects

3. working environment is not the best that need to wear safety helmet and ppe ... not cool

4. need to supervise FW and FT ... gotta roll up sleves and get hands dirty instead of sitting in airocn office and shoot emails

5. with little experience ... talk good, do not so but already asking $6K-$8K ... a bit more experince or come out from GLC companies ... no $10K+ no talk ... yes it's fair to ask for high salary but the private business operating cost cannot sustain

6. last but not least ... work 2 years want promotion or resign because GLC companies said must pay good for local U grads. besides not many local wish to work in this field ... hence the high demand vs low supply

7. then here comes FT engineers ... very hungry and work very hard to excel (faster, better and cheaper)

Expand  

air con government office job with 5 days 9-6pm hours can already get about $4k. In that type of job market,  $6k for a construction job like what you describe in your points 1-4 sounds reasonable.

  On 6/14/2020 at 7:22 AM, JanM said:

air con government office job with 5 days 9-6pm hours can already get about $4k. In that type of job market,  $6k for a construction job like what you describe in your points 1-4 sounds reasonable.

Expand  

yes only for good ones not jiak liao bee type

good ones hard to come by and fast to go GLC

tell you what ... those asking for $6k-$7k come to interview

ask him ... do you know how to do this .... what about this ... Err ... don't know ... 

what did you do previously? mostly paperwork and coordination ... hands on ... not much

because with that amount ... plenty of FT to choose and pick

the problem is not many SME or subcons can sustain that salary ...

so ... they goes to FT - faster, better and cheaper

when you want someone onsite at 12am doing electrical shutdown and maintenance work

you want someone really know that shit to superwise FT and FW

  On 6/14/2020 at 7:25 AM, Wt_know said:

yes only for good ones not jiak liao bee type

ask him ... do you know how to do this .... what about this ... Err ... don't know ... 

what did you do previously? mostly paperwork and coordination ... hands on ... not much

when you want someone onsite at 12am doing electrical shutdown and maintenance work

you want someone really know that shit to superwise FT and FW

Expand  

But this is the case in SG. All our stat boards and ministries all in supervisory role with no core knowledge. Always need to pay for consultants. Always want it faster and cheaper. Then it bites them in the ass. Good example of it being fixed now, is the rail engineering that millions are being pour into to prevent another MRT screw up. 

And many of the consultancies out there also bluff their way thru. Hire fresh grads and call them consultants. 
so to me it is the govt that perpetuates such a culture here. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 6/14/2020 at 7:25 AM, Wt_know said:

yes only for good ones not jiak liao bee type

Expand  

Can't blame the job applicant.  He is only pricing himself according to the market.  Knowing this situation, many good students would not choose engineering.

  On 6/14/2020 at 7:47 AM, JanM said:

Can't blame the job applicant.  He is only pricing himself according to the market.  Knowing this situation, many good students would not choose engineering.

Expand  

yes. i wont blame the person asking for high salary.

i am also a worker been there done that

i wont blame the applicant telling me outside market pay how much

just sharing what's happening and reality on the ground

very very very difficult to hire spore engineers (contruction, M&E, safety, building management, transportation, etc) because

3. working environment is not the best that need to wear safety helmet and ppe ... not cool

4. need to supervise FW and FT ... gotta roll up sleves and get hands dirty instead of sitting in airocn office and shoot emails

5. with little experience ... talk good, do not so but already asking $6K-$8K ... a bit more experince or come out from GLC companies ... no $10K+ no talk ... yes it's fair to ask for high salary but the private business operating cost cannot sustain

6. last but not least ... work 2 years want promotion or resign because GLC companies said must pay good for local U grads. besides not many local wish to work in this field ... hence the high demand vs low supply

7. then here comes FT engineers ... very hungry and work very hard to excel (faster, better and cheaper)

Expand  

Then dont